We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda quirky. Some great things, some not so great”
Review of Hotel Villa Greta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Greta
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
286 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Kinda quirky. Some great things, some not so great”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a hill climb from Taormina. We were on foot or by bus/train only. You can take discontinuous stairways down into town. The views of the ocean. The city and Mt. Etna are staggeringly beautiful. The dining room offers wonderful views as do the terraces. Owners very pleasant and helpful. We had a similar problem to one I already read about, the toilet making loud noises and running out of control. Breakfast had nice fruit compote and delicious croissants. We had an off season bargain rate. That made up for the deficiencies.

Room Tip: Did not mean to rate swimming pool and fitness centre. They don't exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    107
    51
    34
    16
See reviews for
43
138
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It's almost 5/5, except for a small room, and very challenging street parking - you cling to the wall, and hope your car won't get damaged overnight.
A view from the small balcony is incredible; the restaurant, where the view is just as good, has just a few tables, and the cooking shows a lot of attention to detail; compared to many tourist traps in Taormina, it's just great. A very nice owner with stories to tell, and good local advice. Excellent value. Quite some workout if you walk up from the town but unless you have a serious heart condition, you shouldn't have a problem. I would come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wind_n_water_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
250 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for a night during our roundtrip in Sicily in October. The hotel was not easy to find. We got lost with our GPS. There were no parking posibility so we parked in the parking house nearby. We had not problem to climb all the stairs, but due to the location and very limited breakfast offer (bread, butter, jam and cheese served by the table), and very strict rules of the hotel (no food/ drinks allowed in the room etc - really strange to read all these rules) I would rather choose some other place for another stay. We did not feel there as at home. Otherwise Taormina was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Villa Greta is A small family hotel with stunning views!
The hotel is run by a lovely family who also runs the Excellent restaurant on the site (recommended).
The hotel's location above the city while challenging in terms of physical fitness has stunning views from the balcony (Worth the 10 minutes climb from the city center).
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a hotel which is good and clean, not expensive, and would Appreciate the excellent dining and spectacular views.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitzanwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from our second trip to Taormina this year, we decided to choose villa greta as it sounded charming, rustic and in an area for amazing views, which I have to say the hotel was. We were travelling for our second holiday on a budget, the hotel was up high on the hillside over looking the town of Taormina and just bellow castelmola , the elevation of the hotel was a bit of a killer on a hot day. The walk take approx 10mins max to walk into the centre of corso umberto, and was helpful to walk off the large plates of food we ate, however at times in the heat it could be alittle trying! The staff were very helpful, rooms clean, but could maybe do with a small fridge to keep drinks etc cold. Breakfast was ample, consisted of croissants, rolls, meats or cheese, fresh fruit salad and cereals with juice.
The resturants is the main attraction , the views are amazing and the food was amazing. The rooms were basic, but roomy and clean, would have been lovely to have a little pool there after the hot walks up the hill!
We would possibly visit again, but we may go for something alittle less elevated. However the views were stunning.
Many thanks for looking after us during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyn Tina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lovely hotel and staff were really friendly and helpful. Only a short walk to the city centre. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace with a nice view. The room was small, but clean and comfortable.I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a hotel which is good and clean, not expensive yet also has a good location close to all the highlights of Taormina.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ruben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited Sicily on a whim in March, and Taormina was our first stop. We booked the Villa Greta before we left, and what a find! We arrived at night, and even before we could see it by day we knew Taormina would be stunning. This hotel is small and bargain priced, and its bar/restaurant overlooks the sea.

The rooms also have outdoor seating areas that overlook the sea and Mt. Etna. This was the perfect place to start a tour of Sicily. The Taormina centro was a short drive away (it is walkable but the elevation is intense!) and lots of attractions nearby. Also, Isola Bella is a short drive away and never has a place been more worthy of its name.

I hope to return to Taormina and when I do I will stay at the Villa Greta!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatuGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.1 mi away
Taormina Garden Hotel
Taormina Garden Hotel
#37 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#50 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#62 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#51 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Greta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Greta

Property: Hotel Villa Greta
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 46, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Greta 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Greta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Greta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing