We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Summer in Taormina”
Review of Sirius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sirius Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sirius, Taormina in second half of September. The hotel’s location is excellent, few minutes’ walk uphill to Porta di Messina to enter the old centre of Taormina. Every day we went for walks on Corso Umberto and the hardest part was walking up the hotel steep driveway. Bus station is also close buy and we went to Castle Mola with its incredible view over Taormina. We were lucky as the day was clear and Etna shown it full ‘smoking’ glory.
The cable car was right next to the hotel - it goes down to a beach.
We went also to a Lido, with its courtesy shuttle minibus.
All beaches are pebbled and swimming shoes are the must!
The hotel has a nice swimming pool, but water was cold despite warm weather.
Our room was booked with a sea view and it had own terrace with an incredible view over Taormina bay. Beds were uncomfortable - mattresses too hard. The bathroom was small but clean.
All common rooms and halls at Sirius are tastefully furnished and decorated.
We were disappointed with food; every day breakfast was the same. Portions at dinner were on small size, often served not warm enough.
Taormina is a nice town, with fantastic scenery and places to see.

Room Tip: First floor with a full see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 491 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having just completed a 2 week holiday at the Sirius Hotel, I feel as if I need another 2 weeks away. The slope from the road to the parking area of the hotel was extremely steep (like a helter skelter) and another 27 steps to the reception area. The food was repetitive and not a lot put on the plates. It was in my opinion under-staffed. If you wanted a drink before dinner, the bar was only open from 7.00pm until 7.30pm and again re-opened after 9.00pm. The reason for this strange opening time was because the barman was called away to wait tables during the evening meal. If you decided to have a coffee and sit on the terrace in the afternoon looking at the fabulous views that was available, you were out of luck and told to go the pool bar. The swimming pool opened at 9.00am and when I decided to go for a swim at 5.05 after a long day of sight seeing I found to my amazement the gate to the pool was locked and no one there. I realise it was coming to the end of the season but surely people are entitled to the same treatment as those who holiday in high season. The position and cleanliness of the hotel couldn’t be faulted, and despite the slope and steps, the views were to die for. Be advised this hotel is not for people with walking or breathing disabilities.

Room Tip: Would recomend sea view and ask for corner balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Setting, location and views outstanding, less than 10 minutes uphill stroll to the old town which is spectacular, far exceeding Sorrento and other old Italian coastal towns.

Very clean bedrooms and general hotel areas are let down by the limited menu and the bar is only opened for an hour before dinner and again following dinner [barman also functions as one of the 3 waiters]. Daytime snacks and drinks are available at the excellent pool.

Lots of steps and the lifts do not serve all floors. The greatest difficulty is encountered when gaining access to the hotel as it is approached down a steep, spiral driveway on a par with a helter-skelter, followed by 27 steps down to reception. The small lifts serve 5 floors, stopping one floor above the lowest bedrooms, and 2 floors above the pool level.

Despite the problems detailed above, I would happily return next year for another blissful 2 weeks, booking a room with sea views.

Room Tip: Sea view essential and select floors 1, 2 or 3 [no lift to lowest floor]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed 2nd to 16th Sept 2012 for our 30th wedding anniversary. Paid for a sea view room - and we got what was probably one of their best sea view rooms, with a large balcony. View was absolutely spectacular - sunrise, sunset and the moon on the Sea! The Hotel is lovely and all staff very nice and helpful. Everything kept spotlessly clean - room serviced every day. Bathroom a little bit small but adquate. Hotel in quiet location, away from Taormina centre (but only a short walk into the centre). Breakfast was very good. Dinners were good but the portions were too small for my Husband. However, we did manage to eat out on the terrace every night apart from 3 (when it was a bit stormy) and that was a particularly romantic setting with views to die for. Swimming pool excellent and very clean - wonderfuly quiet spot too. All in all a fantastic trip and I highly recommend the Hotel. Mrs B

Room Tip: If booking a sea view room, ask for the ones facing over the swimming pool, or on the 3rd floor (bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley499476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed two memorable weeks at the Sirius hotel of Taormina. Our stay was enhanced by the picturesque views of the eastern landscape sloping into the vastness of the Ionian sea at its narrowest approaches of the Messina strait, the friendliness of the obliging staff, the comfortable well appointed rooms and the good selection of well cooked local food served al fresco in the terrace in the balminess of the night under the moon and shimmering stars or the occasional fireworks display of summer festivities of nearby villages along the coast.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferryman190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotel is situated on the main road into to Taormina (just after the bus station for those arriving by bus, as we did). It is built on the cliff-side with nice views over the sea from some rooms (not ours) and the pool area. A (very) short walk into the town centre.

Rooms were well-maintained and spotlessly clean. Welcome was warm and friendly (as were all the staff).

Breakfast was great- loads of choice- patisserie, fruit, etc.

Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibblepibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a superior room which was very comfortable with great views from the shady balcony, and good air con. Service was very helpful and efficient. Good choices for breakfast. Only drawback is the steep slope from road to small car park and steps down to reception - but the steep slopes mean everyone gets a great view out to sea!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,891 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#24 of 87 in Taormina
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#12 of 87 in Taormina
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirius Hotel

Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 34, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $106 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small hotel set in the greenery on the Taormina hill and enjoying a charming view of the bays underneath and of the Calabria coast line in the distance. Almost every room is provided with a balcony overlooking the sea and have every kind of comfort: air-conditioning/heating, direct dial phone, safe, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi. The beautiful beaches of Mazzaro and Isola Bella can be reached in 15 min. either by foot or by cable car(the station is only 200 metres away). The hotel is a few steps away from the centre and the main street, Corso Umberto. Taormina can be reached: by car, through the motorway Messina-Catania A18 (the exit is 2 km away from the hotel); by train (Giardini Naxos train station is 3 km away); by bus(the bus terminal is a few meters away from the hotel); by plane (Catania airport , Fontanarossa, is connected to Taormina by a regular bus service): ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirius Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing