We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveler rating
330
153
88
64
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
330
153
88
64
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isola bella cable car offering massages nice resort sea view beach resort hotel guests stunning location lounge chairs bungalow jacuzzi tubs privacy pebbles garden steps maitre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 715 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We loved our time at La Plage from the moment we walked in the front doors. The service was outstanding, and our room was perfect. We loved the easy access to the beautiful private beach with a view of Isola Bella. The service from the beach bar staff was outstanding. We really enjoyed spending days in the sun, reading, enjoying cocktails, and having a delicious lunch delivered right to our lounge chairs. The rooms are clean and well-maintained. The location is perfect for relaxing days at the beach, and it's very easy to make your way up to the actual town of Taormina via the funicular. It's a 10 or less minute walk to where the funicular is, and then easy to access the main town from there. We did find "heavy traffic" moments even though we were not there in peak season. We managed to spot a shuttle bus that runs from the lower level up to the main town that helped us skip the funicular queue one evening. And a taxi from the top down to La Plage is only about 20 euro. There aren't many luxury resorts in Sicily which probably explains some of the other reviews saying that the value for the price isn't what they expected. La Plage is a little more pricey than most places in Sicily, but relative to the other options, it's the best. The breakfast was also lovely with fresh, local ingredients and plenty of options. We would definitely stay at La Plage Resort again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Autumn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRagostaHotels, Responsabile reception at La Plage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It is nice to read that you loved your experience at La Plage Resort, not only for the unbelievable view and position of the hotel: in a natural reserve in front of Isola Bella island, but also for the delicious meals you had, especially for breakfast full of Sicilian fresh products.
Thank you for your comments related to our staff that work every day to make your stay unique, for the services we have at La Plage Resort and for our position so close to the cable car and Taormina city center.
Looking forward to welcoming you back home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a week in late September and stayed in a sea view bungalow with a jacuzzi. The cost was close to $1000 per night and so we had high expectations. We were disappointed. On arrival, we discovered the hotel had very steep stairs which made it very difficult because one of us is not as physically mobile as the other. I cannot see how anyone with any sort of mobility issue, even a minor one, could readily manage this place. The attached photo represents less than half the stairs and there are no hand rails.
The bungalow, itself, is designed so that the only window opens onto your neighbour. This means there is no view, whatsoever, from the bungalow. So calling it a sea view room is quite misleading. The free WiFi is also misleading because it doesn’t work for at least half the time. It was quite frustrating as you had to re-enter all of the log in details each time. The bungalow is very small and really needs a renovation. The tiles in the shower area are stained and ugly and the hairdryer was broken. Most days we could not even get hot water for a shower.
The private beach is managed by a man called Salvo who was quite the bully. He didn’t listen to where you wanted to be but simply waved his arm at you. We also had an issue with him because we availed and ourselves of a massage on the beach. There are many many hawkers on the beach and the hotel tolerates them. During a massage, Salvo came up and started yelling at us, yet we were only guests. It was a very demeaning experience. When we made a complaint about him we were met with a gratis bottle of prosecco and that was meant to be the end of it.
I would also not recommend the jacuzzi as I ended up with two skin infections.
Some of the staff are friendly but there are many others who are just rude or don’t seem to be bothered with their guests, they seemed dismissive of inquiries.
Definitely not a place to recommend. Spend your money elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank StaceyDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRagostaHotels, Responsabile reception at La Plage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Mrs Stacey,
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that you had some difficulties during your stay.
Regarding the steps, if you would had need assistance to reach the entrance, we could have put at your disposal our golf car instead of making the steps. And also, we are sorry to read that you didn't like the bungalow that's our characteristic and peculiar room type: the bungalows and the whole Resort are renovating every winter (during the closing time).
We are sorry for the incomprehension you had with our staff, as per our conversation we had in the lovely garden of your room, we do not allow the massage lady not part of our Spa staff to make massages in our private beach of the La Plage Resort, sorry for the misunderstanding.
We are sorry to read that in the end, after our conversation in the afternoon, and your thanks the day after for the lovely dinner you had at the Fusion Restaurant with the prosecco we sent you in the room, you left the La Plage Resort disappointed.
Always at your complete disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Nice location, sea view, better to chose the bungalow, nice breakfast, clean, most of the staff helpful and friendly, beach reserved to the guest, nice the bar on the beach, easy connection to the city center.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank marcobuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRagostaHotels, Responsabile reception at La Plage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.
It is great to read that you loved the location, the view, the breakfast, the staff and the natural reserve.
It is nice to read that you had no difficulty in reaching the city center considering that we are no more than 200m walking form the cable car station (very helpful!).
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

The photos were beautiful when we booked for a 2 nights stay! We even booked a second room for my daughters 25 th birthday!
What a dissapointment when we came i to the rooms and they were tiny beach cabanas made of stone .being circular there is very little space for a room and a bathroom and basically the only light getting in is through the door , which has a wooden frame , which you have to open! Gardenview???? Where and how with a closed door , which should be the window and looking onto other cabanas? Seaview? Even worse because it is still a cabana and you cant look out!
All this would be okay if the room would be half the price ! But prices are outrageous!
I guess it is because of the location which is of course unique and beautiful! But basically even the guests of the hotel have to go to the beach to appriciate it, so why stay here. On top, the railway is just behind the hotel and the train passes regulary at high speed! Reception staff are very sweet and kind ! Beach bar service not ! At all!
But this does not help the fact that the idea of cabanas does not work at all ! Who wants to stay in a dark cabana without light when the view is the most exquisite part of this hotel!
Breakfast is okay for the price although , why on earth there is no fresch orange juice in the country od oranges, goes over my knolwedge!
Sunbeds on the beauch are from1950!!! If you like vintage , great , i like comfort!
The walk to the beach takes you through the whole hotel every time , although there are direct entries to the beach why they are all closed??
We left today for another hotel further down the coast , and really looking forward to wake up to light and view!!
What a pity!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank vivianborsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRagostaHotels, Responsabile reception at La Plage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor, and thank you for your nice comments related to the reception staff, related to the marvelous and unique view of Isola Bella and for the breakfast.
Regarding the orange juice, allow us to inform you that we make fresh juice every day that we serve at every guest that asks for it.
We are sorry that you did not like the bungalows that are our characteristics and that are famous for their round shape and we are sorry that you had not the possibility to experience the La Plage Resort in its proper way.
Consider us at your complete disposal if you would like to come for a next stay to discuss everything in advance, so that we could choose together the best accommodation according to your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Every year we come down to Isola Bella, several days/nights while we are staying in Taormina. We used to enjoy our cappuccinos and mojitos in the La Plage bar, with its elegant seating and view over the sea. A year or so back they introduced a cover charge for non/residents which I was happy to pay. The area was comfortably empty to moderately used.

This year, however, our annual haunt was refused to us, and available for hotel guests only. We were shunted round to an adjacent area, second class, nothing like as nice as the area we are used to sitting in.

The “residents only” area was completely empty. I mentioned the cover charge, which I was again happy to pay, but the waitress pretended not to understand.

So we will never visit La Plage again.

Gerald

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank GeraldG821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffRagostaHotels, Responsabile reception at La Plage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Guests,
thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to know that as our “repeaters” you chose once more La Plage Resort, and we are really sorry to read that you considered the assigned location as “second class” considering that Beach Service, Fusion Restaurant, Bar are at disposal also of all external guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time at info@laplageresort.com, in order to organize again your “welcome back”!




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews