We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to Hotel Villa Angela in 19 months. From booking each holiday through to our arrival and departure we received excellent service from all the staff, most of them actually remembering us from previous visits. Our room was always spotlessly clean with magnificent views of Mount Etna and this time we had a lovely chilled bottle of Proseco waiting for us. Breakfast consists of a variety of fruit, vegetables, breads, pastries and also scrambled/fried eggs and sausages if this is your preferred choice. We are already planning our fourth trip to this superb hotel next year and would not hesitate in recommending it to any of our family or friends. Thank you to Katharine and all the staff for making each holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are a good size with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb66468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 935 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Only two days left of my 10 day stay at Hotel Villa Angela and I feel as though I am leaving home, it has been a total joy. The hotel arranges pick and delivery to airport starting your visit with a lovely personal touch. The view is spectacular, each room has the most wonderful view of sea, Mt. Etna, the village below and most rooms, if not all, can see Castelmola. The location is superb, a short trip up or down and you have loads of choices of restaurants and shopping.

The staff is friendly and helpful, 24 hours willing to chat and give local advice on restaurants, shopping and day tours. We hired a taxi and traveled to the Gambino winery and had the pleasant afternoon and wine tasting with nimbles. Salvatore was entertaining and informative as we passed small villages. The schedule of hotel van into and out of town is remarkable with times so frequent. Dinner and Lunch at the hotel rivals all the restaurants in town. I want to bring the waiters, bartenders, waitresses, van drivers, housekeeping and front desk staff home with me. I am sure they will adjust to the altitude and snow of a ski area.

Interesting guests from all nations and small groups and couples and people traveling solo make for wonderful conversation, if you choose, in the comfortable reception area.

Look at the photo's on their website you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There were two of us and we choose the Etna Suite, giving us two bedrooms for privacy and space. Tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieCatherine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2532
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked this after seeing a press rewiew and having wanted to visit sicilly for a while.
Yes the view is fantastic and the rooms spacious and clean (but would expect nothing less in a 4 star hotel).
However having a large whirl pool bath is nice especially for relaxing after flight but the lack of a shower as concellation soon takes the edge off particulary aftet a long hot day by the pool or on the beach, or even after the trek back from town.
The breakfast offering is pretty poor for this standard of hotel with the "hot" offerings being cold even when freshly placed out on the buffet.
Being subject to the noisey pot wash during breakfast did little to add to the experience could this really not have been left untill the service was finished amd dinning room empty.
The staff although generally freindly seem more preoccupied with each other than serving the guests particulary in the dinning room.
Generally it doesn't live up to the comments on TA its star rating or price other than for the view which is a shame and real dissappointment.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

nice hotel, good for value, up in the hill, very nice views of the sea and mount etna. Clean rooms, clean sheets that were changed every day, clean bathroom, clean towels everyday... comfortable beds, good service. Overall very happy, would come back again.

Room Tip: choose a room with sea view, vew is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've been wanting to visit this hotel since reading about its opening, and finally got the opportunity on its tenth anniversary this Easter. The views and the staff are the standouts. We had two terraces looking over to Mount Etna, sweeping round to the sea on the left and the hills on the right. Everything has been chosen with great care, using the best of local materials. The dressing room (in the Leonardo da Vinci suite) is the largest I've ever come across in a hotel, clearly designed for brides on honeymoon with lots of clothes!
The staff are brilliant. It didn't matter whom you asked for a service, that person sorted it - every single individual had a can-do approach. Even Angelo, the driver booked by the hotel for our airport transfer (a well spent 85 euros when your time at the hotel is limited) was passionate about his island, giving us history, geology, and food stories on our ride.
The hotel shuttle to town was invaluable - unlimited use for 20 euros pp when staying less than a week, 30 for two weeks. The weather was still chilly, so we didn't use the tempting pool, but I can imagine the the cool breezes given its elevated position will make it perfect in the heat of the Sicilian summer. We came for a completely relaxing few days, and were fully satisfied. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms directly face Mount Etna. I don't think there's such a thing as a bad room in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Everything about Villa Angela from the friendly helpful staff to the amazing views of Mount Etna is perfect. Could not find fault with anything. The rooms are very spacious with an enormous private terrace, with Mount Etna in the centre of the view. The hotel is immaculate, from poolside to rooms.The staff were all very friendly and would always help you with anything, day or night. The meals were excellent, absolutely faultless. The shuttle bus into and from town is a godsend because the walk from town, as good as it is, is a very steep walk! My wife and i stayed here for two weeks in august and fell in love with the place, we will definitely be going again. Jim was there our first week, and being a Simple Minds fan what more can you ask! A hotel and staff to be very proud of Jim!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of Etna, so booking the Etna Suite for the views is not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bernard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I visited this hotel in late October with my fiancé in order to celebrate my birthday and to give him a bit of a surprise, so I apologise for this late review.
Before making my booking I had so many questions and found Katherine so helpful and understanding as she answered all of them and replied to my numerous emails promptly and efficiently.
We had arranged our own private transfer to the hotel and when we arrived we were warmly greeted by the member of staff on reception and throughout our stay found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
We stayed in the Etna Suite, which is a bit more expensive, but well worth it. It was to die for. The suite was spacious and clean, all the rooms were nicely furnished and there was plenty of wardrobe/storage space. Both the lounge and the bedroom have views of Mount Etna, which are amazing. I thought Mount Vesuvius was big, but Etna is huge. We loved relaxing in the Jacuzzi bath on an evening with a glass of wine, after a busy day out and before getting ready for dinner and the fact that the bathroom ceiling lights gently changed colour helped with the relaxation even more.
It was my birthday on the Saturday and as well as waking up early in the morning of the 26th to Mount Etna actually erupting, Katherine kindly had a bottle of Prosecco and some nibbles delivered to our room, upon our return to the hotel in the afternoon, which was a lovely gesture. Needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed the wine, whilst sitting on the balcony, looking at Mount Etna and listening to Andrea Bocelli. I was in heaven.
The hotel runs an efficient shuttle bus every half an hour to and from Taormina, but you will need to book if the hotel is busy. We used this service frequently and found it very reliable and comfortable.
We didn’t eat at the hotel in the evenings as the restaurant was closed, so I am unable to review the evening meals, as we ate in Taormina on most nights. However, we did have breakfast and found it a bit disappointing. Sometimes there were staff to show you around, but you were mostly left to your own devices and had to find your own table. Breakfast was completely self-service from making your own tea, to watching the bread go through the toaster. The cold items on offer at breakfast were very good, various cheeses, meats and fruit, however we felt the hot food let it down slightly. When on holiday in a four star hotel, whether in the UK or abroad, we would expect there to be some sort of table service and for the hot food to be of a better quality. This is the only area that I feel the hotel could improve upon as they have everything else more than covered. If this area was improved we would have no hesitation in awarding 5 stars instead of 4.
We had a wonderful few days at Hotel Villa Angela and would like to thank all the staff for making it special. We would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samantha261067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $220 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Nozio Netplan srl, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing