We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Condor. This time with my wife, mother and mother in law. The mother in law and mother shared an apartment and we had a room with the view. The apartment was perfect. Our was not quite right and before we knew it,they moved us to a better room. All the staff are so helpful. The rooms are pretty good and the hotel is not a 2 * more like a 4 *.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    294
    70
    11
    4
See reviews for
128
367
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in the Condor Hotel for one week in September.What a find, it was a lovely hotel. A few minutes walk took you down to the Corsa Umberto where you can find all the designer shops and lovely bars and restaurant. The hotel itself has a bar on the Roof of the Hotel and you have a beautiful view if you fancy a drink after you mieal in the town, its lovely to come back to the hotel and relax over a drink. Marchello and his family help make our holiday one to remember. WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and brother in September. This hotel was PERFECT for our 10 day holiday in Taormina. Rooms were clean, breakfast was delicious, staff/owners are friendly and accomidating. The view from the hotel terrace is breathtaking.

Room Tip: there were three of us that stayed in the suite. large rooms with 2 bathrooms. perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy5727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in September.

The hotel is located in a quieter part of town, but a mere 3 or 4 minute walk downhill to the Corsa Umberto, the main street in Taormina. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk uphill from the Bus Terminal, and with light luggage is an easy walk. However as we had heavy luggage with us and took a taxi which cost €10 - a bit of a rip off for such a short journey.

The accommodation itself is basic but more than acceptable. Considering the luggage we had with us, there was more than enough room. The bathroom was basic, but plenty of room. The shower had good pressure and there was always hot water. We didn't have a balcony, but had a great view over Taormina and the bay below. My only issue with the room was everytime I left the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door in the mornings so that the cleaners would not come in, they still knocked on the door to see if I wanted the room cleaned. The sign should be enough to tell them to stay away.

Breakfast was included in our package and was more than enough to set us up for the day. It consisted of bread rolls, crackers, biscuits, croissaints, coffee, juices, cakes, eggs etc. We always felt full until late afternoon. Breakfast is served on the terrace, and the view is amazing. There is a higer up terrace, and we spent a coupld of evenings out here drinking wine we purchased in the town, and eating some of the amazing Sicilian Cannolis which can be found in many of the pastry shops in the town.

In a town that is quite expensive, Hotel Condor was a great find. It is basic, but clean, comfortable and friendly. We are not ones to spend much time in a hotel room - if we were, this would not really be the place to stay. However, for our needs it was perfect and we would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 8 nights in September. Hotel is located in a quiet spot but at the same time very close to town center and bus station. The staff and owners are very friendly - I kept getting mosquito bites and was offered anti mosquito cream and even a different room if we wanted. They also provide a nice (and free) breakfast on the terrace with beautiful views. Rooms have good internet connection. Would definitely recomment if you are looking for good value and convenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed three nights in September and found the hotel warm and friendly. As others have mentioned, the hotel rates in Taormina are resort prices. I found The Condor on the Venere website and double checked it on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a bit up the hill and some of the rooms and showers are small, however the hotel was everything we needed for our visit.
Ilaria and her husband could not have been more pleasant and welcoming. They provided several great suggestions for meals, beaches and site seeing. Any question or request was handled personally and professionally. The couple made our stay all the better. We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I and a friend booked at the hotel over the phone and because we explained that we would like separate rooms we were offered an apartment at the same price as a double room. The offer seeemed too good to be true but when we arrived we were thrilled to see that the apartment had a bathroom, kitchen and lounge with two large double rooms, each with its own balcony with a sea view. All was spotlessly clean and cleaned every day. It's a short walk from the town centre in a quiet area. Excellent value - the proprietors could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 87 in Taormina
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#17 of 87 in Taormina
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#37 of 87 in Taormina
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Property: Hotel Condor
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condor Hotel, built on 1968, is owned by the Sparta-Longo family which made the ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Taormina in a warm familiar atmosphere. Its location is just 200 meters from the historical centre but away from the noise and the main traffic roads. The hotel is situated within 4 minutes walking distance to the cableway to the beach, the taxi station and within 8 minutes to the Greek-Roman Theatre, the Public Gardens, the panoramic Main Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Taormina
Hotel Condor Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing