We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just went for the wine”

Osteria RossoDiVino
Ranked #8 of 272 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just went for the wine”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I didn't realize they were a restaurant because I saw signs for a wine bar. I told the girl working that I just wanted to try the wines, and she immediately brought me several bottles and was able to explain the differences. After trying them, I chose a wine and she brought me bruschetta and olives to go with it. Would definitely recommend this place :)

Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    203
    73
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Dinner at RossoDiVino was the highlight of a perfect holiday in Taormina. This small, atmospheric restaurant with its blue-tiled galley kitchen and shelves stacked high with bottles of Sicilian wine is cosily authentic, while at the same time being home to the most imaginative cuisine and best wine list in the city. The two waitresses are beyond fantastic: after welcoming us and talking us through the menu, they recommended a string of the most wonderful, unusual wines to complement our choice of dishes. They were perfectly content for us to order wines by the glass, even suggesting they serve us 'tasting' measures in order that we might try a new wine for each course. We had two impeccable local reds and a white, with a dessert wine thrown in. The food was equally fantastic - all the more so for being prepared right next to us in the kitchen, with the head chef in such proximity as to allow us to nod our appreciation and thanks after each course. We had an unforgettable evening and would jump at the chance to return to RossoDiVino.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotte327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“gnocchi was delicious!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This restaurant is down a small alley way in Taromina. My husband and I wanted a light lunch. There was no problem sharing the homemade gnocchi which was prepared in a ragu sauce garnished with peas and crispy charred artichoke leaves. This was the best gnocchi we ever had. The wine selection was amazing. You could choose any wine by the glass. The price was adjusted according to the price of the bottle. The staff was friendly and gave us a complimentary glass of the most delicious dessert wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank equalizer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“imaginitive but way too pricey”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

An attempt to be different, but it does not work out positively. The albacore pairing with chocolate and strawberry is really imaginative. But why is most of fish raw which it too subtle in flavour. Considering the amount of food you get it is way too pricey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SurFrenske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Sicillian Sorellas serving fabulous fish”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

These two girls really know what they are doing. In a tiny little space, down an alleyway, you will find...Charming service, and a very small and original fish and vegetarian dishes. The melanzane parmigiana was delicious and not your usual "heavily drenched in cheese" fare, but a slice of aubergine with a delicious tomato sauce and just a hint of cheese. The very fresh and delicious tuna tartare won votes all round as did the grilled fresh prawns, still clinging onto the fisherman and the oh so fresh just picked salad. The home made tiramisu was again light and bore no resemblance to the heavy stodge of other establishments and when my friend said that she would rather try a canoli on her meagre calorie allowance, one of the charming sisters even drew us a map of how to get to the best canoli shop in Taormina. A real winner do go there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 761Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria RossoDiVino also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Osteria RossoDiVino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing