We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, couldn't ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband and I spent five days staying here during our honeymoon. We were in a beautiful corner room on the second floor with views of the ocean and the pool. It is a close walk to town, although we didn't realize until day two that you can get into town by going left as well as right when you leave. It is a very walkable area. Seeing all the major sights can be knocked out in an afternoon.

The top thing about this hotel is the service and concierge. My husband got bronchitis while we there and within an hour we had an appointment with a doctor in the town center, my husband had been seen and we had prescriptions in hand. The funniest thing is as we were trying to find the office in the center of town one of the guys from the front desk (who was in town picking up newspapers) appeared and pointed us in the right direction.

Ask them for suggestions on restaurants. They never led us astray. We had amazing meals based on their advice. When we asked for assistance planning our Etna trip they suggested an excellent route (we drove) that gave us a real flavor of Sicily. They also recommended we visit the Gambino vineyard on the side of Etna. It was a highlight of our trip, where we did a tasting with food pairing of cheeses etc.

Also take advantage of the free internet ( a bit of a pain due to the access code) and the DVD collection. We watched tons of movies at night and during a day we were rained in. There's a great selection of books. I actually donated a bunch before I left to lighten my suitcase.

A major plus of our room was a long hallway with luggage racks and an armoire separate from the bedroom with a sitting area. I was a tad disappointed our room didn't have a large balcony we could lounge on like the room next to ours but our room seemed to be bigger than that one.

The breakfast spread is excellent and the ambiance can't be beat. The pool is nice. One thing that isn't the hotel's fault but just a bit of advice...Getting to Isola Bella the beach the hotel is overlooking is a hike. There is a cable car you can take but I'm afraid of heights. The hotel can arrange for a free shuttle to a nearby nice beach but you have to pay (I think) 10 euro a person to get on there. The beaches are also quite rocky.

We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sarsk624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

A superb hotel in an excellent location 5-10 minutes' walk from the centre of Taormina. We had a junior suite which was spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and had gorgeous views. The whole hotel is decorated in a tasteful, understated, Italian style.

I don't think I've encountered more helpful staff in any hotel - just the right mixture of friendliness and formality and unbidden "hesitant volunteering" of suggestions.

Food was first-rate. The terrace at the top of the hotel is every bit as enticing as the website shows it to be, and breakfast matches it. The hotel claims not to have a restaurant, but the reality is that the "snack" menu provides an excellent range of meals (pasta dishes,etc) that most people would find more than adequate. However, Taormina is also blessed with excellent restaurants.

I didn't take a computer with me to enjoy the wireless access. However, the bar area on the entrance level has a laptop (with a relatively slow connection) that is adequate for most purposes and does not seem overused.

Parking in Taormina (and navigating the town) is not easy. If you drive, by far the best option is to pay the money to have the hotel park your car. They never took more than 5 minutes to have the car back at the door for us.

Taormina is an excellent base for exploring the Eastern part of Sicily.

There is absolutely nothing to fault about the Villa Carlotta, and much to praise. If there is a better hotel in Sicily, it must be truly amazing. We had a most enjoyable and restful week.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Hotel/room/dining/views/service SPECTACULAR! I couldn't have dreamed a more perfect ending to a wonderful trip to Sicily and the Aeolian Islands.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
4  Thank GloriaK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed at Villa Carlotta for 10 days on our honeymoon and the hotel was simply fantastic. Our room was excellent – great bathroom/shower, plenty of space, and complimentary WI FI.
One of my favorite things about the hotel was the breakfasts. You have never had a more amazing breakfast. What they served was totally homemade--the desserts, the juice, the breads, the jams, the savory foods.
What made our stay truly special, though, was the care and attention shown by the staff and the owner. They even treated us to a bottle of wine and snack plate on our arrival as a honeymoon gift.
All in all, if you have the opportunity to go to Taormina, do whatever you can to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merloBergamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed for a weekend last month for my partners birthday. We arrived on Friday night when it was already dark, so were stunned by the wonderful view when we got up in the morning. The weather was great during our stay.
We upgraded to the delux room, which meant that we had dual aspect and two small balconies. One looked out over the sea, and one viewed Etna in the distance. Fantastic !
We were surprised at how quiet the hotel was, even with the windows open. A great change from the noise and background drone of London.
The buffet breakfast is excellent, and I loved sitting on the roof overlooking the med even more. Wonderful on a November Monday morning in the bright sunshine when you know all your work colleagues are in the office already beginning work.
The hotel arranged a trip for us to have a private driver/guide to take us up the volcano. Rather pricey, but well worth going to see.
The town itself is very touristy, but in a chic rather than tacky way. There are restaurants at every turn, and many of them were much cheaper than we would expect to pay at home. Its low season, so there wasnt many people about. The food and service were good everywhere we went, and we found that everyone spoke English. The resort is not somewhere I would spend a fortnight, but fantastic for a long weekend. Great !

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and were pleased beyond words. The hotel staff was very nice and very helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and was very comfortable, and the view of the ocean was beautiful. The delicious and plentiful breakfast buffet, including all sorts of pastries, fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, breads, Prosecco,......was served on the rooftop terrace with a breathtaking view of Mt. Aetna. It seemed close enough to reach out and touch.
We highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Taormina!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeAnn094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We paid a little extra for a de luxe room which lived up to its name being of a very good size (probably the largest room we have had in Europe for anything like this price) and well appointed.

Breakfast is taken on the top floor where you can eat inside or on a terrace outside with gorgeous views over the sea and/or Etna. Whilst the range of food available for breakfast was similar to other places the quality of many items, and their presentation, was much better. For example instead of plastic pots of supermarket yoghurt there were glasses with excellent plain yoghurt with a dash of fruit based sauce in the bottom and some real fruit on the top. And on one of the two days there were small individual tarts with a pastry base, a form of egg custard and pieces of fruit on the top which were quite excellent.

There is not a restaurant as such, but one can get quality snacks and drinks in the breakfast area all day and at a push one could make a full meal out of what is available. There is also a small, comfortable bar on the ground floor (with free internet access – a nice touch).

The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful – indeed impossible to fault in any way.
Valet parking is available (and necessary) at E15 per day.

Nowhere is absolutely perfect and our criticism here was that the bath robes were too small – whilst we both weigh more than ideal we are not unusually large – perhaps they have shrunk after being washed many times. But if this is the worst we can say that is implicit praise.

The day we left the hotel was closing to be refurbished. We were told some of the lower rooms had suffered flood damage during the devastating rains etc in Sicily a couple of months earlier. If this is to be a comprehensive refurbishment it should be fantastic and the sate of all the areas we saw were in a better state than many other hotels.

This is simply the best hotel I have stayed in since starting to contribute to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,901 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $296 - $1,487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing