We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Apartmet”
other travelers have booked this property
My Family House - Casa Costa - from the outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
My Family House - Casa Costa - from the outside
Tripadvisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014 the neighborhood
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
My Family House - Casa Costa - from the outside
Tripadvisor - Certificate of Excellence 2014
the neighborhood
terrace from the inside
view from bedroom and living room
bedroom 2 (twin or double)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Diarmuid7...
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartmet”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were met at the apartment by Paola, who was extremely helpful and was more than happy to advise us on places to eat and to visit!

The apartment itself is lovely, and the views from the large terrace to both the coast and Mt Etna are fantastic. Paola also had stocked the apartment which among other things included fresh fruit, breads, pastas, cereal, Yogurts, water, a bottle of beer and a nice bottle of wine. It was a lovely touch, which you won't get everywhere and was really appreciated!

The terrace is the perfect place to relax with a beer or glass of wine, Grazie, Paola!

The location of the apartment is pretty much perfect, really peaceful area, just down from Pizza del Duomo and nearby are two restaurants I'd definitely recommend. The family run trattoria Don Ciccio and also just up the steps from Piazza Del Duomo in Piazza Carmine is the wonderful Villa Zuccaro. The best pizza we had in Sicily!

Definitely would also recommend a visit to Onofrio in his family run pasticceria on Viale Apollo Arcageta. The pasteries are amazing as is the Pistaccio paste for cooking!

Will definitely return to Taormina and to Casa Costa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveDesi...
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Truly Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving later than expected (we never should have trusted GPS around Taormina) and winding thru and around the city, we eventually arrived to find the owner, Paola waiting for us, having graciously reserved a free and legal parking space for us directly in front of the building- now that is the way to start a visit! Paola is the consummate host and after showing us around the apartment, proceeded to explain all things Taormina, recommending places to visit, where to dine and most importantly, where to have our first Sicilian brioche with granita. All recommendations proved to be top notch, including the lovely restaurant visible directly below the apartment, and a minute or two walk down hill, where we were treated like family since we were literally staying above the restaurant.

The apartment is large and stylish, tastefully furnished and immaculately clean with two bedrooms, two generously sized baths complete with washing machine, a living room with dining area and very well stocked compact kitchen, so nice in fact that we decided to use it- something we had not planned on. One of the most impressive features of the apartment is its expansive terrace with views of Mount Etna and the sea, complete with a large dining table and umbrellas – we decided to buy lunch one day at a local market and enjoy the sun and view. Prosciutto, cheese and olives never tasted so good.

Getting up early our last morning before day break to make breakfast for our group, one companion exclaimed “look at THAT!” with such excitement that we couldn’t imagine what the fuss was about. THAT turned out to be flames and smoke erupting directly from Mount Etna! With a stroke of unimaginable luck, we were able to witness a phenomenon we never even considered could happen during our stay in Sicily, directly from the apartment windows and terrace. What a perfect ending to a delightful stay. I cannot recommend Casa Costa highly enough for its central location, views, amenities and comfortable décor. I only wish we had a few more days to linger but Etna was beckoning us, literally, and we went to her.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed there of 3 nights and its was very pleasant. The owner was really helpful and had loads of maps of the town. There was plenty of detergents and they kindly left coffee and other essentials in the apartment. This saves time and money and makes you feel at home instantly. The area is really peaceful yet was only a short stroll to the main strip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire apartment
Liked least: The steps down
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location and Apartment”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is well decorated and furnished in a great location with great views of Etna and the sea.

The owners Max and Paola were excellent and very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for them.

When we arrived we found the kitchen to be well stocked with food and equipped with a good range of utensils etc. to allow you to cook your own meals.

The apartment has a spacious tiled terrace equipped with two parasols, two sun loungers and a mosaic table with chairs, whether you're eating your breakfast or enjoying a glass of wine it's certainly relaxing when you've got such a nice view looking out at Etna and the sea.

The main street, Corso Umberto, is only a few minutes away and the nearest multi storey car park is at Porto Catania about 10 minutes walk.

There is an abundance of restaurants and Pizzeria's to be found along the Corso Umberto, be sure to check out the ones down the side streets they are quite often the best.

We will certainly be making a return visit as our stay was very relaxing and most enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peedee300...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay on our trip in Italy”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Not often, but occasionally dreams come true. When you wake up and see the Etna from the terrace, rising as if from the center of the earth, embedded in wood and mediterranean sea scenery. Smaller and bigger charming buildings hang on the cliffs of Taormina. Birds surround you and you self feel like observing the scenery from a nest on the rocks. You sip on a fresh boiled espresso, so strong that you don't even think about standing up immediately. We stayed in that paradise of almost a week. Paola, our wonderful hospitable landlady (Paola even bought us a new cod for our small baby), took us from the bus station to help us find our way in the charming town of Taormina and the welcoming comforts of the apartment. The family of Paola owns the whole house. Part of her family still live in the house; the apartment is the last of three entrances, at the bottom of the stairs. Our friendly neighbors brought us once fresh herbs from their small terrace garden. The house is old with big walls, spacious with two bathrooms and bedrooms. But even the thick walls couldn't hold up the power of the Sicilian sun. Climatisation was needed, at least for a few hours at the end of the afternoon. One of the two cooling systems was fixed during our stay. Corso Umberto a few steps away, and the best restaurants around the corner. We always liked to cook for our selves and finally we could in the completely equipped kitchen, but in the end we hardly used it because our cooking didn't match the quality of the cuisines in the neighborhood. We would love to come back, but when ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: das ganze
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan-ree...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb place to stay in Taormina”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Great location with beautiful views of sea and Etna. Nicely appointed interiors with good attention to detail. Very hospitable hosts, for example breakfast and stuff for a meal were left for us. Close to the Main Street and restaurants. We had a lovely stay in the apartment and recommend it thoroughly.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AhlanM
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent, large, well furnished appartment at prime location for town”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is spacious and well equipped with a large terrace overlooking a small wood with a view of Etna in one direction and the sea in another. It is new and so everything is in good condition and works. The apartment is situated about 100m from the Catania Gate at the end of the main pedestrian thoroughfare - the Corso Umberto. At the Catania Gate there is a post office with an ATM that accepts "Plus" cards - important to those of us that haven't the ubiquitous Maestro. Nearby is also a supermarket with a wide range of goods. If you don't fancy cooking then there is the infamous "da christina" that serves excellent and cheap takeaways a mere minute away. At the other end of the Corso Umberto (a 15 minute walk) is the Cable car (to the beach) or the bus station (for excursions). The apartment has a dish washer and washing machine and wifi connected to a 3Mbps internet connection that is adequate for video streaming to an iPad. The television has Sky which often shows films with language selection (in case your Italian isn't up to watching films). On our arrival the kitchen and fridge were very well stocked, so much so that we didn't have to go shopping for several days! This is an incredibly nice and much appreciated gesture from the owners and makes settling in so very much more convenient.
The only downside to this otherwise perfect apartment is the noise. The apartment is situated above the Restaurant Da Lorenzo. This is an up market establishment so it is not particularly noisy which probably accounts why other reviewers haven't mentioned the fact. However if you are sensitive to noise then the noise from beneath you from 20:00 to a little after 23:00 can be disturbing. During our stay at the beginning of May there was hardly any lunch time trade and the nights were too cool for many to sit outside. Otherwise this too would have probably bothered us. It must be said that we are extremely fussy and sensitive to noise - people of a less sensitive disposition or those that go out for the evenings might not even notice.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen and fridge being well stocked on our arrival
Liked least: The noise from the restaurant below
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing