We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and poor service and a bit too far to walk into town in heat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were disappointed with our room which was pokey and dark and very noisy at night with lots of noisy children in the pool. Very little service of any kind and a lot of cigarette smoking by staff and other clients-even while we were eating breakfast -which was very basic anyway. Humph!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libbyhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 188 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for five nights as part of an AA Great Getaways break.

The hotel is situated in a residential area of the town, a 10-15 minute walk from the main shopping area. Facilities are basic, as are the rooms but they are a fairly decent size and reasonably clean. Minimal toiletries in the bathroom, which are sometimes not replenished. Some have partial sea views (east/south side of the hotel). No external noise as there is little activity in the neighbourhood. The Breakfasts are poor, however with a paucity of choice (no hot dishes and consist of predominantly sweet biscuits or savoury crackers/rice cakes. Coffee was good. The waitress almost set time limits on how long we could use our table (30 minutes before she arrives with an impatient look on her face!).

Small pool area but clean with some lovely views of the town and distant sea. A snack bar serves Italian food. As this is a family-run hotel the staff are friendly and hospitable.

The one important piece of advice I would give is arrange transportation before you depart home (either taxis or minibuses from the Airport). We hired a car from the airport and travelled to the town at night. If you do not have adequate maps or a Sat Nav you can/will get lost as the hotel is difficult to locate and the hotel car park is down a steep incline, some 50 metres from the building.

Overall if you like informal family-run establishments this will suit you.i

Room Tip: As mentioned east facing rooms offer the best views, the higher the floor the better. Bring your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbruce912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days and the staff were good. One spoke enough English to get by with and so this was useful when we needed anything/information.

Parking was fine, but tricky to get to by car, probably best leaving hiring of a car until you are leaving Taormina.
Swimming pool was nice, but deep. I could not go in comfortably being 5 foot 2" tall. (shallow end was approx 1.75m deep and deep end 2.5m)
The breakfasts (we stayed bed and breakfast) were poor. Considering the amount of fresh produce available everywhere, the hotel did not have any, apart from tomatoes and a few pears. Rest of breakfast consisted of biscuits and packaged items. It could have been so much better.

The family room we had was a good enough size and was cleaned daily, however the bedsheets in our bedroom were smelly always (sort of smell that occurs when sheets have not been dried properly before storeage) and our bathroom also had a lingering smell which would not go away.

There was a radio in the room which did not work and a TV which did work.

Apart from this a good place to stay within relatively easy reach of Taormina, approx 10-15 minutes walk down hill. Coming back was a lot more difficult due to the hill. At the bottom of the hill there was a lovely pasticcerie called L'amour, where a delicious icecream (or cakes) could be obtained to make the climb back easier.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beebad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2nights. Free parking, but you must walk down a 5mins hill to get your car there, maneuvering the car into the car park is a tricky ordeal! The location of the hotel is a good 10-15minute fast paced walk to Taormina town centre.The staff were lovely and the older lady owner was just adorable, not a word of English but we still managed to have a giggle and chat. No Wifi, except in the lobby and that didn't work very well. The bedroom was fine, pretty basic but it did have a nice terrace with amazing views. For the price we paid it was ideal.The front gate was locked after 10.30pm the nights we stayed and had to press a buzzer to get let in- it was like staying at somebodies house instead of a hotel! The pool was tiny and uninviting looking, although clean- we did not use it. As for the breakfast, I have to agree with a previous poster- it's not worth getting out of bed for. No fruit, no choice of anything and the bread was hard. It mainly consisted of sweet treats and two types of cereal. The lady who served us breakfast was kind and friendly and we thank her for her hospitality, along with Laura at the reception.Overall, it was a nice place to stay and for a 3* star hotel it is as good as they come! Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A room with a seaview is definately a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The rooms are quite small but are cleaned daily and fresh towels left each day. The aircon wasn't working properly so it was hard to get a goods nights sleep, as in July it was very hot at night. The pool again was small but very clean. Breakfast was included between 7.30 and 9.30 but in all honesty it really isn't worth getting up for crackers and stale bread. The staff were nice enough but not overly friendly and didn't bother to do anything about the aircon despite two requests. It's a bit of a walk up and down hills to centre of town too. We very much enjoyed our stay in Taormina and with a few small improvements this hotel would be really nice. The view from our room was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I spent two days in Taromina right after Christmas 2011 and stayed at the Andromaco Palace Hotel. We did not have a reservation when we arrived. Some hotels were closed for Christmas. We got really lucky when the Andromaco had room for us. The room was small but well appointed. Views were breathtaking. The staff was very friendly, professional, and English speaking. We arrived late at night and the staff welcomed us graciously. They provided good references on restaurants. There was an adorable little dog that hung out at the desk. Breakfast was great. Parking was tricky but we did have a place to park. It was December so we did not use the pool or access the beach. I did not look for a spa or exercise room. If you want a work out go run some of the wonderful hills. We had a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we stayed in this wonderful friendly hotel for a few days, the facilities were perfect, the staff were so friendly and accomodating, we would highly recommend the Andromaco,there was a lovely relaxing stroll into the town overlooking the beautiful sea

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbrisNenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#22 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#53 of 87 in Taormina
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#17 of 87 in Taormina
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromaco Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromaco Palace Hotel

Address: Via Gaetano Martino, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $95 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andromaco Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east coast of Sicily, the l'Andromao Palace Hotel has a hillside location in the picturesque town of Taormina. The Hotel offers rooms with beautiful view of the sea, easily accessible. The property open all year round and features a charming outdoor swimming pool with sunbeds and beach umbrellas, a bar, elegantly furnished lounges and private parking facilities. Due to its location, the property is the ideal place to discover Sicily's rich cultural and natural heritage. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, all rooms are furnished in a classical style and have private bathroom, hairdryer, TV sat, direct dial Telephone, heating, air conditioning, balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andromaco Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Andromaco Palace
Andromaco Palace Taormina
Andromaco Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing