We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, very quiet and charming”
Review of Hotel Villa Riis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Riis
Ranked #77 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
1 review
“Great view, very quiet and charming”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Villa Riis for 2 days and then we visited Siracusa and Noto, after which we decited to come back to charming and amazing Taormina. Thus, we camed back to Villa Riis and enjoyed 2 other days with them, having the nice surprise to receive an upgrade from a room with a sea view to an apartment, for the same price.
Very charming and surprisingly quite being so close to the main street with all it'a fuzz.
Amaising view with panorama!
They also have a pool, but at the begining of May the water was to cold.
Overall, the best thing about Villa Riis is it's location and the view. We will definitly stay there when we come back to Taormina.
The prices where a bit high, but this aplies for Taormina in general, and the cost-benetifs balance was good after all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviaandmarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    59
    22
    35
    81
See reviews for
49
112
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Riis Hotel for 3 days, and I really enjoyed.
I think the hotel is beautiful and particular, since It was an old palace and the rooms and suites all renovated, have the neoclasic style, Barocco .., I love it.. Then the position is very good, 10 mt from the city centre and the view from the rooms is stunning, wonderful. All rooms have a balcony with this stunning view. Then the staff is excellent, multilingual, very kind, helpful, funny and above all professional.
The cleaning and the breakfast are good. Thanks to all the Villa Ris Staff that made our stay very pleasable!! I will come back and I really suggest to everybody to stay at Villa Riis.
The hotel is a terrace over the ocean in one side and the Etna in the other one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khor, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Villa Riis is a preciuous Hotel, good location and fashioned old style. They have to improve breakfast, it's not good at all and cleaning in the rooms. Nice Sara!! She's a really beautiful person that helps you for everything you ask, she speak perfect english, she helped us in the excursions too cause she speaks arabic and we thank her sooo much! We'll probably come back next year. Taormina was a dream came true!

Room Tip: sea and etna view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hashan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is not worthy of its stylish surroundings. The hotel is old and dirty. The bedrooms are dated without modern furniture. The hot water is switched off at night so that it is impossible to have a hot shower after a late evening out.
The cost of this hotel would be comparable to the cost of a five star in many locations but this hotel is at best a 2 star hotel. The television did not work. there was no internet. The bathrooms were so dated that the tiles will soon be collector antiques for students of cultural studies examining 1970's cheap tiles.
The hotel was absolutely awful and potential guests need to be aware that they will feel aggrieved with the service they receive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vnonyelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is a two star at the best in its current condition and under its current management but the prices do not reflect that. The staffs are friendly but not professional or accommodating to the standard needs of a traveller.
The rooms are dated and poorly maintained, shabby not chic, scuffed wall paper, broken furniture and exposed wiring. There were no working televisions in at least six rooms I was aware of, no amenities for tea, coffee or access to a fringe; there is no internet, no radio in fact no service at all.
The bathrooms looked like it was fitted in the 70s and had not been updated since; the bath took over half an hour to run to get hot water.
The food and drinks at breakfast is below standard, I wouldn’t expect to be served the food I was offered in a soup kitchen, nor should it be served at a food kitchen.
Taormina is a beautiful and stylish place it has lots of shops and bars and restaurants and has a lot of hotels that offer better conditions and service, the only thing Villa Riis has going for it is the magnificent views.
Save your money and don’t book this hotel.

Room Tip: Save your money and don’t book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beck01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is one of the most awful hotels in Taormina. Though it has a great location and great potential the managment have clearly abandoned any attempt at delivering a qualitative service to guests and are only interested in extracting as much money from guests as possible while providing the the bare minimum in service. This hotel should not be star rated at all and it is ia disgrace that it has any star rating. It stinks, the food is atrocious, it is under staffed and the owner has no interest in providing customer service. It is more of a pensione than a hotel and truth is I have stayed in better pensions. Avoid this hotel like the plague!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arkagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Myself & my husband stayed at Hotel Villa Riis on our last night in Taormina. To say we were disappointed with the entire experience is an understatement. This could possibly be the worst hotel in Taormina. The stench (a combination of mildew and sewage) in our room was overwhelming. When we first complained, the night porter suggested we should open the balcony door! We just could not face spending the entire night there and insisted that we be provided with an alternative. There were no spare rooms made up so we had to wait 20 minutes while the he made up a bed in another room. We were skeptical about how clean this room could be but it was midnight at this stage and our alternative was to sleep in the car (which they charge €15 per night for parking!!). Needless to say we were anxious to leave as soon as possible in the morning and did not wait around for breakfast. We complained again to the receptionist when were checking out and were offered a paltry €10 discount off the room rate!!! We would not back down until we got a better discount and in my opinion we still paid too much. I can't believe this is listed as a 4 star hotel. It is badly in need of complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank higgik02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#58 of 87 in Taormina
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#28 of 87 in Taormina
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#65 of 87 in Taormina
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.2 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#62 of 87 in Taormina
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Riis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Riis

Property: Hotel Villa Riis
Address: Via Pietro Rizzo 13 | Sicilia, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Riis 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vill Riis is a 4 - star , Baroque style hotel in the real centre on Taormina, only 10 meters from the main avenue Corso Umberto. All rooms are facing the Golf of Taormina and the lovely, always green park and on the right one can enjoy the view of the Mount Etna. Clients can enjoy an amazing sunset on the hotel's terrace while taking a sip of the local wines and listening the relaxing music.During the hot days our clients can refresh themselves in the outdoor swimming pool or they can simply relax by the pool or in the pool-bar. For the lovers of active holidays there is a tennis court which is surrounded by the trees and so offers a refreshing shadow while one is playing. Hotel Villa Riis collaborates with the City of Taormina and the Taormina Art so we are always informed about what is going on in Taormina and we keep informed also our clients by apdating our web site each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Riis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riis Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Riis Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing