We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a stay we had, in such a friendly homely hotel. The staff were fantastic, very accommodating - arranging taxis, trip to Etna, advise on restaurants etc...
Breakfast was good, though as some have said it'd be nice to have more fresh fruit but having stayed in a 4* hotel in Catania after this, I'd say tinned fruit is usual in Sicily...the Italians do have a funny way of doing things (see Sicilian lemonade - in 2 weeks travelling around, not one place had any traditional lemonade, only Sprite or the equivalent on offer!)
The setting is superb and the views amazing - ask for room 10 on the lower ground floor - it's on the south eastern corner with a private terrace with sun loungers that look out over the sea PLUS the bay and Etna. And the window from the bedroom? Direct view to Etna. The room above this would also be lovely, as it has two private balconies. The rooms on the lower lower ground (!) may not be the best as they appear to only have windows to the front and are under the private terraces above. Lovely rooms with high ceilings, and traditional furniture give the place such character (though the bed was two singles not a double, which was a shame). The breakfast room is, well, simply one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever seen.

Lovely place, great location away from the tourist madness of Taormina - easy 10 min walk into the centre though older visitors may have trouble walking up the 50 or so gentle steps every day / night.

For the money it was a bargain when compared to other hotels in Taormina. This belies

Room Tip: Ask for room 10 or the one directly above to ensure you get a dual aspect light room with terrace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    180
    46
    2
    6
See reviews for
69
261
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Today we had the unfortunate task of saying goodbye to Bel Soggiorno after a splendid week at this quaint family hotel steeped in history.

The only reason this isn't a 4 star must be the lack of pool, but with the fabulous terraces & private gardens, plus the beach only a short funuvia ride away, a pool really isn't necessary.

The rooms are light, bright and traditionally furnished. We were in room One, which boasted dual aspect balconies - one with a view of Etna towering over the bay at Giardini Naxos. Air con is very effective, flat screen TV & safe as standard. If I had to make a recommendation it would be to update the bathrooms at some point soon, but they are still more than adequate with good water pressure, plenty of hot water & decent hairdryer.

The key thing that makes this place is the staff - they are all friendly, helpful & an absolute delight, no matter what time of day. Breakfast is good & relaxed on the beautiful terraces overlooking the ocean. Wifi is available in the public areas (not bedrooms) & has a fast connection speed. There are also computers available for free use in the bar area.

It's very conveniently placed; about 10 minutes from the main street (you actually come up in the middle of the Umberto Corso stretch, which is useful), 10 mins walk to the main bus terminal & 15 mins walk to the cable car down to the beach. Yes, there are many steps & steep climbing roads but surely the simple fact that Taormina is on top of a cliff should give travellers an idea of terrain - to blame the hotel is deeply unfair.

In short, fabulous stay; we can't wait to stay at Bel Soggiorno again soon!! Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyShmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the views from the terraces are amazing. I understand why they chose this location for one of Sicily's first hotels it is beautiful and you really can imagine the rich Victorian couples sitting in the conservatory or on the terraces.
There is not a pool here and it is not for someone who has difficulty getting about as there are quite a lot of steps.
For peace and quiet and to be taken very personal care of by the friendly staff, you cannot beat it. We had an amazing time during an extremely hot 10days in early August.
The room was spacious and clean and the much needed air-con worked well.
Breakfast wasn't brilliant, but perfectly adequate and there was certainly a good choice.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a garden terrace room and from what I can gather it is one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayner1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I have been to this pretty, full of character hotel many times and have always been very satisfied. Location very good but have to climb quite a few steps to get to the centre. The rooms have a lot of character, with breathtaking views. Breakfast not grand but the beautiful terrace makes up for it. Parking available. Highly recommended and will definitely return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NTD206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just got back after a great week at Bel Soggiorno. This is a really nice hotel with loads of character. Not an average run of the mill hotel. Excellent location (as long as you don't mind steps!) My only negative would be the breakfasts - watery fruit juice and fruit sparse and tinned. Would highly recommend despite the breakfast weakness. Fantastic

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mumfo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of July with 2 chidren aged 4 and 7. The view from our balcony was stunning, the boys loved 'exploring' the outdoor area (cactus hunts) and running between our room and the shared area. The staff were very friendly, relaxed and helpful. For me and my husband, breakfast on the balcony, high up, looking out towards the sea, with beautiful weather, was a real treat. The hotel is steeped in history and you get a real sense of that. You can just imagine what it was like to be one of the lucky ones holidaying here at the beginning of the last century. It's an easy walk into Taormina unless you have mobility issues, and the town has a fantastic vibe in the evenings. A great start to our three-part holiday in Sicily.

Room Tip: One where you can look out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nixxx74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, IL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We thought this was a charming hotel with ambiance that you don't find in a new hotel. Note about finding it: we were using our GPS to make our way around this cliffside city, and it said we "had arrived" but we saw no sign for the hotel. Turns out Garmin doesn't know up and down! The hotel was below us at the time around a few more curves in the road. We had spectacular views from our room. Mt Etna was erupting, and after sunset we could see the orange glow of the lava coming down the side of the mountain! The 15 minute hike into town was pleasant, and the hotel's recommendation for dinner was close by and one of most economic meals of the trip. The next morning they had no problem with us leaving our car parked on their limited space while we went to visit the splendid Greco-Roman theatre. Even after we checked out, they did not mind us using their computer in the lounge to check on our airplane departure the next day.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a corner suite with views of both the sea and Mt Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bel Soggiorno
Bel Soggiorno
#68 of 88 in Taormina
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Soggiorno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Soggiorno Hotel

Property: Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 60, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Soggiorno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bel Soggiorno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Taormina
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Bel Soggiorno Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing