We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place, stunning view at active vulcano”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Geleng

VIEW OF ETNA
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VIEW OF ETNA
LIVING ROOM LIVING ROOM
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
VIEW OF ETNA
LIVING ROOM
LIVING ROOM
DINING ROOM
BEDROOM 1
BEDROOM 2
BEDROOM 3
BEDROOM 3
KITCHEN
KITCHEN
BATHROOM 1
BATHROOM 2
Terrace out door furniture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Susie N
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect View of Mt Etna”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed in Casa Geleng for 3 nights. The apartment has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathroom. The apartment only has one air conditioner in the dining room. Luckily for us it wasn't too hot, I can't imagine staying in the apartment during the summertime. The air conditioner in the dining room will not cool down the bedrooms. This is a no frills apartment, a bit dated but it gives you the basic essentials for the price you are paying. My only issue was the water from the shower, it was either extremely hot or cold. Giampero was a wonderful host, he showed us how to walk to town from the apartment. He also lives on the first floor so it is easy to contact him for any needs. The best thing about the apartment was the balcony, it provided a perfect view of Mt Etna.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leovander...
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place, stunning view at active vulcano”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented this apartment for five days, being five adults (myself, my wife, my 2 children and my girls boyfriend). We will remember this holiday. The apartment is spacious and beautiful, the text and pictures at the flipkey site tell the full truth about interior and view. The comfort is rather good, the view is stunning and we were so lucky to be there while the Etna was active. Especially at night, a view to remember. What we also did like, was that the owner appeared to be very kind and helpful, extremely alert when we had a small problem to solve that. I can hardly imagine to find a prettier place in the are for an affordable rate.

Are there downsides? Yes there are, to be honest. The apartment overseas the highway far below, you will here the traffic always. The site is hones about not offering a parking place at the apartment itself, mentioning a parking garage a 5 minutes walking time. I celebrated my 60th birthday there, and indeed I managed to get there in 5 minutes, and being in a hurry I even got back in another 5 minutes. But it should be mentioned that there are 146 staircases and some pretty steep parts of the rod between the house and the parking garage, which is paid and costing €13,- per day.
And one advice: prepare your way through Taormina well, even with my navi on I managed to get lost and had to circle around the place as all roads are allowed only in one direction.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view
Liked least: The parking garage, 5 minutes walk with 146 staircases and steap roads
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theorigin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good base in Taormina with fine view of Etna.”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a spacious flat near the Catania Gate. It has a big balcony with uninterrupted views to Etna and the bay of Naxos. Not luxurious but we found it more than adequate. It would be hard to find anywhere better. And there is free wifi which was very fast. The aircon only really works for the living area, it doesn't do much for the bedrooms, but there are fans. The owner is helpful and lives in the building so is on hand for any problems. We would be very happy to go back here.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Taormina
Liked least: Insect bites
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkMarin...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Large unit in taormina”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Geleng was a nice apartment close to the centre of Taormina
The owner was very helpful in helping with booking, parking and general advice
The view from the balcony was exceptional
The rooms were large and tidy . Air conditioning was a great plus although it did struggle on very hot days
All in all a very nice place to stay especially for a family

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great position
Liked least: No internet
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianFre...
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A fantastic apartment with outstanding views”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I would thoroughly recommend Casa Geleng for a stay in beautiful Taormina.

The apartment itself is very spacious with excellent amenities and commands a great location, with stunning views from the apartment-long terrace of the surrounding hillsides, Bay of Naxos & Etna brooding in the distance.

The location is a 5 minute stroll from the main street (Corsa Umberto I) and only 25 minutes stroll from the bus station, from where there are easy links to Catania Airport, surrounding towns, etc.

Giampiero, the owner, is very friendly and will do anything he can to make your stay a pleasant one.

I for one will definitely return here!!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greshle
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and wonderful hospitality!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Geleng! The apartment is in a perfect location, just a short walk to town and very near the supermarket. The entire town is walkable within 15 minutes and the parking garage is also a short walk away. The hospitality of the owner was wonderful, we were grateful for the cold drinks he had waiting for us in the refrigerator! The apartment is very spacious and comfortable, although it can be a bit warm in the summer months. The views of the sea at Mt. Etna were incredible! We recommend a very good GPS to help you locate the apartment, but otherwise you can find everything else you need within a short walk through a beautiful town!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg The Netherlands
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing