We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Sirius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirius Hotel
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We've just returned from a very nice stay at this hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated on the edge of town, near the bus station and the centre of Taormina. The pool area has lovely views across the bay, and the pool itself is a good size with plenty of sun beds (towels free), and a bar serving food and drink (plus resident cat). Our room was on the 1st floor and was quite small, and although had a sideways sea view, the balcony was a disappointing size - there was one table and two chairs but only one of us could comfortably sit there, but since we didn't spend much time in the room, it didn't matter to us. The beds were comfortable, hot showers always available and towels changed when you left them on the floor, so basically everything we needed in a hotel room. Breakfast was fine, although sometimes certain foods ran out, and took a time to be restocked, but this may have been because there wasn't always enough staff at breakfast on occasions. The gardens around the hotel were beautifully kept and the hotel tastefully decorated with a classic style flavour. The majority of the guests were of the older generation - we felt quite young in comparison (and we're middle aged). The reception staff were polite and helpful. The waiters were also polite but perhaps they all could take a tip from the hotel porter, who was also helpful, but smiley with it. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and if we were to return to Taormina, would very likely stay here - we would probably upgrade to a sea view though, as these rooms looked bigger.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Sirius Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 471 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice in that hotel which has a wonderful view on the sea and is very well located to visit tarmina . Swimming pool is very nice and large . Rooms are ok even if lateral one can be a bit dark . Dinner on the terrace was great . The only bemol is on the service where you feel that tourists are numerous enough for the team not doing all the efforts of amabilty they should do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is great in regards of location and facilities (best pool I've been in Sicily). The building is really nice and breakfast is ok (staff did their best, only 2 guys to serve breakfast to a full place!?).
The first negative comment I have to make is the hours of opening of the pool. The pool closes at 18 h (6 PM). So forget about enjoying the pool after visiting other places in Taormina. Once you go back to the hotel, the pool area is closed.
Another negative point is regarding the rooms (we booked a double standard and a junior suite). We were really disappointed. No bathtub only a small shower in really small bathrooms. Rooms were clean but not spotless (italians should make use of vacuum cleaners).
We stayed at the first floor which has an exit to the pool but actually the pool is one floor down yet so we were not bothered by the noise.
At the reception the staff was ok just don't expect all the warmth you probably thought about when you paid the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view. Taormina is such an exotic place.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1969PuntadelEste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at Sirius Hotel in Taormina with a group of friends during for one night in August 2013. Had I known when I planned my trip how amazing this hotel was, I would have stayed for a week!!

Everything about Sirius Hotel is FANTASTIC!! The view is phenomenal. The pool is beautiful. The women that attend the front desk are so kind, friendly and helpful! The pizza served at the pool is better than any pizza you can find in the United States.

We stayed in a quadruple room which had plenty of space, a huge closet and a nice bathroom. The room, and property had the feel of an Italian home, not a hotel. It was charming and welcoming.

Overall, I would recommend Sirius Hotel to anyone traveling to Sicily. I only hope I am lucky enough to return and stay again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a magical week at the Sirius Hotel!

On arrival someone met us at the top of the drive to take our cases down to reception, which was excellent as the drive slopes down and then there are steps to reception. The receptionist was lovely and took us through all the information we needed and our cases were taken to our room. (At the end of our stay our cases were driven to the bus station, where we picked up our transfer coach).

Our room, on the first floor, was fabulous - on the first floor corner, with a lovely balcony with fantastic views - in fact you can sit in bed looking across to the sea. It is lovely too to watch the cable cars pass by every quarter of an hour! The room furnishings were absolutely lovely and the bed firm and comfortable. Sheets and towels were changed regularly and our cleaning lady kept our room beautifully. The bathroom with shower and bidet was lovely. Our A/C was really quiet!

We were on half board - breakfast was lovely with cappuccino and hot chocolate offered at breakfast, fresh melon (and apple??) juice, orange etc - a great assortment of meats, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber, eggs, including scrambled, yoghurts, fresh fruit, croissant to die for cakes/pastries, rolls etc - what more could you ask for? At breakfast we chose what we wanted for dinner, which was lovely, giving us the chance to look forward to our meal.

Dinner was taken on the terrace, overlooking the sea, with views even across to the Italian mainland, with twinkly lights coming on as night falls! There is a good wine list and lovely food. I had a different fish as my main dish each evening, but my husband had a range of meat dishes - starters were great including lovely risottos - perfect! Wine will be kept for you if you don't finish the bottle. What was so lovely was to be served by the waiters and not have to be up and down to a buffet as in so many holiday hotels these days!!

We had pizzas on a couple of occasions for lunch by the pool, though usually we went into town to try out local restaurants and recommend Le Botte. Drinks by the pool are a little costly but very convenient.

The pool is kept beautifully and the poolside is clean and tidily kept and hosed clean regularly. There always seemed to be sun beds available and towels can be collected at the poolside.

The staff are all lovely - the hotel is beautifully presented, what more could you ask for? We thoroughly recommend the hotel and would say, don't be put off by hearing about the steps to reception and the sloping driveway, it really isn't much of a problem.

We will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Do book a room with a sea view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_Willowslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Sirius hotel is a fine choice if you want to visit Taormina and surroundings. The hotel's location offers fantastic views over the city and the sea. The hotel itself is lovely, well organized and worth the money. In a way, it reminds you of hotels used to be in the old days, especially in the way the restaurant is run. We had half board, so had our breakfasts and dinners on-site. The waiters are old school professionals, proud of their skills, and so is the Chef. Good meals, delivered with attention. One peculiarity: they don't have wine coolers so your bottle of great sicilian white wine is warm when you finish it. Might explain why most guests have red wine on their dinner table. One other special point of attention: the hotel, as it is built on the mountain hill next to city centre, is more vertical than horizontal. The old fashioned lift does not service the car park, and the entree to the car park (on the roof of the hotel) is the steepest one i ever drove .... But if in doubt, there is (of course) someone available to help you.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sirius for two weeks 7 nights of which were half board. It was our fourth visit to Taormina and we were not disappointed. The staff are very helpful and friendly, as were the owners who always made a point of greeting us. Breakfast was more than adequate (if you want a fry up, stay clear of Italy!), cold hams, eggs, fruit cereals cheese and cakes. The evening meal was again good, decent size portions and good well cooked produce.
Views from the hotel are stunning and it is a ten minute walk (uphill) to the town centre. The cable car is a few minutes walk away from the entrance. There are two Lido's on the beach you can use which are both inexpensive for the usual umbrella and two loungers. Both are available with free pick up and return from the hotel (Paradiso 12.5 euros pp and the Tropicana 8 euros pp).

We had room 119 which has a massive veranda overlooking the pool and the sea, beautiful!

Only downside would be the size of the bathroom (very small) and even though this was our fourth visit to Taormina we still ended up shocked at what the cost of eating out is in the town. We spent 3 euros each return to go down to Giardini Naxos and ate for half the price and with better quality. It seems to me that taormina has priced itself for cruise ship stop off's and Russian holidaymakers!!

Booked for next year, but in Giardini!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and ask for 117,118,119,120
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewg55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#23 of 87 in Taormina
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirius Hotel

Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 34, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $157 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small hotel set in the greenery on the Taormina hill and enjoying a charming view of the bays underneath and of the Calabria coast line in the distance. Almost every room is provided with a balcony overlooking the sea and have every kind of comfort: air-conditioning/heating, direct dial phone, safe, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi. The beautiful beaches of Mazzaro and Isola Bella can be reached in 15 min. either by foot or by cable car(the station is only 200 metres away). The hotel is a few steps away from the centre and the main street, Corso Umberto. Taormina can be reached: by car, through the motorway Messina-Catania A18 (the exit is 2 km away from the hotel); by train (Giardini Naxos train station is 3 km away); by bus(the bus terminal is a few meters away from the hotel); by plane (Catania airport , Fontanarossa, is connected to Taormina by a regular bus service): ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirius Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing