We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip, excellent hotel”
Review of Bay Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #73 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Cumberland ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent trip, excellent hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

To the folks who didn't like their "small" rooms - if you went to Taormina to spend time in your room, you picked the wrong vacation spot. We ended up "upgrading" to a room with a view and it was large, spacious, and the view was worth a million - yet we spent very little time there. Taormina and the local excursions are incredible.

To the folks who didn't like the breakfasts or dinners - if you went to Sicily and expected a big American or Continental breakfast, shame. It was typically Sicilian, and great. The coffee was fantastic. The dinners were delicious, especially the pasta servings. The wine flowed like honey, and the service was great.

To the folks who didn't like the idea that there wasn't a sidewalk and the walk was dangerous - yup. Did you notice, however, that there weren't sidewalks *anywhere* in the city? We walked every day, trekking to the gondola or down to the beach with the locals. It was fabulous.

To the folks who thought the beach was too far - well, the front desk offered to call a ride for us. We took them up on it one day, and for a mere 3.5 euros we got shuttled right to the beach, with chairs and umbrellas. They would even come back and get us for that price, but we opted to walk. It was glorious.

To the folks who didn't like the food - go to England next time. The Sicilian food was great, and the restaurant was incredibly accommodating and fun. They treated us to Sicilian cannoli (chocolate - yum!) the last night, and because we loved them so much they surprised us with several more at breakfast, to bring with us.

To the folks who thought the staff was rude - apparently you're not familiar with Italians, or perhaps you weren't the most polite of guests - ? In a nutshell, Italians talk loud, gesticulate, and are abrupt. They sound angry when they're not, and they say what they mean. We found EVERYONE on staff to be courteous, funny, helpful beyond compare, and generous. They helped us with our Italian, and we helped them with their English (which was pretty good.) They gave us t-shirts when we all left, and some even had tears in their eyes (as did we.) THE STAFF WAS FANTASTIC. We miss you all!

Room Tip: When booking, be sure to ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kellie04021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    57
    40
    40
See reviews for
43
115
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in Taormina and after a long flight could not have our bags brought up because there is no bell boy so we struggled our bags up the large hill for a driveway, not exactly fail safe for the elderly or children.
The restaurant is only open a couple of hours for dinner and the breakfast is very basic and does not change, by the pool they offer the equivilant of a vending machine during the day. It is a classic European room but the bathrooms could use huge improvements ( rusty dirty light fixtures and a shower curtain with just about no effectiveness).
The pool was cleaned daily but the loungers were a little bit old and dirty,along with the broken plastic tables it really took away from the spectacular view. As you walk down the hallways you will notice that there are many broken and not working light fixtures, spider webs and walls coming apart it is a wonder that they can keep a four star rating.
I personally would look into a beachside resort in taoromina or go into town if your budget does not allow it as this "palace" does not live up to its name!

Room Tip: Be sure to at least get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cory_g_12634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni S, Proprietario at Bay Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Customer, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Taormina, you'll find our prices very affordable and competitive. Sorry that you had when you arrive take your luggage to the hall, you could inform us a few minutes before your arrival and we sent our bellman to greet. Our restaurants (a la carte lunch served poolside and dinner served in the board room) adopt schedules that are communicated to our customers. We can not understand what products "equivalent of a vending machine" you have been offered by the pool during the day, our barman could prepare excellent drinks, cocktails and fresh fruit smoothies. Our facility offers the opportunity to stay in different rooms at different prices (standard, with sea view and on request also in the junior suite) all furnished in a classic European. We would rather you you communicate to us his hardships and we rectified our mistakes and make your stay better..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel sopposed to be 4 stars but the value is as 2 stars hotel.
the breakfast is very basic, I asked for umlet but the waiter said that there is no esss in the menu.
the room was very small but it has a huge balcony.
the bath room is very old and need innovation.

Room Tip: To qualify the hotel as 2 stars hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eitans111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 3 nights st the Bay Palace. The location is good if you want to visit Taormina and at the same time be able to go to the beach for a swim. Parking is a little tricky, there is not much space. The cable car up to Tormina is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The restaurant has a beautiful view, food is ok, but not that exciting. We had rooms with large balconies and enjoyed the stay. This place is a good choice if you want value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Ok, so Bay Palace Hotel doesnt have a 5 star standard as i've read that many people seem to expect. The hotel itself is clean, with all the basic ammenities such as air con, safes in the room, tv's (yes they are small but nevertheless who comes on holiday to watch tv, let alone to watch full screen 32" bbc news if that is what other guests expected), a small fridge in the room (and although it has a note on it expaining that we were strictly not to use it for our own purchases, we did anyway and no-body took any notice), a nice clean shower, bath, sink and b-day! which was great to put the swimming costumes in and a lovely balcony big enough to fit two chairs, a table and extra space for a washing line with the most amazing view right across the sea and beach line. The holiday itself was more expensive than the previous holiday we had taken as a couple in Greece but Italy is more expensive anyway and it was worth it for the amazing views, Taormina town is definately a must, we went every single day, we spent most of our time by the pool (as my boyfriend doesnt wake up til around 2pm so i spent the morning by the pool) but we did go to the beach a few times and it was lovely. The road is windy with no pavements but if youre wary and careful you wont have any problems with it, however the driveway to the hotel is very steep so perhaps not recommended for the elderly, disabled or lazy. Overall, a great place to sleep for the night, and to laze by the pool in the day. Recommended.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for double sea view room - breakfast only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anneliese_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the Bay Palace hotel for 5 nights which we were incredibly happy with. After reading some of the negative reviews we were initially a little apprehensive but on arrival we were instantly reassured we had booked the right one. We were given a room with a spectacular sea view and happily enjoyed our free breakfast every morning which consisted of lovely rolls, salami, cheese, cereals, fruits and beverages. The beach was a short walk away and we were more than happy to stay at the bottom of Taormina and take the cable car up to the town for dinner in the evenings. The town is beautiful and very romantic. We had some excellent meals in which our highlight was mussels followed by cannoli which is Sicilian cake - you must try! Our only slight problem we encountered, was the impatient / slightly crazy driving by the Italians!!! On the first night we were police escorted through the narrowest street imaginable in our not so practical convertible. We now realise why Italians have such small cars!!! So all in all, this is definitely a big thumbs up.... you might even get to sample a fine Sicilian peach as a departing gift by the owner of Bay Palace Hotel too, if your lucky ....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during half term week at the end of May/beginning of June. We were on a half board package holiday. We arrived about 9pm and although we had paid for 7 nights half board, we were told that we were too late for dinner but a "cold plate" would be served to us. This consisted of rock hard bread rolls, a couple of slices of Italian cold meat and a couple of slices of cheese and a few olives. There was no dessert and no coffee or tea.

Breakfast consisted of almost the same and stayed that way for the whole week with no variety. Dinner was usually inedible and after 2 nights, we decided to eat out to sample some real Italian cooking. Most people around us left their food and those that we got friendly with all complained about the poor quality of the food.

The female staff in the restaurant were surly and unhelpful, and the owner of the establishment was rude and ignored us when we said buona serra or bon giorno to him.

The room was very basic with the smallest tv ever and no tea or coffee making facilities. There was a huge fridge with a notice on it that it was strictly forbidden to put anything in it - it was for the hotel's drinks only!

From the brochure the hotel looked like it was in an idyllic setting, but it was actually on an extremely busy road and you took your life in your hands when you went out at any time of the day or night. There were no pavements and cars parked on both sides of the road, which meant that you were walking out into the traffic.

On the plus side there were wonderful views from the hotel, and a nice pool which was always very clean but unheated.

When we went to settle our bill, the owner was very reluctant to accept card payments (even from a debit card in euros) and wanted cash. We told him we didn't have enough cash so he had to accept the card!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Picasso7745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#58 of 88 in Taormina
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Esperia
Villa Esperia
#4 of 4 in Mazzaro
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#52 of 88 in Taormina
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ipanema Hotel
Ipanema Hotel
#56 of 88 in Taormina
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Bianca Resort
Villa Bianca Resort
#78 of 88 in Taormina
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palace Hotel

Property: Bay Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 114, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palace Taormina
Hotel Bay Palace
Bay Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing