We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Cuseni B&B
Nearby Hotels
$316
$280
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$232
$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$508
$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$413
$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
$133
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
$218
$186
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Taodomus(Taormina)
$231
$219
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$448
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$1,603
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$922
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
140
22
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdaphne phelpshistoric housepicasso roomantique furniturefamous artistsdeep loveart collectionmt etnabalcony overlooking the oceanfaded grandeurbreathtaking viewswonderful hostshome away from homejunior suitefrancescogardensteps
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 165 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent a week in Taormina in October at Casa Cuseni, a place well known to our family and one we had waited years to visit. Originally built in the early part of the century by British watercolorist Robert Kitson, Casa Cuseni provides a stunning vantage point above the main part of town with glorious views of the sea, Mt Etna, and Taormina - Lovely in the morning, beautiful during the day, mesmerizing at sunset.

The proprieters Franco and Mimma are exceedingly gracious and helpful (Mimma's English is a bit better). Leave yourself some time to hear about the history of this establishment from Franco and Tori including stories of Mr Kitson, his friends and guests, as well as time to enjoy the art collections, architecture and garden. Endless time could be spent experiencing the treasures of this incredible museum-home and garden.

The rooms and terraces are beautiful, as are the gardens that the owners are working hard to restore to their original splendor. Choose a terrace for a nice bottle of Nero d'avola and some cheese in the afternoon before heading out to dinner. There are a lot of good restaraunts in town, but have at least one dinner in - Mimma is a wonderful cook and enjoying the splendor of the Brangwyn designed dining room is something to be experienced!

Breakfast upstairs is a lovely way to begin the day and Franco makes some mean (meaning very good) coffee to prepare you for a day of strolling the town, up to Castelmola - if you need a bit of exercise - or perhaps relaxing in one of the quiet garden terraces with a good book or tray of watercolors.

For us, Casa Cuseni will be a place we return to again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and beautifully appointed with antiques, artwork and have lovely views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kstreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Casa Cuseni was the highlight of our Sicily trip. A beautiful place, unmatchable views, lovely hosts and in a great spot. 100% recommendation. Breakfast was lovely and we got a great run through of the really fascinating history of the B&B. Wonderful

Room Tip: Picasso! All of the rooms seem to have a view and a terrace
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel_Maitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After a long day hiking at mountain Etna, I returned my temporary home in Taormina: Casa Cuseni. Upon entering the dining room, the current owner of the casa Franco was writing a book on the first owner of this house, Robert Hawthorn Kitson. Franco invited me for a cup of tea, and the tea set we used are exactly the same one Robert Hawthorn Kitson used almost a century ago. Turi, the manager of Casa Cuseni was busy showing a group of curious guests the treasures in the adjacent salon. In the mean time ,there is a book called "a house in sicily" waiting for me in my room, it was written by Casa Cuseni's second owner, Daphne Phelps, niece of Robert Hawthorn Kitson.

This is an ordinary evening of Casa Cuseni, a B&B, which i'd rather say, is a living museum.
The next morning, during the breakfast on the balcony overlooking the Ionia sea and Mountain Etna, I asked another guest Mary Kay from Seattle how she found out this place, she said she read "a house in sicily' by Daphne and decided that she had to stay at Casa Cuseni one day." It is a classic!" she added. I don't know Daphne Phelps's book before I checked into this B&B, but I can't wait to read this book now! This is the magic part about Casa Cuseni, you either come with a story, or leave with one.

BTW, have I mentioned that my room was once occupied by Greta Garbo?

Turi, thanks so much for showing me around the house and the town. It is a great education!!!

Franco, good luck with your Kitson book and I can't wait to read it one day...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maotouzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in this historical house (part of it a museum) for 3 nights in september 2012. The room we used (Pablo Picasso), has its own kitchen and bathroom, so we avoided sharing with the other guests. The view from the room and the terrace on top of the house is stunning, overlooking the city, bay and providing a good look at mount Etna.
The location is a 4 minute walk uphill from the Piazza Duomo, meaning it is far enough away from the main street to be quiet during the night. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. When visiting Toarmina this place comes recommended.

Room Tip: Only the 2 biggest rooms (Pablo Picasso and Daphne Phelps)have their own bathrooms, the other rooms have to share. If available, spend the extra money and spring for one of these rooms to have a bit more privacy
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller1Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights 24/25 September 2012 - warm welcome, owners passion for the house and its history was wonderful - felt like house guest and honoured to be able to experience a stay in the house, Rooms, breakfast, gardens,views, service and hospitality all special. A well placed location and found the house easily when navigating Toarmini in our hired car.
Hope to be back some day! Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews