We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* hotel 5* views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a holiday at the Grand Hotel Miramare and feel it's not up to the 4* it has been awarded. Apparently this is the last week this season as they plan to carry out refurbishment works, mainly to the furnishings and bathrooms, which are both quite dated and tatty. The position is fantastic and the staff are helpful and polite but the breakfast is unimaginative and lacks variety. The steps down to the pool were not as challenging as we had feared but that may be due to cooler weather, however the plastic sun beds were extremely uncomfortable after 30 minutes or so. We did ask whether they had any cushions we could use, but unfortunately they said no. We paid extra for a sea view room which is spectacular but unfortunately this view was from a small window without a balcony. I would therefore definitely ask for a sea view with balcony if you want to sit and admire the views. Overall, we had a really enjoyable experience and went on some fantastic tours - the local guide Maria from Thomson was exceptional and the coach drivers were really good. If you are planning on travelling up to Mount Etna you can hire coats and walking shoes but I would recommend packing a hat, gloves and some glasses as it was bitterly cold and extremely windy but well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentCockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 448 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a junior suite for a week and when we arrived were given a quite large and dark room with a balcony and an obscured view. We had a marvelous view of the beautifully maintained, terraced garden and the stairs down to the pool; however, everyone using the stairs has a view of the room unless you keep the door and curtains closed. This became a necessity after only a few minutes anyway because the room quickly collected mosquitos. It was impossible to sit on the balcony for any length of time due to the insects. The bathroom in this room was very dark and the sink didn't drain properly. Perhaps the worst feature was the hallway just outside this room. It smelled very strongly of mildew or mold or rotted carpeting. A few hours after checking in we appealed to Francesca at the front desk. She told us no other rooms were available. She was not rude but she was not very compassionate or even warm. We said we would be checking out in the morning. A little while later she said another room on a higher floor would be available in the morning. We were delighted with this room. The bathroom was bright and the view was spectacular. The breakfast at Miramare is the usual continental breakfast. You can get your eggs cooked to order on request. The service here is excellent. We especially appreciated Gaetano and Mario. These gentlemen are very personable, professional, and attentive. They are easily the warmest and friendliest staff members, with the exception of Michaela, at this hotel. The pool area is beautiful. Very well maintained and with an exceptional view. Some soft music out there would be an improvement. There are lots of dogs barking, emergency vehicle sirens, power tools, scooters, etc. that kind of spoil the ambience. Some of the common areas are really grand: the dining room, the terrace, the lounge and bar area. Some others are pretty shabby: most of the halls, the reception area. The carpeting throughout really dates the place, as well as the fact that there is no internet except in the lobby. It is not very enjoyable to have a drink at this hotel. The bar is stocked with scotch for which they charge a premium (8 euros); however, the "pour" is so stingy you can't feel good about the indulgence. One evening we had a drink on the spacious terrace, which has stunning views of Isola Bella. Another couple joined us and during our very subdued chat we were actually scolded by another guest who felt the need to remind us that others were trying to sleep - at 10:50 PM. This is the prevailing atmosphere at the Miramare. I can't really recommend this hotel. While the location, some rooms, and the views are wonderful, it just doesn't feel welcoming in a lot of little ways.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a great holiday in taormina and the hotel was in a fantastic position with great views
We had a lovely terrace on our bedroom with a view over to isobella island.The hotel was very elegant but I felt that it needed some work done on the bathrooms to make it 4 star and maybe a better television. The corridors needed decorating to make it brighter and more appealing.The pool area was very beautiful with mature gardens and the lunches were very good and very reasonable and lovely staff.
The dining room was very nice with lovely views but my disappointment was there was not enough choice on breakfasts.It was the same every day with not much hot food,I think for a4 star hotel it should have been better.We did not have dinner, we ate out every evening and the choice was so good and the atmosphere was lovely.

Room Tip: Room 302 with a lovely terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 464BarbaraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wonderful choice of hotels in Taormina. My wedding planner Liz Gaan recommended this and many of my family stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and the view is beautiful. The staff including Claudia were wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichTuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a most enjoyable week at this hotel. Our bedrooms were spacious, the bathrooms
good and we had a wonderful view looking out at the sea. We thought the decor could be
improved! The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We only had dinner in the hotel
twice - the food was good but not imaginative and the dining room was large and lacking
in atmosphere. There was a lovely swimming pool BUT 200 steps down hill thro' the
gardens to reach it! Hotel was only 10 mins walk to reach the town so very convenient.
We were very pleased with our choice of hotel as it was fairly small and more personal.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel some 10 years ago and decided to return. Glad we did - at first we were concerned when several lights were not working in our room and some repair work was needed in our bathroom, but these issues were quickly sorted out. This lovely hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Taormina. Position is superb - high up, with views across the bay from all of the bedrooms. The small bus station is across the road, for trips to Etna etc, and the cable car down to the coast is only a few yards from the hotel. This hotel caters mainly for couples, is clean, elegant, and has very attentive staff. There are quite a lot of steps down from the hotel to the pool, but really this is not a problem as you walk down through some wonderful gardens. There are two downsides - firstly, the hotel would benefit from better poolside longers. The existing ones are plastic and should either be replaced or have cushions on them as they become uncomfortable after a while. Secondly, one of the real pleasures of this hotel 10 years ago was sitting on the outdoor terrace of the restaurant having ones evening meal. This area has now been covered over - why I don't understand, as this has certainly lowered the dining experience even though the food is still excellent. We very much enjoyed our stay here and will certainly return, but maybe not leave it another 10 years!

Room Tip: 1. Ask for a higher floor - views are better, and ask for a balcony as not all rooms have one. 2. Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely hotel and we were in room 201 which was huge with a massive balcony and a fabulous view. The only drawback was the noisy plumbing which made us feel every bathroom was draining through our room! Food was good but the menu didn't change in two weeks. Pool staff very friendly and efficient and after two weeks the 184 steps didn't seem too bad. Good position and the hill into town was worth it to see the world and his wife walking up and down.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#25 of 87 in Taormina
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#30 of 87 in Taormina
970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 27, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $97 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare is located only 400 meters from the centre of Taormina, just a short walk away from the funicular and the Greek theatre. The hotel, an old villa, is set within a verdent park and offers a spectacular view of the Messina Straight and Calabria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Miramare Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing