We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bel Soggiorno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

It might not be the most lavish of hotels in the area, and doesn't offer any swimmingpool, but it's one of the most charming hotels I've ever stayed at. The service was really kind, warm, smiling and helpful. The real secret of this hotel though is the VIEW - it's got a spectacular view over the Mediterranean right from your room. There's also plenty of patio-space so you can have breakfast or dinner while enjoying that view. If you are as lucky as we were (corner room), you also get a view right at Edna. Nothing like waking up in the morning with your newlywed and looking straight at this magnificent volcano. At night you can even see small streams of lave coming out of it - not from the top - but from the sides and it glows beautifully in the dark. I would really recommend this hotels for honeymoons.

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anchorpoint2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    174
    42
    2
    6
See reviews for
64
248
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

I know Taormina very well having stayed there a dozen times over the past decade and Bel Soggiorno is always my choice. While it is a short walk uphill to points of interest, the lush gardens, panoramic view, and quiet old world atmosphere are a welcome respite after a busy day near the Corso or at the beach. There is simply nothing like it in Taormina in this price range. All rooms open out to a view of the sea and gardens and many have private patios perfect for a later afternoon glass of win. There is a spacious and comfortable parlor and solarium with wireless. Breakfast is generous with cheeses and salami and can be taken in the morning sunlight or on your porch. Lemon and orange trees grace the slope below. Carlo Capuana and his staff are dedicated to maintaining the horticultural and architectural beauty of this gem and provide a relaxing and most welcoming environment.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italaphileboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

I really nice hotel with stunning views. Our room was interesting and quaint with a nice little terrace. This hotel was great value for Taormina which is a pretty expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The staff was excellent and accomodating and went out of their way to make our daughter's wedding on their hotel property lovely. Nice, clean rooms; beautiful views of the Bay of Massaro and Mt. Etna. Great location - within a short walking distance of the shopping district of Taormina. Outside seating to relax and enjoy our nice breakfast with the breathtaking views. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scagover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

The highlight of our holiday to sicily was the views from our bedroom window. A full view of etna and the sea - beautiful both day and night. Ask for room No.1 when you book - 2 balconies (the other one faces the sea too). I think all the rooms must have some view of the sea but single number rooms are on the top floor and the view is best from there.
Breakfast was great, plentiful and good choices. The staff were friendly and helpful. Parking at the hotel was typically Italian - but staff will park your car for you if you need help (we saw a few people asking them). Room and bathroom were clean and typically furnished by Italian standards.
It's about a 10-15 walk to the centre of town but quiet pleasant (uphill but not difficult). Internet access, onsite collection of books and magazines in lots of languages and good bar options at the hotel all added to the experience. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Great Location: easy to find when driving (which is important to me as I'm uncomfortable driving a stick-shift in Italy) yet an easy walk to the center of town.

Responsive Management: the management offered to help me with parking and were flexible with my reservation. They responded to my requests.

Beautiful Terrace: the view is amazing.

Good value, also: hotels in Taormina can be pricey.

DO upgrade to a room with a balcony/view. The inside rooms lack their charm.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esme_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemsing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Beautifully set on the main road leading into Taormina this hotel was a great find considering it was high season. The views of Etna and the coastline were simply amazing and with a short uphill walk of around 10-15 mins into Taormina you couldn't be in a better position for exploring the area. The room in the hotel was very spacious and had a balcony terrace with sun loungers and a table and chairs for your early evening aperitif. The hotel has seen better years and could do with a coat of paint but in term of facilities it is ideal for your 1-2 night romantic break. Staff were very helpful and were prepared to even give you a lift into town. Breakfast was continental and all you could wish for especially if Nutella is on your menu!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonCarleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#31 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Soggiorno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Soggiorno Hotel

Property: Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Soggiorno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bel Soggiorno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Taormina
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Bel Soggiorno Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing