We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously perfect”
Review of Casa Cuseni B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Cuseni B&B
Ranked #15 of 115 Taormina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ridiculously perfect”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lucky you! You're thinking of going to Taormina and you've stumbled across the best B&B ever so delay no further and book it now. This is the place that you've always wanted to find. We'd been there 15 minutes before we were planning our return. Can they host weddings? Neither of us is currently engaged but that's hardly the point. It's perfectly located a short walk above the tourist hoards of busy Taormina. Yes there are a few steps but Taormina is built up high and besides, you'll need to burn all that gelato off. The whole place is just so tasteful. Enjoy a beautiful sunset sat on the balcony over looking Etna. Got a question to ask? Here - take a seat - and have a cold drink and some fresh ripe cherries whilst we make that phone call for you. There's even a dove hanging around just to make it ridiculously perfect.

The service was wonderful. Throughly recommended. Thanks Casa Cuseni!

From Wright 1 and Wright 2.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
86
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Casa Cuseni was like stepping into a weekend with Cole Porter and Gertrude Lawrence. The hotel is an elegent, if rustic, villa of old money elegence and antiques. Francesco treated us as if we were personal guests of his. The room was huge with both a balcony and terrace, each with breath-taking views. The hilly grounds are a spread of fruitttrees, wild flowers and flora and fauna of all kinds. The plentiful breakfast on the veranda was served with impeccable hospitality. Do the valet parking - worth the extra money. It couldn't have been a more welcoming and delightful time. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Corner suite has a balcony and a veranda, sunny and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I chose Taormina and Casa Cuseni as our honeymoon destination and we do not think we could have made a better choice! The house (really a villa) itself was wonderful, full of antiquities, fabulous artisan furniture and other objects from the previous owners, English artist Robert Kitson and writer Daphne Phelps. Part of the house is in fact a museum, featuring a room with frescos and furniture by Frank Brangwyn. And the garden – full of fruit trees, ponds with fish and a turtle, lots of flowers – all laid out on the slopes around the house! When we visited in June, we saw ripe lemons, mandarins, oranges, plums, apricots, loquats; there were also almond, pistachio and many other trees. It was picture-perfect! Our point of view has been apparently shared by others, as there were several books, titled “The Gardens of Sicily”, etc scattered across the house, featuring photos of the house and the garden of Casa Cuseni.

Our entire stay was made special by the very sociable and caring hosts: Francesco, Mimma, and Turi. A few examples: we were offered a prosecco with fresh fruit upon arrival, a few days later a private tour of the house museum and the collections. Francesco woke up early on the day of our Etna excursion to offer us full breakfast, although we would have been fine with just some cereals and milk!

A few more words about the breakfast are appropriate here. The breakfast was plentiful, with a choice of cereals, milk, cheeses, salami, prosciutto, various kinds of fresh bread, yoghurt, fruit juice, water, butter cookies, different kinds of jam (including one from the garden) and coffee/tea. Francesco is an excellent barista and his cappuccino was to us without a doubt the best one we tasted in Taormina!

Our room – the Daphne Phelps room – was on the second floor. We really liked the balcony with a fantastic view of the Etna and the Bay of Naxos and our en-suite bathroom with a bath. The bed was comfortable. There was A/C in the room, although we did not use it during our stay (it was still not that warm).

And as a final note: if you have time, do read the “House in Sicily” by Daphne Phelps before you go! It sure gave us a better idea about the house and its story prior to getting there. However, the memoirs of Daphne Phelps do not necessarily tell the entire story - there are stories left unmentioned in the book that you can only learn when you visit Casa Cuseni yourself!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainerK265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

OMG OMG! Isn't that what everyone says these days when they're blown away by something or someone?

The opened and I walked into the most incredible room, filled with antiques and paintings that would normally be found in art galleries. You fling open these narrow French doors and step onto the tiny balcony to have your breath taken away by this amazing view. The harbour and ocean spread out before you and are dotted with sailing vessels of all shapes and sizes. Mt Etna rises to your right and I could just make out some snow to the right.

The wonderful garden that was established years ago is undergoing a refurb but is lovely to walk around where you can see bougainvillea in flower along with wisteria, roses and Australian natives. The garden is tiered from front to back with many stairs, but you wouldn't want to miss anything, the ponds, sculptures and paving. Ask about a tour of the gardens and house, it is filled with extraordinary works of art and history.

The house is a credit to those who work there and obviously care deeply about it. Thank you to Francesco, Salvatore, Mimma and staff, we could have stayed in any accommodation that you can find anywhere in the world but none as unique as Casa Cuseni, a memory that will stay with us forever.

Room Tip: The junior Suite had the most amazing views you could wish for. The balcony with its wrought iron b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissy4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited Casa Cuseni as a museum and historical garden. What a place and the idea that you could stay here, where Garbo, Oscar Wilde, Tennessee Williams, Henry Moore and many other luminaries stayed... is just mind-boggling. The house feels like they are still there. We had lunch on the outside terrace overlooking the hillside, the ocean and Mt. Etna with the sunshine and sea breeze coming up the hill. What a fabulous venue! The gardens are well worth a walk. They lead in all sorts of directions with all sorts of hidden alcoves, beautiful plantings, fountains and pools. The home that Robert Hawthorne Kitson created with personally made furniture and his artwork, in addition to the artwork of others, emanates a sense of calm and great artistry. Whether you stay there or visit, it's a special place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Relatively easy to find from the motorway, parking was made easy by the valet service.
The location is ideal, with stunning views over the bay and towards Etna whilst being a short walk from Corso Umberto.
We had the Picasso room which was a suite consisting of a large bedroom with balcony, modern en-suite (but in an old style) and kitchenette. The kitchenette wasn't up to the standard of the rest of the suite and the less said about the state of the fridge the better. However, everything else was very good indeed.
The bed was comfortable, the location quiet, and sleep quality good.
Breakfast was served on the terrace downstairs, good but not exceptional.
All in all, a privilege to stay in this historic building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Casa Cuseni. Mimma and Francesco were SO accommodating and friendly (Francesco even parked my car for me when it was obvious that the crazy American was NOT going to fit in the tiny Italian garage) and the house is absolutely gorgeous. Where else can you stay in a MUSEUM?? They had original Picassos on the wall and an autographed copy of The Glass Menagerie, dedicated to the previous owner, Daphne Phelps, during one of Tennessee Williams' many stays there. Where else can you use the same spoon for your cappuccino as Greta Garbo once did? Hey, Francesco might have been pulling my leg on that, but he was right when he said he made one of the best cups of cappuccino in Sicily! Seriously, though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Cuseni. I could have spent days just in the library or outside in the gardens. This was the highlight of our trip and even my sometimes-grumpy husband said that he had a fantastic time and could have easily spent the entire vacation at Casa Cuseni. While the other hotels we stayed at in Sicily were all beautiful, nothing compared to our stay here at Casa Cuseni. It was like staying with family (only, really COOL relatives).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geopchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 87 in Taormina
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuseni B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuseni B&B

Property: Casa Cuseni B&B
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci N. 7, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cuseni B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cuseni B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cuseni B&B Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing