We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and lovely view”
Review of Casa Grazia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Grazia
Ranked #57 of 115 Taormina B&B and Inns
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and lovely view”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Taormina is very touristy and can be expensive so this simple, clean pension was a real find. Down a quiet back street away from the hordes but very central, very warm welcome, and what a view. If you can get one of the two rooms with access to the terrace, be prepared to sit there for ages enjoying the view of Taormina and Etna. And all this for a very reasonable 60 euros for a double. Lots of places to have breakfast in surrounding cafes. Can't ask for more than that.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

Casa Grazia was a fantastic place to stay. The room was bright, clean and had a huge terrace that was all ours and a fantastic view of Mount Etna. Not only that, it was in the centre of the town---but best of all was Mario, the owner. He made us feel so welcome that by the end of our stay we felt we'd made a friend.
We shall definitely be going back.

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — The steps!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lioudakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We were recommended to this place by a signor at Taormina's turist information centre. This turned out to be great - we spent four nights there, and for the last two nights we were lucky enough to have the room on the top floor with a large balcony and the great view. The owner Mario was a very helpful man who also provided us with a parking pass for our rental car. The rooms are very simple, but for 60 Euro per night in the heart of Taormina, they are great - fairly large, comfortable, clean and with a private bathroom. Mario even let us use the washing machine- although his mum charged us extra 10 Euro for it (and we did all the hanging and drying ourselves!), we could still give a wry smile and agree to it! I would definitely recommend this place to anybody who will do the washing by him/herself!

  • Liked — view, location
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poofersdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2006

Casa Grazia was recommended by a staff member at the tourist information center in Taormina. We stayed at Casa Grazia for 2 nights and it was great. We had the room on the top floor so we had a great view. Lying in bed, we could see Mt. Etna from our windows, right down to the red lava trickling down. There was no air-conditioning in the room but that wasn't a problem at all as it was very cool at night. Great value for money (E60 per night, no breakfast) in a great location (very central). The rooms are spartan but clean, and you don't really need a fancy place to enjoy Taormina anyway. The stairs are very narrow and it was quite a hike to get up to our room (we were always breathless when we got to the room) , but totally worth it. Mario, the guy who owns the place, is very warm and sweet. Even though we didn't know Italian and he didn't know English, we got by with little phrases here and there. He also gave us agreat recommendation for dinner one night - Trattoria La Posada which provides real home-style cooking at a very reasonable price. We ate in many of the 'recommended' restaurants (by Frommers and Lonely Planet) but found the food okay and very expensive. I think we were paying more for the ambience. But if you want good food, La Posada is the place to go. We also got good sandwiches from a deli/convenience shop called Mama Mia.

  • Liked — Great location, affordable, warm friendly accomodating owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — This is not the Ritz so if you're expecting 5 star pampering, this is not for you.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2003

This is a "rooms for rent" type accomodation. Grazia speaks only Italian so communication can be an issue if you don't speak some of the language.Rooms are nice and clean, but be aware the stairs are narrow!
Hauling heavy luggage up and down is a big headache!The pensione is in the center of town, street below but generally quiet, especially after dark.Your biggest trick will be to actually get a room, as we paid only 55 Euro per night in May 2003. Reservations are hard to come by. No AC but private bath, in the middle of Taormina, you can't beat that price!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank a0209946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B Sorriso
B&B Sorriso
#22 of 115 in Taormina
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Bergerie
La Bergerie
#81 of 115 in Taormina
59 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Sole
B&B Sole
#21 of 115 in Taormina
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Casabella
#91 of 115 in Taormina
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky of Taormina
Sky of Taormina
#33 of 115 in Taormina
38 reviews
2.7 mi away
B&B Sicily in Love
B&B Sicily in Love
#8 of 115 in Taormina
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grazia

Property: Casa Grazia
Address: Via Iallia Bassia 20, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA GRAZIAA family run and well cared pension with various floors and cozy rooms with balconies. On the last floor a large terrace opens on panoramic views on Etna and the sea. It is located right in the storical center of Taormina, near the Greek Theater, Tennis Courts and Public Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Grazia Taormina, Sicily
Casa Grazia Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing