We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tischi Toschi

Tischi Toschi
Ranked #33 of 258 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

A real taste of Sicily. Very friendly service . Ate there twice. The assagi are brilliant especially the caponata and parmeggiana. The owner shows true love towards food and it shows. A must try.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonioMallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    87
    34
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For the conoscenti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Luca Casablanca is a perfectionist and it shows. From the Not content with offering the usual fare of Taormina with its nodding acquaintance of genuine Sicilian cuisine, he brings to the table dishes not to be found in many other places. His passion for preparing and presenting food has brought him many prestigious awards such as the such as the Gamberirosso. He loves to talk about the origins of the various dishes such as the 'agro/dolce - the sweet and sour sauce which, surprisingly was originally used by the ancient Romans to keep food fresh. This is the place to go if you wish to sample the 'real' Sicily.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Taormina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

A local store owner recommended us to this restaurant and we were not disappointed! The chef/owner was wonderful and we had such a great experience that we actually went back the next night. The menu is creative and offers a variety of options for vegetarian which I appreciated. The fennel balls were AMAZING and I don't like fennel!
More of a locals place for sure. Smoking is allowed everywhere outside in Italy so as non smokers we opted to eat in the inside dining room on the 2nd night where we met some wonderful people from the neighborhood.
Definitely would recommend!
Thank you Luca for the great memories!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donarunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What is this all about!?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This must be the weirdest place I have ever eaten. Look, the owner-waiter does not speak any english (unusual in Taormina) but he did not let us know that fact! So it being Taormina, we assumed he understood what we were ordering as he acted like he understood. We ordered a bottle of HOUSE wine ... in fact we ordered it about 3 times as all he did was give my wife a half glass and seemed confused that I wanted a beer. We finally were given a bottle of the wine that my wife had a half glass of, and we assumed it to be the HOUSE wine. Then we got food ... a collection of 4 tasting starters ... all were horrible, and all preprepared and scooped out of a serving bowl. Then the mains ... my wife's "velvety beans" was just like green baby food, and my calamari & prawn was also horrible ... smelly srimp and rubbery salty squid. We left most of it and asked for the bill ... but no, we had to endure three more deserts, only one of which was not horrible! Then we got the bill €60 PLUS the bottle of HOUSE wine ... which was €80 for the wine!!!! What!? Why did he not make sure we knew what we were being given if it was an €80 bottle???!! If he did not understand HOUSE, why did he not say that he did not understand? Incredible! So we complained ... and TO HIS CREDIT he wiped the €80 off the bill! So it went from €140 to €60 just like that. We were even more confused, and paid €100 to halve the issue. But we spent €100 on a ruined evening, albeit that the wine was ok. Don't go here unless you a) speak italian, and b) like strange food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryTravels608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere; Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Loved Tischi Toschi (means father and son). Not touristy. In fact, our party of 4 were the only tourists in the place. It is a hidden gem. The tuna salad, ravioli (so delicate) and the spaghetti with tuna were amazing. Loved the ambiance. Finished with some homemade Lemoncello. Be sure to make reservations. What a treat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Themh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tischi Toschi also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Tischi Toschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing