We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic 2 Star Hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2 Star Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Taormina is not an easy destination to find value accommodation with a certain standard - thankfully we found Hotel Condor. The hotel is well looked after and maintained, and spotlessly clean. Parking is 10 Euros/day in a secure parking area as there is no nearby street parking. Our room #35, a sea view room was impeccably clean, and comfortable. I was very impressed with additional pillows provided in the closet that were clean and covered with a pillow protector. For a 2 star hotel, Kleenex was provided which was a surprise. The bathroom was very large, and the shower has plenty of hot water. The in-room safe was the largest of any of our accommodation. We had a balcony with 2 chairs that we were able to enjoy with a sea view however you are set back in the hillside and overlooking a parkade in the foreground but the view of the sea is very nice. The location is ideal as it is a short 10 minute walk through the historical gate to the Corso. Breakfast was simple with a croissant and rolls but the cappuccinos more than made up for it. The staff are charming, considerate and helpful and it is a family hotel. I don't know the name of the older gentleman that worked reception, but he is very caring and kind, a highlight of our interactions at the hotel. I highly, highly recommend Hotel Condor and if we returned to Taormina, this would be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    285
    70
    11
    4
See reviews for
125
362
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very close to all the historic sites AND the tourist shopping area, this small hotel rewards the driver who can find it with inviting warmth and an attentive staff. Parking is an additional 10 euro/day if you don not want to risk your car on the narrow streets but the room prices are so reasonable that the parking fee is painless. I am writing this in Room 53 which has a nice ocean view from the small balcony. The bathroom has only a shower, but there is plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Great family run hotel. We arrived by bus. Easy to find, but bit of a hill. Well worth the walk as breakfast on the Terrence includes the most incredible view of the sea and city. Plus, homemade peach tiramisu by family member. Little grocery store down the street for snacks and water. We had quad room, very spacious for European standards. Great find and front staff were so helpful and very welcoming to us. Great place for good night sleep and breakfast. The city is explored on foot, very little time spent at hotel, but exceeded our expectations for 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Condor, we had a sea view room with a balcony, which provided an amazing view of one of the most amazing thunder storms I have ever seen! In the morning the sun came out to show a spectacular sea view.

The staff were friendly, giving us good advice on all the sites we could see in the town, and helping with a trip up Etna (which unfortunately the tour company had to cancel due to the weather, but I can't blame the hotel for that). The hotel is a short walk (10 mins max) from the main part of the town, but if you can walk 10 mins then thats no problem

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had a very enjoyable four-night stay at Hotel Condor in April 2012. I had a corner room with a small balcony that overlooked the sea - lovely view and nice place to sit and relax! The room (a double) was a very good size and very clean. The bathroom on the small size but perfectly adequate with a shower cubicle and its own window. It too was very clean. The breakfast on the terrace each morning was a great way to start the day. The location I thought was very good - just a few minutes' walk into the heart of Taormina and all the shops etc. Ilaria and Marcello at the front desk were very helpful and friendly - and spoke English when my limited Italian failed me! Very nice hotel and very good value for money in a town that can be very expensive. Another great thing about this place is it's just down the road from Pasticceria d'Amore, which I found to have the best cannoli in all of Taormina. Yum!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idlebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a great visit to Taormina and a great stay at the Hotel Condor. As mentioned by many reviews the location is perfect - an easy walk to the shops and restaurants and the area where breakfast is served has an amazing view. The breakfast is very good and offers many options. The room was compact and had everything I needed. The staff is very friendly and very helpful with questions and directions. The parking offered by the hotel is reasonably priced and very convenient. The value was great for this hotel. Try it out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the "Dependance", a two-bedroom, one-bath apartment 30 metres from the front door of the hotel.

The approach to the Condor is pretty exciting in a rental car. Brace yourselves for that final turn through the Arco dei Cappuccini, and be prepared to back up, squeeze by, and pull in your mirrors at times. Having a parking spot when you get there is a huge plus, and very reasonably priced, given the land pressures in Taormina.

I can't say enough about Ilaria, Filippo (sp?) and Marcello. From the moment of our arrival, they were welcoming, helpful, and fun. Filippo was neverendingly patient with our attempts to speak Italian.

The apartment was okay for our needs. Pluses: great price for a party of four, a washing machine, a pleasant balcony with a great view, a sitting room/kitchenette/dining table combination, and easy access to the hotel. Minuses: when we arrived, there were four lamps burned out, the kitchen garbage had not been emptied, and the sitting room floor was a bit grimy. The hotel wifi does not reach the apartment. The sitting room is at street level, with windows convenient for all passersby. And the folks upstairs (about 149 of them, based on noise levels) live life with gusto, 24 hours a day, in hard-soled shoes. Earplugs are recommended.

The hotel itself was very pleasant. The rooftop deck is absolutely spectacular. You can relax there at any time, enjoying an astonishing view. Or you can stroll to all the highlights of Taormina within 15 minutes on foot.

The included breakfast, served on the deck, is generous and varied.

The hotel offers an amazing deal for beach access. 7 euros buys you a return trip to the SoleLuna beach via prompt, courteous shuttle, plus all-day access to a "beach club" -- beach beds, umbrellas, washrooms, change rooms, and an excellent restaurant to buy lunch. The beach is cobble, the water crystal clear and a lovely temperature, even in October. Highly recommended for a day when you feel like vegging out.!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#19 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Property: Hotel Condor
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condor Hotel, built on 1968, is owned by the Sparta-Longo family which made the ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Taormina in a warm familiar atmosphere. Its location is just 200 meters from the historical centre but away from the noise and the main traffic roads. The hotel is situated within 4 minutes walking distance to the cableway to the beach, the taxi station and within 8 minutes to the Greek-Roman Theatre, the Public Gardens, the panoramic Main Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Taormina
Hotel Condor Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing