We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most helpful hotel staff I have experienced”
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-upon-Humber, N Lincs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most helpful hotel staff I have experienced”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Condor for a week in July. We paid for a superior sea view room and were glad we did, it was very spacious and had air conditioning, a free to use safe and plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe.

The staff at Hotel Condor were very very helpful and friendly. One of the things we were particularly impressed with was the terrace where you go to eat breakfast. It had beautiful views and we went up there a couple of evenings and bought local wine from the bar (it is open until midnight and local wine is just 8 euros for a litre).

Very pleased - would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosieposie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    293
    70
    11
    4
See reviews for
127
367
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My favorite things about Hotel Condor: exceptional service, its location, and value. My friends and I stayed here for 5 nights, and from the moment we walked in, the staff at Hotel Condor offered great service. This included specific recommendations for activities and restaurants, which were good, helping us book excursions, and tips for public transportation. The hotel sits just above the busy center of Taormina, but within a short walking distance to everything we needed - the perfect combination. We had a small balcony off of our room (#33? #31?). Although our room was on the main floor, the room was relatively quiet; a door in the hall shut out most noise from the lobby area. The breakfast staff was attentive and prompt. The rooftop terrace was a nice place to enjoy the evenings. And, of the places we stayed on our 2-week trip, Hotel Condor was an exceptional bargain in price!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was in a convenient location - just minutes to the main corso Umberto. We could walk to everywhere we wanted and indeed, parked the car for 10 euro per day in a designated area about 300 m. away (taken there and returned by the courteous hotel staff) and never used it until we left. Our room was clean. It also had a nice view from the small balcony if you lifted your eyes to the distance, however, up close, lots of ugly concete and a satelite dish but the view was a little better from the rooftop balcony. We ate a buffet breakfast on the balcony and it was a great way to start the day.The family run hotel is 2 star but with 5 star service.They were very friendly, helpful and offered suggestions when we needed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was in a convenient location - just minutes from the city center. We could get every where we wanted in a short walk. Our room was clean and roomy compared to our other hotels. It also had a nice view, but the view was better from the rooftop balcony. We ate breakfast on the balcony and it was a great way to start the day. The service was prompt and helpful and the food was delicious. We also enjoyed the balcony in the evenings.

The best part of our stay was the hotel service. They were very friendly, knowledgeable and offered suggestions when we needed it. They were extremely helpful in planning our excursions. When we wanted to go to the beach, they booked us chairs and umbrella for 7.50 euro. This even included a shuttle ride to the beach! It was a great deal! They also had great restaurant recommendations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgirl308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We took the bus in from Catania (7.9 Euro one way - follow the exit and bus signs to a little booth). You will get off at the very last stop in Taormina. To walk out, take the exit by the little convenient store and turn left (you will be going Northwest). It is about a 1/2 mile walk uphill - you will pass a BNL bank and you keep going. Then you will pass the the main tourist street and take a right on Cappuccini (there is a restaurant called Carpe Diem on the left). The road will branch off a couple times, but stay to your left. The hotel is on your right and you walk down a few stairs to get to the reception.

We were on the bottom floor - room 65. There is only an ocean view if you get up on the little roof that is blocking your view. You have a little balcony, but be careful not to drop anything as the property below does not belong to the hotel.

The room and bathroom were good size and it had air conditioning and a safe.

The walls were really thin, however. We could hear the surrounding rooms do their daily routines, like putting on makeup (the clicking of containers on the counter), flushing, showering, walking, moving chairs, etc). So, that was kind of annoying. But, as it's away from town, in general, it was pretty quiet.

The staff is very friendly and breakfast had a bit more variety compared to many places I stayed.

The hotel talks about private and public beaches. But, know that they are the same beach. But if you pay for the private beach, it includes a chair and umbrella. It does not, however, include a locker. There is a walking path that takes you to the beach. They told us it took 20 minutes...but...an hour later...we were finally there. It is worth the 3 euros to take the tram (one way). When you arrive at the bottom, there is a staircase that takes you under the road to the beach - just fyi. We were confused for a while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Condor in Taormina. The hotel and rooms are in excellent condition - more like a 4 star hotel than 2 star. The staff were so helpful and recommended many delicious restaurants in Taormina. The hotel balcony had a beautiful view of the ocean and was an ideal setting for breakfast and afternoon drinks. Highly recommend this hotel and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_BMACD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is not a five star accommodation, but if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep, a breakfast and terrace to make you swoon, proprietors that treat you like their dearest family member, and a cost benefit ratio that can't be beat in Taormina you can't do better than The Condor. They have very nice rooms with terraces, but if you are like me and only need a comfortable place to sleep, and a pleasant setting and fit repast to start the day, save your money for gourmet meals, good drinks, and shopping, and go for the least expensive rooms. Uncle Phillipo and Marcello will make sure you are comfortable and will go out of their way to suggest restaurants, help with side trips, and insure you get the best deal available. Marcello arranged a full day side trip to Etna with a private driver and Mercedes that was the best excursion we had in Sicily. You have read the other reviews extolling the parking assistance, short walk to many sites and shopping, excellent breakfast, beautiful views, but to me the best part was the money saved by avoiding the Faux Five Star hotels with their real Five Star prices and enjoying genuine Sicilian hospitality at a reasonable price and sincere concern for your well being and holiday enjoyment.

The Condor is rated as Taormina's best inexpensive hotel in Frommer's 2011 Sicily travel guide, and starts its review with the prescient line "When it comes to value for money in a town where you pay for the air you breath, nothing tops this place." To this I say amen and add "save your money for better air."

Room Tip: Go for the lower rooms for the best price. After all you should be using the room as a place to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicoVTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 88 in Taormina
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#17 of 88 in Taormina
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#36 of 88 in Taormina
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Property: Hotel Condor
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condor Hotel, built on 1968, is owned by the Sparta-Longo family which made the ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Taormina in a warm familiar atmosphere. Its location is just 200 meters from the historical centre but away from the noise and the main traffic roads. The hotel is situated within 4 minutes walking distance to the cableway to the beach, the taxi station and within 8 minutes to the Greek-Roman Theatre, the Public Gardens, the panoramic Main Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Taormina
Hotel Condor Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing