We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bellissimo”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Appartamento IONIO

Giovanni
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Giovanni
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Giovanni
vista Tirreno
Giovanni: arrosto misto per gli ospiti
I nostri prodotti
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Patricia...
England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had a fantastic four days here in the hills above Taomina. As the apartment is a bit tricky to find,, Giovanni met us at the railway station in Taomina and we followed him. The view from our apartment (tyrannos) was lovely and it had everything we needed to make our stay special. Car essential. Things to do: we drove up Castelmoro and to the south refuge of Mt Etna and took the cable car to the first stage, both we would recommend. Then there is the beautiful island (looks like it's been taken from a disney film) which is worth a visit but do take beach shoes as the stones are sharp. Other beaches are nearby. The icing on the cake for us was the meal that Giovanni cooked for us. He was a chef in a previous career and makes good use of his skill to bless his guests. Beautiful place and we loved our visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seaside location but not in a touristy area
Liked least: The hairpin bends up the hill took a while to get used to!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maturecou...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extreamly enjoyable”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My Husband And I Had a Most Enjoyable Stay at Finestra Sul Mare, The View From Our Terrace was amazing we could not have wished for anything better and Giovani and Rosario were so helpful, but the language barrier was a problem. I would advise that a car is essential, and we found it very expensive, an unexpected expense, but the property was too remote to be able to walk to Taormina.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the tranquility
Liked least: Inconvenince of position
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David894
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place run by lovely people”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We loved our 3 night stay at Finestra Sul Mare and wished we could have stayed for longer. We had the room 'Ionio' and it was a simple, lovely room complete with kitchenette, en-suite and a wonderful terrace boasting an orange tree and sea view.
Giovanni and his lovely wife were so warm and welcoming and made us feel very comfortable but also allowed us a totally private experience.
Finestra is out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Taormina centre but still only a winding 10 minute drive from town. You will be hard pressed to find better value for money in the area and I would not hesitate in recommending this accommodation to anyone looking for a base to explore Taormina and the Northern Etna area. My only criticism would be that the pillows were a bit hard but hey, not the end of the world!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Ciao David,
grazie di tutto.

Grazie anche per il consiglio dei cuscini.... provvederemo immediatamente.
Grazie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conor C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic venue with a great chef included”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The view is absolutely amazing. Taormina is a truly enchanting place by virtue of being a city on a mountain. Giovanni's apartments are set in a picturesque setting high in the mountains with views unparalleled elsewhere in the whole of Taormina. The apartments are clean and well preserved with everything you need on a vacation. If you want the Ritz go and pay premium rates. For value and quality of life it doesn't come much better.

Moreover, I will also say what you get if you book within these apartments is the fact Giovanni actually lives in an attached property adjoining the apartments so you know your getting a great apartment with hour by hour hospitality.

Now what is the bonus with these apartments is that Giovanni is a retired chef. He also provides a menu of fresh fish and pasta as part of the optional deal. For a very competitive price he will actually cook privately for your apartment which is truly romantic considering you are in the mountains admiring the views and a private meal cooked freshly from the comfort of your apartment. If you do not take advantage of this then you have truly missed out on such a fantastic experience,

Never will you have a more beautiful setting and so I sought the perfect moment on the terrace after one of Giovanni's meals to ask my partner of several years to become my lawful wedded wife. Thankfully Giovanni's food seemed to do the trick and in the end she said "yes".

Following this and informing Giovanni the next evening we had the hospitality of receiving Giovanni and his relation Angelo play live Italian music in front of us to mark the occasion. Classics of all descriptions including a rendition of some Beatles numbers along with classical Italian opera played on guitar made this our best holiday ever.

I fully recommend staying with Giovanni and special mention must be made to Angelo and Pietra who beyond the call of duty provided us with such a memorable experience we hope to have developed great friends for life.

Thank you all so much.


Conor

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitlinem...
Lephalale, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Italian experience.”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Absolute value for money and kindly soul in Giovanni. We had all four aparments with essentially three different family units. The apartments were well equipped and Giovanni was always available if we needed anything. We were given fresh eggs every day and fresh vegetables from the garden. The apartments were relatively quiet and gave us all our own separate space. The location is close to Taormina, but it is not walkable to anywhere. You absolutely have to have a car to buy groceries or get a coffee. The road to Finestra is very steep and windy as are all the roads to Taormina. Driving there is quite scary even for an Italian driving veteran like myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The italian family experience.
Liked least: Driving to the apartment.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner Giovanni, location.
Liked least: None.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing