We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Thing We Did in Sicily!!”

Villa Britannia Cooking Classes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Villa Britannia is a new Bed and Breakfast which combines food and wine activities within the premises. We guarantee small groups in our class , maximum 6 people per class , and each dish is prepared from scratch and our aim to express our love for simply Sicilian food , looking at its history and explosive flavours . Also looking into the ingredient which is key to great cooking , so we use only local sourcing and farming which is priority . We offer different classes at different price ranges , please contact us for more info . For the Full Sicilian cooking & lunch experience , once completed our 3 different dishes , enjoy Villa Britannias atmosphere , our staff will serve you the lunch on the terrace , our sommelier Marco will explain to you what wines and oils are combined with your Sicilian lunch which you helped prepare . You will enjoy a desert which is not made by us , but sourced from our local Pasticceria either Cannoli , cassata , almond cakes served with our homemade madarinetto and Limoncello. If you have a passion for food and what to explore more of our Sicilian flavours in a private family villa this cooking class is a must . Sicily in a Glass : Come to experience the world of Sicilian wines .Guided by marco our Sommelier, In a journey among some of the most representative wines of Sicily . You will taste 4 Sicilian wines ( 1 white , 2 reds and 1 sweet wine ) with 4 typical food finger pairings, prepared and offered by Villa Britannia's chef and kitchen .All of this is held on Villa Britannias garden and sea view terrace.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Thing We Did in Sicily!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I wanted to take a cooking class while in Sicily and found this one through Trip Advisor. Villa Britannia is a beautiful villa with friendly gracious hosts. Louisa was a pleasure to work with from the moment I started inquiring about the class. This was by far our favorite experience while in Sicily and the best meal we had while we were in the country! If you are thinking about doing a cooking class you MUST choose Villa Britannia! The class size is smaller than most others and there is plenty of hands on experience in the kitchen. Carmelo doesn't believe in using machines in the kitchen and so you really get to learn how to make everything from scratch!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karr541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This one tops the charts”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Best adventure I ever had on vacation, certainly the best food, and most charming hosts. The chef Carmelo cooked a complex three course feast. A numero uno apperitif (wow), marinated anchovies and prawns, lasagna with made from scratch pasta, sea bass & swordfish, and six layer cherry cake with only garden fresh, mouth watering ingredients. Wow, wow, wow. Everything was totally delicious. Louisa our host is utterly charming and her Dad is a sweetie. Everyone speaks perfect English and probably several other languages. The kitchen is top shelf and the house is a work of art. We ate outside with a spectacular view of the ocean. Worth every penny. Unforgettable experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhavand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Fabulous food & Sicilian Charm!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I wanted to do a cooking class in Sicily and booked this class online with Louisa. What a wonderful surprise. Louisa is a beautiful hostess, the Villa is so pretty with wonderful views. Carmelo, the handsome, extremely talented professional chef provided us with a full menu, and a hands on experience. He was definitely in charge of his kitchen, but encouraged our participation. There were four of us cooking. After 2.5 hours of cooking we sat on the terrace and thoroughly enjoyed the food prepared. Fresh seafood salad, risotto, swordfish rolls, fabulous dessert and wine to share! We spent 6 hours having a wonderful time, in a beautiful place with very charming people. I can't say enough good things about this experience. Thank you Louisa & Carmello....and your charming father.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cam330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunflower State
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful "Must Do" Experience!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Experiencing this cooking class is a "must do" if you visit Taormina as we did. To begin with we were greeted by Louisa, our hostess, and met our fellow guests.

We were then introduced to Carmelo the chef who so charmingly showed us how to make a truly amazing and fabulous meal. We prepared an aperitif, seafood salad, risotto, stuffed swordfish rolls, dessert. It could not have been better! I learned several things about cooking that I didn't know, i.e. letting the risotto sit to cool a few minutes before serving to bring out the flavor. The best of all was the meal itself. It was so delicious that we kept comparing it to every other meal we had during our entire two week trip to Sicily and Malta. Not one meal ever met the "Carmelo" standard that we experienced that day! It was truly wonderful and such a fun time!

Carmelo is a highly skilled experienced chef but was also funny and instructive. Louisa is a great hostess and showed us around her lovely villa which I'd love to stay in on my next trip to Sicily!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite meal in Sicily - and fun !”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited Sicily on a food tour in March 2013 and ate in many excellent restaurants . But our favorite by far was our day at Villa Britannia in Taormina , cooking up a storm with chef Carmelo . The meal included afresh aperitif , a vegetable dish featuring peas picked from Carmelo's garden , followed by pasta Norma and fresh white tuna . The piece de resistance was a crepe-like Sicilian dessert in a wonderful citrus sauce . Carmelo was a delight , as was the villa hostess Louisa , who also showed us around her attractive rental bedrooms . All that cooking produced prodigious appetites , and we did full justice to the morning's work ! Now that we are home in Canada we are working to try to produce Carmelo's magic here - still some distance to go . Highly recommended .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HHMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Britannia Cooking Classes also viewed

 
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Villa Britannia Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing