We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Miramare
Nearby Hotels
$330
$303
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$349
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$413
$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Paradiso(Taormina)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
$104
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
$266
$228
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Hotel(Taormina)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$477
$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
166
196
74
24
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
196
74
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool attendantopposite the bus stationpool areacable carlovely hotelsea viewsmall busthe cliffgood sizekept spotlessly cleantop floorlovely poolmain restaurantreception staffshort strollfresh fruitlarge balcony
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 466 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked this hotel to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The staff were very friendly and patient at our attenpt to speak italian! We loved our room which over looked the pool and a spectatular view of the sea. On a clear day you could see the mountains and coast of Calabria. The pool area was so relaxing and each morning we were greated with fluffy beach towels and escorted to sunbeds of our choice. We chose to see shade under the orange trees. The lunch bar served lovely food. We didn't find the steps too taxing even in the August heat but the is a seat halfway up and fruit trees and grape vines.

The hotel is situated a short stroll from the town which is vibrant and offer many eateries. Try the family owned restaurant opposit the supermarket. Fantastic food. We were lucky enough to get tickets for the Opera in the greak theatre. Weren't sure of the story but a spactacular peformance and wow what a back drop in the aincient building.

Room Tip: Bay view spectacular. Ask for a large balcony if you want to sit out.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BJPMCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a holiday at the Grand Hotel Miramare and feel it's not up to the 4* it has been awarded. Apparently this is the last week this season as they plan to carry out refurbishment works, mainly to the furnishings and bathrooms, which are both quite dated and tatty. The position is fantastic and the staff are helpful and polite but the breakfast is unimaginative and lacks variety. The steps down to the pool were not as challenging as we had feared but that may be due to cooler weather, however the plastic sun beds were extremely uncomfortable after 30 minutes or so. We did ask whether they had any cushions we could use, but unfortunately they said no. We paid extra for a sea view room which is spectacular but unfortunately this view was from a small window without a balcony. I would therefore definitely ask for a sea view with balcony if you want to sit and admire the views. Overall, we had a really enjoyable experience and went on some fantastic tours - the local guide Maria from Thomson was exceptional and the coach drivers were really good. If you are planning on travelling up to Mount Etna you can hire coats and walking shoes but I would recommend packing a hat, gloves and some glasses as it was bitterly cold and extremely windy but well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentCockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a junior suite for a week and when we arrived were given a quite large and dark room with a balcony and an obscured view. We had a marvelous view of the beautifully maintained, terraced garden and the stairs down to the pool; however, everyone using the stairs has a view of the room unless you keep the door and curtains closed. This became a necessity after only a few minutes anyway because the room quickly collected mosquitos. It was impossible to sit on the balcony for any length of time due to the insects. The bathroom in this room was very dark and the sink didn't drain properly. Perhaps the worst feature was the hallway just outside this room. It smelled very strongly of mildew or mold or rotted carpeting. A few hours after checking in we appealed to Francesca at the front desk. She told us no other rooms were available. She was not rude but she was not very compassionate or even warm. We said we would be checking out in the morning. A little while later she said another room on a higher floor would be available in the morning. We were delighted with this room. The bathroom was bright and the view was spectacular. The breakfast at Miramare is the usual continental breakfast. You can get your eggs cooked to order on request. The service here is excellent. We especially appreciated Gaetano and Mario. These gentlemen are very personable, professional, and attentive. They are easily the warmest and friendliest staff members, with the exception of Michaela, at this hotel. The pool area is beautiful. Very well maintained and with an exceptional view. Some soft music out there would be an improvement. There are lots of dogs barking, emergency vehicle sirens, power tools, scooters, etc. that kind of spoil the ambience. Some of the common areas are really grand: the dining room, the terrace, the lounge and bar area. Some others are pretty shabby: most of the halls, the reception area. The carpeting throughout really dates the place, as well as the fact that there is no internet except in the lobby. It is not very enjoyable to have a drink at this hotel. The bar is stocked with scotch for which they charge a premium (8 euros); however, the "pour" is so stingy you can't feel good about the indulgence. One evening we had a drink on the spacious terrace, which has stunning views of Isola Bella. Another couple joined us and during our very subdued chat we were actually scolded by another guest who felt the need to remind us that others were trying to sleep - at 10:50 PM. This is the prevailing atmosphere at the Miramare. I can't really recommend this hotel. While the location, some rooms, and the views are wonderful, it just doesn't feel welcoming in a lot of little ways.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a great holiday in taormina and the hotel was in a fantastic position with great views
We had a lovely terrace on our bedroom with a view over to isobella island.The hotel was very elegant but I felt that it needed some work done on the bathrooms to make it 4 star and maybe a better television. The corridors needed decorating to make it brighter and more appealing.The pool area was very beautiful with mature gardens and the lunches were very good and very reasonable and lovely staff.
The dining room was very nice with lovely views but my disappointment was there was not enough choice on breakfasts.It was the same every day with not much hot food,I think for a4 star hotel it should have been better.We did not have dinner, we ate out every evening and the choice was so good and the atmosphere was lovely.

Room Tip: Room 302 with a lovely terrace
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 464BarbaraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful choice of hotels in Taormina. My wedding planner Liz Gaan recommended this and many of my family stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and the view is beautiful. The staff including Claudia were wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichTuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews