We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a great holiday”
Review of Elios Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elios Hotel
Ranked #60 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Valletta, Malta
1 review
“we had a great holiday”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a great holiday staying at Elios hotel all the staff was very kind and helpful the hotel is very clean, Rosario is a very good driver and excellent guide too the excursions that we had with him was worth the money we spend especial when we went to Giardini Naxos and he suggest to take the boat ride to Isola Bella and La Grotta Azzurra,, and even the Etna excursion it was great. The breakfast was good. We had paid for half board and the restaurant that they had told us to go was excellent and not far from the hotel. Joanny from Malta

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    81
    40
    27
    25
See reviews for
51
104
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Welcoming and very helpful receptionists, any queries answered. Large thick luxury towels and crisp bed sheets. Appreciated that they got us soya milk for breakfast. Nice large terrace with recliners, tables and spectacular views. We bought our own food and wine from supermarket and ate and drank on terrace one evening. Well situated only 10 minutes walk from Greek Theatre and town centre, 2 mins from Communal Gardens. Basic rooms but spotlessly clean.

Negatives:
People forget to close lift door so sometimes wasn't working. No kettle/tea, coffee in room. The bed was hard. Shower curtain too short so water got everywhere! Suffered one night from noisy neighbours - you can hear everything! Though breakfast food was good: breads, brioche, croissant, cereal, fresh fruit, (local grown blood oranges), boiled egg on some mornings, it was somewhat badly organised with the breakfast waitress madly running around getting you what you need and often what was forgotten to be supplied (a knife, a spoon, bowl etc etc). We were still happy though.
Though the staff were all lovely it was annoying to have to keep asking questions and making requests that we shouldn't have to (no second pillow on bed, how does bedroom phone work, how does bedroom air conditioning work, etc etc).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieDudecote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

With only 64% of reviews giving Hotel Elios the 'thumbs up' I was a little apprehensive. I shouldn't of been so worried. What a little gem in the centre of Taormina.
My partner, who has 5 star tastes with a 3 star budget, had the Elios and 2 other B&Bs chosen after looking at many places in Taormina through tripadvisor. After I pointed out the brilliant location, we could walk everywhere in Taormina easily with steps etc, and the parking availability she was happy to go ahead. Upon arrival, Rosario and his staff couldn't of been better. They were so helpful with our bags and the car. I've stayed at far more expensive places and the helpfulness of the staff was probably better then many 4/5 star places because it was genuine. Nothing was too much trouble. We viewed different rooms and chose the room with the view over the bay, paying a few Euro extra. The views from the hotel are truly amazing. Breakfast was typically Sicilian but was filling and fabulous. Again the breakfast staff were genuinely interested in service and the extra coffees I had were no problem. Our first nights sleep was brilliant. I was out like a light. Our second could of been better but unfortunately there are less and less people in today's world with consideration for others. Instead of coming into the corridors quietly they continue to have a loud conversation. This wasn't the hotels fault so can't mark the review down for that.
I would def recommend the Elios to the price/value ratio holiday maker. For the price of the Elios, compared to other hotels in Taormina, the value, the quality and service is superb. Rosario is aware that the hotel itself isn't 5 star so he and his staff put in the extra effort to try to give it a 5 star feel. Would go back and stay at the Elios.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkippyLoveRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario N, Front Office Manager at Elios Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
It was a pleasure to receive your positive comments! We are very happy to learn that you had a good stay with us in Taormina. We are happy to learn that everything was better of your expectations and it will be our pleasure to share your comments with all the staff.
We truly hope to have the pleasure to see you soon at the Hotel Elios and we remain at your disposal for all you need in Taormina.

Best Regards
Rosario Nucifora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

front desk is very helpful, some of the rooms are quiter than others, we had a nice quite room with no view on the 3rd floor. My brother's single room walls are thin thus could hear noisy neighbors. The hotel was nice to give him a better-quieter room.
for 13Euro you get a parking next to the hotel and you can walk to the main St. and Greek theater with in a few minutes.
the chamber maid forgot to thoroughly clean the bathroom the 1st night
The elevator could be a problem if the door is not shot well
go up to the balcony for a beautiful view

Room Tip: inner room with no view may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hotel Elios is positioned just a few minutes walk from Taormina's cute city center, the local restaraunts and the Greek ampitheatre.

The city and the atmosphere is amazing, but the Hotel Elios is average. In this case average is'nt necessarily a negative word, as you actually pay for what you get.

Postive:

- Amazing view from the terrace.
- Very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario N, Responsabile reception at Elios Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot, for your review on Trip Advisor after your experience at the Hotel Elios.

To be honest, I know that our structure in general is not excellent and for this every year we work to renew the hotel. At the moment we can offer a good location, our professionality to a good value for money.

I would also like to highlight that, we appreciate your comments and assure you that we will do our best to improve our Hotel.

We remain at your disposal and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Hotel Elios and in the meantime we send you,

Best regards
Rosario Nucifora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good location with excellent views from our sea view room. The room we had was very spacious even for four people & the staff were always very helpful. We had a tour of etna & airport transfer with Rosario, he was very helpful at the hotel and gave us a very memorable last day in Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arslan316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Elios for 4 nights in Sept, it's a 5 minute walk from the bus stop in Taormina, an easy 5 minute walk to town, and 5 minutes to the steps to the beach. We had an excellent room on the 5th floor with a beautiful view of Mt Etna and the sea. Breakfast was good for a European breakfast! We went on a day excursion with Rosario from the hotel- great value for the excursion, and he was very informative along the way. Overall I would recommend this hotel, you can't beat the value, confidence and the location!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view- unforgettable views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura37CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Chiara
Hotel Villa Chiara
#51 of 88 in Taormina
94 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#54 of 88 in Taormina
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#64 of 88 in Taormina
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#49 of 88 in Taormina
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#55 of 88 in Taormina
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elios Hotel

Property: Elios Hotel
Address: Via Bagnoli Croce 96, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elios was built in the historical part of Taormina. It is the perfect place to stay whilst spending a pleasant relaxing vacation or whilst visiting the local tourist attractions of the area. The hotel is managed by the owner together with a trusted and highly qualified staff. Guests are greeted with a warm welcome and are sure to spend a pleasant stay in a cosy atmosphere.The hotel has a large terrace with a beautiful view of the Ionian Sea, the Calabrian Coastline, of Taormina and its bays, the Giardini Naxos (Naxos Gardens) and a view of Mount Etna Volcano with its occasional eruptions and lava flows. Taormina, known as the Perla dello Ionio (Pearl of the Ionian Sea) is a great starting point to begin visiting some of the most important archaeological sites of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Elios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elios Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing