We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Isola Bella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Isola Bella
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice. It is great value. It has a view to die for of the island of isola bella. The pool was small but always quiet and relaxing.Beach is right across the road(stone beach...like most in Sicily) Breakfast in the hotel is more then adequate lots of fresh bread, cakes, yoghurts, eggs, fresh orange juice etc..we found it perfect. The rooms are small but are very clean, the house keeping is excellent. Rooms have air con, fridge and small balcony. There are a few restaurants and shops nearby if you wish to stay local but most nights we got the cable car which is about a ten minute walk from the hotel up to the town. Taormina itself is beautiful with a great atmosphere, loads of shops and a vast amount of restaurants to choose from. We loved this hotel it's a perfect place to stay for a reasonable rate. I would highly recommend a sea view or side view room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Limerick2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    124
    80
    24
    17
See reviews for
42
155
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a room overlooking the sea stunning views. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is buffet style with good coffee and goes on to a decent time. Overall very relaxing stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathKMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

stayed here in May 2012. Mixed weather so I never used the pool. Lovely quiet retreat a cable car ride away from the town of Taormina. Beach pebbled. Eateries reasonable prices. Excellent deli and supermarket which sells local wine. The hotel is situated in the rockface so a room at the front is essential. The pic is taken from higher up the rockface and is of the rear of the hotel. The view from the front rooms is beyond words, whatever the weather. Staff helpful and good English. Taxi to Taormina bus station is E12 if you are heading to the airport. Only complaints are the bathroom(cabinet) which is for hobbits. Also the bed (a single room) was extremely uncomfortable and hard. It is all about the view where you forget about everything else.

Room Tip: higher and front for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmionWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elvas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel , it is is location and view. The rooms are terrible , whit a mattress that you can't sleep. The swimming pool that in the picture looks fantastic, it is hidden in the back of the hotel ,whit no view. poor personal. In the morning there is only one person for breakfast and reception desk, at the same time, so you always needs to wait. I don't recomend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Magny-le-Hongre, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Taormina. The hotel is in a perfect location with a stunning view of Isola Bella. Our room was on the top floor as I had requested, and because of this, it was not too noisy. However, before arriving, I was under the impression that you could park our car outside the hotel but this was not the case. It’s on the busy coastal road and we had to leave our rental car in an awkward spot to check in because we arrived when everybody was at the beach. The staff took our car keys and later parked the car for us in a better spot (to their credit) but it made for an unpleasant surprise on arrival. The hotel is better if guests don’t have a car. It’s 5 mins walk from the funicular which takes you up to Taormina itself, very handy.

Room Tip: Definitely a room on the top floor and at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophdelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were a party of 5 & stayed at this hotel on 18 Oct 2012.
We found it really very clean, & fantastic value for money.
There are some stairs that could be a problem for some people , but there are lifts to all floors.
the breakast was very good & informal.
The views for the hotel are fantastic.
the staff are very friendly, i have stayed in 3star hotels before, but this was better than a lot of 4 star hotels that i have stayed in, will go back for sure some day.
We couldent find anything bad about this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
257 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you are visiting Taormina I suggest that you stay in the beach area and take the Funicular up for the afternoon/ evening (cost 4 euro each). The beaches in the area are beautiful, particularly the Isola Belle and this hotel is right above it. You do have to walk down a number of stairs to reach it. The hotel is also connected to the Lido Copacabana and have a shuttle to take you there.

The pool is also a very welcome retreat after being in the heat all day.

The hotel itself is fine, reception was good, very pleasant and helpful staff. Our room was not tiny, sea view is a must. I can't imagine looking out over the pool when the view of the water is so amazing. The bathroom is a bit small but overall the room was adequate. You are in it so little. They do have air con so you can close the window at night to keep out the noise.

Parking is a challenge, we had to park quite a way up the road and then moved it when all of the day visitors left.

The breakfast was extensive fresh squeezed OJ, soft boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, breads and made to order cappuccino.

All-in-all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripfoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#35 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
#3 of 4 in Mazzaro
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Mendolia Beach Hotel
#41 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Palace Hotel
Bay Palace Hotel
#58 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taormina Garden Hotel
Taormina Garden Hotel
#42 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isola Bella

Property: Hotel Isola Bella
Address: Via Nazionale 196, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isola Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Bella Hotel
Isola Bella Taormina
Hotel Isola Bella Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing