We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small & friendly hotel in great location with excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #57 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Small & friendly hotel in great location with excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at the Ipanema in May & June of 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
It is a small & friendly hotel with great staff who gave us a personal service throughout our stay, special mention should be made of Mario, Santo , Alfio & Vincenzo who worked in the restaurant.

The hotel is situated in the beautiful Mazzaro bay with easy access to Taormina town via the cable car.

There seem to be quite a few negative reviews posted about this hotel BUT we have stayed in a lot of hotels & couldn't find anything to complain about at the Ipanema , it might not be large, modern & funky but it is an ideal base for exploring Taormina & the Sicily .

I would recommend this hotel to friends & family

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bongbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    39
    11
    19
See reviews for
28
105
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

Found hotel staff very friendly and helpful, rooms small, food o k nothing special, we were on b b only so we ate out quite often, there are many eating places of differing fare and many are very good.
Hotel situated near to Cable Car which is cheap and runs every 15 mins to Taormina town.
My wife and I had a two week holiday and enjoyed it very much, the Sicilian people are very friendly people, we will return to Sicily

  • Liked — room 501
  • Disliked — room 208
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ciaotonyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

We were booked to stay at the Ipanema for 10 nights but left after ONE NIGHT ONLY. It was dreadful. The room was awful, tiny, no room to swing a cat.
There is no lounge in the hotel,just a small, grotty bar area with horrendous old seats, plus reception.
It is a NO STAR hotel, definitely not a four star. That is madness.
There was very loud talking, shouting, permeating from the bar and rising through the hotel until well gone 1 a.m. in the early hours of the morning
The breakfast was abominable. No cooked breakfast at all. It was the worst breakfast we had ever experienced for such a rated hotel. We were told the kitchen is closed in the mornings and the head waiter was downright rude and he forced us to sit at the same table with strangers.
The evening we got there, there was a very noisy and quite awful 'Sicilian Evening' taking up the tiny downstairs area, with a buffet table plonked in the middle of reception area.
NO lunch or tea facilities at the hotel, we would have to go to their sister hotel.
We 'escaped' the following morning and checked into a proper hotel.
If that is four star, then I am a martian.
I know Sicilian standards of catering, hygiene, etc. are far from the norm and just about in the twentieth century, let alone the twenty-first, but it was the hotel from hell where the owners think they can get away with blue murder.
I could go on, but hope I have said enough

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSpiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

east yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

Two couples from East Yorkshire.
We stayed at the Ipanema Hotel for 2 weeks in Sept/Oct 2008 which was far too long. Whilst the food in this hotel is good it still lacks the merit of a 4* hotel compared to others close by. Even our rep. said it was a 3* star. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms very very small, you cannot get a snack or drink between 11am and 4pm in the bar! There is no porter to help get your luggage up the steps into the reception and there is no footpath on the road outside making it impossible to go for a stroll, as it is a very busy road. I would recommend anyone to stay for a week only in Taormina town itself as this a great place with some very good hotels like Ariston.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — rooms and location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

Although we enjoyed our stay in Scilly and Taormina, we found the Hotel Ipanema very disappointing. After reading such good reviews we thought the hotel would be ideal.

Location. The hotel itself is situated in Mazzaro below Taormina on a VERY busy road, the short walk to the cable car can sometimes be very hair raising as this road is quite narrow and is busy all day and night. The journey up the cable car to Taormina is short at approximately 3 minutes and the cable car operates to a strict timetable. However when we were staying (Early August) the queue to Taormina in early evening was about 30 minutes with people coming back from the beach. This proved very frustrating and although there was a large queue the cable operators did not move from the timetable and made people wait! We would suggest that if you like the beach then the location is fine, however if like us you like to eat in Taormina then the cost of the cable car plus the waiting time makes this a very stressful and annoying addition to the holiday!

Room. The room that we had I must say was extremely disappointing. The decor was very dated and very sparsely furnished, and not at all like the photos on the website. The décor was a depressing brown and white colour rather than the aqua blue advertised online! The TV was a small portable and the minibar was also very small and no more than a small fridge. There was also no safety deposit box in the room, and although there was one behind reception I think that this is not good enough for a 4 star hotel as I don’t want to go to reception every time I want some money! The bathroom was also dated and the shower was nothing better than shocking. It was very dated and fixed to the wall and therefore not adjustable. Therefore once the water fell from 7 foot it was no more than a trickle and when the temperature is mid 30s, all you want when you get back to your room is a nice shower! There was no shaving mirror or extractor fan in the bathroom, and the bathroom only plastic glasses which were only replaced when we asked at reception. On the positive side the room was very clean and always cleaned to a high standard. The view from the room was also excellent and apart from the fact that there was not, much privacy on the balcony it was very relaxing to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by!

Food. We were also disappointed with the lack of variety of the breakfast; there was no hot food at all for breakfast which is the first time that we have had this whilst abroad. We appreciate that continental breakfast is different to what we have in the UK however we think that a 4 star hotel should at least have a toast machine! Getting food/refreshments at the hotel is also limited to breakfast and evening meal time as the bar is not open to the early evening and there is no snack bar/sandwich menu during the day. Again we find this hard to believe that a 4 star hotel would not offer this.

Amenities. The pool at the hotel is very nice however in peak time the number of sunbeds around the pool (8) is just not sufficient. We were also surprised that there were no staff present around the pool in case of accidents etc. The hotel beach club is also very nice and has plenty of sunbeds and staff monitoring the pool and also a bar and snack bar. However please be aware that if you book via the internet and not with a tour operator you will be asked to pay 10 Euro per person per day for the privilege of using this!

Staff. Our biggest gripe was that of the staff on reception, although very friendly we found that their knowledge of the local area and amenities was at best very poor. For example we asked about visiting Isola Bella and were told to walk over, when we did the people told us that the tour must be pre booked! We asked what other towns/villages were worth visiting and were told by reception that they were not sure and we were asked “where do you want to go?”. Obviously we could not answer this question as we were not sure! On a positive note the staff all spoke excellent English and the staff in the restaurant were very helpful at breakfast.

Overall we found the Ipanema extremely disappointing and the fact that this hotel was rated as a 4 star amazed us. As mentioned in this review many things are missing that make the difference between a 3 and 4 star rated hotel. If we are perfectly honest with the fact that we had to pay for the beach club we would suggest that the hotel is probably closer to a 2 star hotel.

  • Liked — Location to the beach
  • Disliked — Room decor is very dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hyndlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

We recently stayed at the Ipanema Hotel for our honeymoon. The location and views are perfect and just what we wanted. Not suitable for a family with teenagers and be aware that Sicily is not cheap. The weather was fantastic and the food was very good. Agree with a previous review regarding limited 4 choice for main course - but what we had was very good. Watch the roads as no footpaths outside the hotel and you can't get a drink (alcoholic or soft) at the hotel between 11.00 and 15.30 so stock up at the local shop 5 minutes walk away.

All the staff are excellent and the waiters are the best we have seen. Christine, the receptionist, was very helpful and friendly.
Would recommend for a quiet and chilling holiday - we loved it!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank jasper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed at the Ipanema the first two weeks of September. We can only confirm everything that is said about the staff by everybody else on this site. Its true its not four star if you compare it with hotels in say Spain but then again it isnt Spain its Sicily and it compares with four star hotels we have stayed in in Italy. The bathrooms are a bit small and the shower is a bit small if you happen to get one of those rooms with a small one in we are in our 60s and managed ok. The room and bathroom were kept spotless by the maid. The weather was in the mid 30s when we got there and had to do without A/C for the first three days cos the Sicilians were on holiday who repair it,but it was repaired after the third day. It would have been a nice jester by the hotel if they offered us a bottle of wine to cool down,(or a free holiday next year as compensation)(giggle giggle).Enough about the hotel. Taormena is a beautiful town and you can spend hours there just people watching or strolling. There is a little Island at the top of the hill from the hotel called Isola Bella which you can have a guided tour for free. Ask reception to book you in you can tour at 9.30 or 11.00am its only a ten minute walk from the hotel and well worth a visit. We were a bit worried about the cable car till we saw it. There is nothing to worry about, it takes just under three minutes from one station to the other and is a lovely ride. It costs two euro one way 3.50 return or 20 euro for fourteen trips, it runs every fifteen minutes till 01.30 and is always on time.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ringandride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Bianca Resort
Villa Bianca Resort
#77 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#26 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Palace Hotel
Bay Palace Hotel
#70 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Esperia
Villa Esperia
#4 of 4 in Mazzaro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Hotel

Property: Ipanema Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 242, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Hotel Taormina, Sicily
Hotel Ipanema Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing