We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$243
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$318
$283
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Paradiso(Taormina)
$420
$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Taodomus(Taormina)
$232
$221
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
$269
$230
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$471
$454
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$373
$363
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$846
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$472
$417
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
217
300
126
43
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
300
126
43
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsetna viewriviera travelpool areathe main streethalf boardside sea viewcorso umbertoair conmulti storey car parkreception stafffabulous locationstandard roomroom was largethe cliffup to datesingle roombars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 702 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

this hotel is sited on a hillside with great views of Etna on one side and the sea and coastline on the other at one end of the main street in the town, about 20 - 30 min walk to the bus station at the other ond of town. The pool situated at the end of the gardens overlooking the sea. Friendly reception staff always ready to help with anything. Evening food is good and served hot at the table, breakfast is not up to much if you want an early breakast if you are going out on a trip which usually leave before the normal breakfast time. Comfortable and clean room TV only has news chanels in English but no problem. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillfromStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is just in the right place to stroll along the main streets of Taormina. We hired a car from the airport-a 45 min run. Take the sat nav as the last bit is windy and through a tunnel. Had to leave car in local car park and paid £51 for the week's card which you pop in and out of the machine. All the staff were brilliant and willing to chat. Shame the meals were not up to the same high standard. I would say the food was adequate but uninspiring. The pool was ideal even if the trek down and up the steps on a very hot day was daunting-great views of the bay. We were offered a curtsy room without asking! Free too! As our last day had a late flight.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jeangenie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Spent the last 10 days at this hotel. Unfortunately I cannot agree with some of the below reviews. On the plus side - The reception staff, especialy the two girls, were very friendly and helpful. The rooms, although on the small side, were kept spotless. We stayed in room 209 and the views were fantastic. The location is perfect for the town.

On the downside, the Hotel does look very tired, dimly lit in the corridors, and this does not add to it's charm. The restuarant lacked any atmosphere whatsoever. We found the breakfast to be basic, and the evening meals were not great!! Edible, but not what we expected for the money we paid for this Hotel. Also, when there were more guests staying there was more variety with the antipasta, but when quiet, there was very little choice. There were rarely bread rolls with dinner and butter had to be requested. As previously mentioned the pool side bar was very limited with lunches consisting of Bruchetta, Salads and Melon and Parma Ham -at 12 Euro's rather expensive. The pool area is attractive but sunbeds are not kept clean and the pool has seen better days!

I may sound picky - however if you are thinking of going to this Hotel you need to know the full picture. I have travelled extensively and truly no not think there is value for money in this Hotel.
I believe it relies heavly on its reputation and think that some more money and effort needs to be put into bringing it back to what I am sure once was, and could be a fantastic Hotel.

Room Tip: You need to be on 2nd Floor to get the full view of the coastline and Etna, although to be fair, Etna looked like just another mountain as it is some distance away - the sea views are better!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A really good value for money hotel in a location so convenient to so much to see within 15 minutes walk. The 4 course evening meal is of high quality offering local fresh food cooked the Sicilian way. The fresh fish courses were really tasty. The reception staff were very helpful and polite. The restaurant staff appeared tired and sometimes not too happy but generally responded to your request. The restaurant is a little tired and dated and does not apply a dress code to the evening diners which is a shame and not how other Italian hotels I have visited operate. The pool, reached by walking through lovely gardens down some 90+ steps, has fantastic breathtaking views of the bay, Etna and surrounding hilly area. There were plenty of beds and parasols with towels and mattresses all free and plenty of shady areas all day. Unfortunately we did not find the lunch served at the pool bar of the same quality as the restaurant and so we generally walked elsewhere for lunch. There was plenty of excellent choice nearby. The only real downside of the hotel was the air conditioning which did not operate particularly efficiently and was switched off part of the day and at night. The nights were so hot and this lack of aircon would put us off going back. I would recommend this hotel for it's location, views and restaurant food but you have to think about the poor aircon very seriously if you go at height of the summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just returned from 10 day holiday from here. It certainly ticked all our boxes and there is so much to do in the area we are already planning a return visit. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews