We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel to Savour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Hotel to Savour”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

With its fabulous view of Mt Etna this hotel is ideally positioned just outside the gates to Taormina, a delightful small town somewhat swamped with tourists. The hotel itself is 100 years old and has been lovingly cared for. Our room looking towards the town and had a sea view which was a delight at any stage of the day as the light changed. The room was comfortable and the public rooms, the lounge and terrace gave ample opportunity for socialising. Waiter service was attentive in the lounge but was I correctly charged €24 for two gin and tonics? A bit steep! The dining room was very pleasant and the staff there were most welcoming and equally attentive. Some might consider the service slow but we were on holiday and enjoyed spending two hours in excellent company around tables of ten. We were part of a tour but tables of two and four were available for guests if required. Although the pool was not available for guests ( it was too cold anyway in early May ) its setting was delightful with amazing views over the bay below. The warm friendly attitude of the staff from reception to lounge and dining room was refreshing. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel but keep off the G and Ts!

Room Tip: The higher the better, most rooms have excellent views. Better to go up from reception than down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyDSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    255
    110
    39
    14
See reviews for
102
303
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in May. One issue was that the air conditioning had not been started up - and it can get quite warm in May. Consequently the room was hot and stuffy to start with.
Other than that, we were happy with our stay. It's a great location, right next to the main street of Taormina. If possible, get a room with a view towards Etna and the sea.
The room was big enough, though not as well equipped as you might expect (bedside table on only one side of the double bed, and a light right in the middle of the bed headboard for you to bang your head on).
Bar seemed very expensive (much more expensive than our previous hotel in Agrigento).
Good breakfasts. A tendency to overcook the main course a dinner, but otherwise we were satisfied with the food

Room Tip: You pay extra for Etna and sea view - probably worth it though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel. But in my a
opinion a bit pricy for what it is. The only excuse for this price is location and pool area. Withs is great!
The room: Dreatfull colors, we had i totally pink room, and the lighting didnt help. The showerhead was placed 10 cm lower than my hight (180 cm). The toilet wouldnt flush, the towels wouldnt dry my skin.
I would stay here again - if the the price was lower.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Superb setting on the edge of this lovely town, only a few steps away from the main street. This is a real grand old lady of a hotel, with marble staircase and classic furniture. The setting is wonderful with fabulous views across to Mount Etna, and down to the sea. Good food with good quality ingredients and wide choice at breakfast and for evening meals. We were on a coach holiday with Riviera Travel, and a think that a lot of the guests that stay here are in groups. Lovely terrace and bar area, although drinks are quite expensive (12 euro for a G&T) but this an expensive town. We paid extra for a room with a balcony with sea and Etna views, our room was lovely, but some of the standard rooms are apparently quite small with no view, so pay the supplement. There is a swimming pool and gardens but they are down about 25 steps and a sloping path, so not suited to those with health issues. Don't pick this hotel if you want up to the minute decor, it is old fashioned, especially the bathrooms, but everything works.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure of a stunning view then pay the supplement and get a room with a balcony, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkDWalsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This will be our fifth time to the Excelsior Palace in Taormina. The location of the hotel is perfect only being a very short stroll to the Main Street of the town. This however does not have any impact on the hotel, which remains very peaceful. On entering the hotel one is met by friendly and helpful staff. The cleanliness is faultless in all aspects of the hotel, with great views from the bar, pool and many of its rooms. The swimming pool is located via a beautiful garden. The pool and it's bar are kept exceptionally clean, again with very friendly staff. Lunch and refreshments at the the pool bar are great for those who wish to spend a long restful day sleeping and reading by the pool.
Barry Watkins.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

In January in Taormina you haven't got much choice. If you call hotels that are closed for the off-season they will tell you that they are booked up. The truth is that if you travel here in the winter you will be alone-----and I mean alone. We went down for breakfast in this biggest of all the hotels in the city, and we were alone at the buffet. Luckily, it also means that the prices are very affordable, and the attractions are open with no lines. We liked this hotel because of its convenient location and its amenities. You get free wi-fi in the lobby or at the bar. The rooms are very large and extremely comfortable, and any extras (we wanted more pillows) were brought up instantly. We were especially thankful to the desk staff, in particular, a young woman named Teresa (or was it Teresita?), who, when our travel plans were falling through (there are no bus tours in the winter despite what some companies advertise) arranged a private driver instantly. So, excellent hotel. Excellent staff. A good place to stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnRegoPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good Hotel with lovely views and friendly helpful staff, with a very nice room having marvellous views over the bay and towards Etna. However, when we stayed in May the nights were hot and the air conditioning apparently was not on at night, hence we had to sleep with the windows open! Not a problem, other than being invaded by mosquitoes and being heavily bitten!! In addition the food was average at best, which was a shame for such a nice and clean hotel in other respects.

Room Tip: Corner rooms at the front are large and have excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tez555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
1,693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 88 in Taormina
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#29 of 88 in Taormina
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via Toselli 8, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel even to day after more then one hundred years its building is considered one of the most appreciated hotel structure in Taormina.Its architecture draw its origin from a context cultural and natural,Greek,Roman and Medieval.The Excelsior Palace Hotel looks over one of the most beautiful wiew of the world:Etna and the Bay of Naxos, the Greek Theatre, and the immense space of the Jonian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Palace Taormina
Hotel Excelsior Palace
Excelsior Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing