We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Italian Hotel just lacking finesses”
Review of Hotel Villa Riis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Riis
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Bideford, Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Hotel just lacking finesses”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Villa Riis is perfectly located at the top of the Corso Umberto, a 2 minute walk to the main street. I booked a single and was pleasantly surprised to be given a rather large double on the top floor, what I imagine to be one of the better rooms, I suspect this was because they were very quiet as June is classed out of season. The staff were friendly if a little reserved but seemed genuine and whilst they lack the typical in your face bright smile typical hotel service approach, its not necessarily a bad thing. The hotel itself is a very beautiful both building and interior with amazing views over the Mazzuro coast, yes it in need of some TLC but it does have a certain charm. However, breakfast is bad, they desperately need to address this, I went down on the first of 4 mornings and didn't bother again. The swimming pool was empty all week, i spent a couple of hours there on my last day and like everything else a bit of TLC and it could be even better but the pool is clean, there are sunbeds and towels and its serenely peaceful. Overall my stay was pleasant, not amazing but I have seen and stayed in worse places. There are some low budget quick wins to be made at Villa Riis ( breakfast, sweep round the pool, lighting) to attract more clientele to then pay for the bigger investment required. Don't rule out Villa Riis

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    22
    35
    81
See reviews for
47
111
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have returned from a 5 night stay here and overall thought this hotel ticked the main boxes. It was close to the centre, was quiet and had great views. it also had a decent sized pool and tennis court. The hotel is dated and it does feel like you have gone back in time but we kind of liked that ( although I know not everyone would). The rooms have great views but are dated with small areas of disrepair however we negotiated a good price when we arrived. Breakfast is poor and they wouldn't need to do much to improve it but I found all the staff friendly and helpful. I am not sure why this is a 4 star but you could pay more for a smaller room with worse views in Taormina. I think the owners have given up a little which is shame as this hotel could be so much more with its position and views. Would only recommend if you are not too fussed about decor and happy with a below par breakfast but like great views and a large, quiet swimming pool all very close to the centre!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed 3 days at Villa Riis, I don't know why they called it "Hotel" and more.. 4 stars!!!! maybe this is a four stars just for the owner and the staff and that's all! We arrived in the afternoon and there was a girl that coludn't speak english, very bad! She can do nothing. anywhere.. We took the room and we had a surprise: a room on the third floor with a fantastic view but old furniture, old bathroom, like 30 years ago and no cleaning, dust under the bad and in the armchair. Poor breakfast. it seems like a ghost Hotel, you see nobody walking or swimming in the pool, Just the staff. We never never never will come back to villa Riis. I really suggest to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lochner h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Villa Riis for 2 days and then we visited Siracusa and Noto, after which we decited to come back to charming and amazing Taormina. Thus, we camed back to Villa Riis and enjoyed 2 other days with them, having the nice surprise to receive an upgrade from a room with a sea view to an apartment, for the same price.
Very charming and surprisingly quite being so close to the main street with all it'a fuzz.
Amaising view with panorama!
They also have a pool, but at the begining of May the water was to cold.
Overall, the best thing about Villa Riis is it's location and the view. We will definitly stay there when we come back to Taormina.
The prices where a bit high, but this aplies for Taormina in general, and the cost-benetifs balance was good after all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviaandmarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Riis Hotel for 3 days, and I really enjoyed.
I think the hotel is beautiful and particular, since It was an old palace and the rooms and suites all renovated, have the neoclasic style, Barocco .., I love it.. Then the position is very good, 10 mt from the city centre and the view from the rooms is stunning, wonderful. All rooms have a balcony with this stunning view. Then the staff is excellent, multilingual, very kind, helpful, funny and above all professional.
The cleaning and the breakfast are good. Thanks to all the Villa Ris Staff that made our stay very pleasable!! I will come back and I really suggest to everybody to stay at Villa Riis.
The hotel is a terrace over the ocean in one side and the Etna in the other one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khor, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Villa Riis is a preciuous Hotel, good location and fashioned old style. They have to improve breakfast, it's not good at all and cleaning in the rooms. Nice Sara!! She's a really beautiful person that helps you for everything you ask, she speak perfect english, she helped us in the excursions too cause she speaks arabic and we thank her sooo much! We'll probably come back next year. Taormina was a dream came true!

Room Tip: sea and etna view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hashan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is not worthy of its stylish surroundings. The hotel is old and dirty. The bedrooms are dated without modern furniture. The hot water is switched off at night so that it is impossible to have a hot shower after a late evening out.
The cost of this hotel would be comparable to the cost of a five star in many locations but this hotel is at best a 2 star hotel. The television did not work. there was no internet. The bathrooms were so dated that the tiles will soon be collector antiques for students of cultural studies examining 1970's cheap tiles.
The hotel was absolutely awful and potential guests need to be aware that they will feel aggrieved with the service they receive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vnonyelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#61 of 88 in Taormina
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#55 of 88 in Taormina
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#27 of 88 in Taormina
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.2 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#59 of 88 in Taormina
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Riis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Riis

Property: Hotel Villa Riis
Address: Via Pietro Rizzo 13 | Sicilia, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Riis 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vill Riis is a 4 - star , Baroque style hotel in the real centre on Taormina, only 10 meters from the main avenue Corso Umberto. All rooms are facing the Golf of Taormina and the lovely, always green park and on the right one can enjoy the view of the Mount Etna. Clients can enjoy an amazing sunset on the hotel's terrace while taking a sip of the local wines and listening the relaxing music.During the hot days our clients can refresh themselves in the outdoor swimming pool or they can simply relax by the pool or in the pool-bar. For the lovers of active holidays there is a tennis court which is surrounded by the trees and so offers a refreshing shadow while one is playing. Hotel Villa Riis collaborates with the City of Taormina and the Taormina Art so we are always informed about what is going on in Taormina and we keep informed also our clients by apdating our web site each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Riis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riis Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Riis Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing