We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel with minor "but" for wifi”
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely splendid view to Etna.
Very clean rooms.
But Wi-fi is low and near door in room.
Breakfast was average if you are looking for classic scrambled egg and bacon. Dolce was tasty.

Hotel provides shuttle to old centre every hour. We enjoyed a lot comfort.

Hotel staff is english speaking and very-very friendly.

Parking is private on the roof of hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 925 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Villa Angela for our honeymoon from 8th September, for one week. I can only repeat all the positives about what has previously been said about the hotel. The staff are fantastic, idyllic views - which are wonderful to admire from your large & well-furnished balcony. Breakfast is a treat- the croissants were our personal favourite!
The shuttle bus facility the hotel offer is perfect - we didn't expect such a selection of times available to catch it to and from Taormina.
Taormina itself is amazing! Very busy at times but we loved it all - so much more than we had expected, enough bars and restaurants to last you a month, typical tourist gift shops nestled in between high end designer boutiques! And always such good vibes in the town. With the Greek theatre and the beautiful public gardens in Taormina there's plenty to do in the day and night.
Castelmola is definitely worth a visit, just when you thought you high up looking from your room at the Villa Angela! A very quaint, historic town with the quirky bar turissi...made us laugh!
Keep enjoying the views of Etna from everywhere you go. So fantastic. We did a day trip up to 2000m of Etna, worth it when you are above the clouds.
We also visited Isola Bella - almost like paradise! Mind the rocky sea though- I experienced a cut toe. Sea shoes would be a good shout.
For us, we felt a week was enough to see and do what we wanted in Sicily and being at the Villa Angela meant a relaxing time whilst we were at the hotel.
A perfect honeymoon. A wonderful place, complimented by such a great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a very special place... pefect location & accommodations. The hotel itself is above Taormina and below Castelmola & you can see both from the your room terrace! We were there mid August during the busiest week of the year -- the crowds in Taormina itself were maddening. The town was full of tourists staying in Taormina and full of people visiting from the cruise ships, but Villa Angela was a haven of peace, beauty and kindess. Katherine and the staff are amazing ... I read 100s of reviews before I booked here and most spoke about how wonderful the staff is. It's all true! This is a true boutique hotel for those who want a more intimate place with a swimming pool to boot. It's also a great hotel for kids (mine are 10 and 12). I hope that we'll be back there one day... we wouldn't stay anyplace else.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler00101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Villa Angela is an absolute treasure. It is calm and relaxed, the staff are brilliant, the rooms are excellent, and the views fantastic - it was such a pleasure to stay there; it is one of the few places we will definitely return to.

Room Tip: Middle floor have best balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmiffyKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views of Mount Etna and the Tyrrhenian sea! They have a convenient shuttle to take you to town. Taormina is charming with a must see Greek Theatre. The beach us reachable by a funicula. So much to do and see! The hotel staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarialenaMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Villa Angela is simply a fantastic hotel with a relaxed, welcoming and friendly atmosphere. I’m usually very stubborn about ‘going somewhere twice’ but I can honestly say I am looking forward to returning to Villa Angela and beautiful Taormina!
Our room was lovely, very clean and nicely decorated with a large balcony and those much admired views! The facilities are excellent with a small but pleasant pool area and restaurant, wonderful breakfasts (so much choice!) and pretty terraces. We felt that it was the staff that really made Villa Angela so special, they were all very approachable and went out of their way to help us when booking trips out or answering questions. The location high on the hill above Taormina was perfect for us, quiet but still within reach of the bustling Corso Umberto via the hotel’s shuttle bus service or the 500 steps (which must be done at least once for the views alone!)
This is a small hotel which was why we chose it, which can work for or against you depending on what you want. We found that this made our stay feel more friendly and comfortable because we were lucky to have some lovely people staying the same week but we could see how, if there were less ‘considerate’ guests there, then it may change the whole feel of the place as, apart from the unavoidable noise of other people in any hotel, you do spend a lot of time around each other; breakfasts, round the pool, at the bar, on the shuttle bus etc.
Many reviewers here have highlighted the views from Villa Angela and I can only chime in with “spectacular”! If you do have some cloud cover hiding Etna (as we did for some of the holiday), set your alarm for sunrise and when you walk out on your balcony you’ll be staggered when she finally appears!
We highly recommend this hotel; you can clearly see that the owner, (who we missed by a couple of weeks – maybe next time!) and the staff take pride in the place and the service it provides. If you’re visiting Taormina, whether you’re looking for relaxation or adventure, Villa Angela is an ideal base!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaRED-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went back for our honeymoon after having a unforgettable stay in May.
I was genuinely sad to say goodbye to the staff of Hotel Villa Angela. The warmth and friendliness shown by everyone made our honeymoon so special and fun that I can't imagine not going back.
If you like staying in a beautiful stylish hotel and want to relax, I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
Oh yeah, of course it has stunningly beautiful surroundings and the best stuffed calamari I've ever tasted on the lunch menu.. Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $175 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing