We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bellissima!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bellissima!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and i stayed in Villa Carlotta for a week in Sept as we were getting married in Taormina. We had a few family members staying with us and in the hotel and staff were absolutely amazing from the moment we arrived.
They provided us a first class service all the way and they couldn't do enough for us the whole time we were there. Even on the morning of the wedding with the usual chaos of photographers, flowers arrangers bridesmaids arriving they were fantastic and helped the wedding day get off to a great start.
The food at the breakfast buffet was excellent and the special drinks and canapés they provided for us and our family as a wedding present was a lovely, thoughtful and very special touch.

The staffs knowledge of the local area is perfect and recommended us some lovely restaurants and bars to try out.

The hotel itself is perfectly located about a 5 min walk from the main corso umberto with the most breathtaking views across the bay from their terrace. The rooms we had are decorated to a high quality finish with a traditional Sicilian style and modern twist. They were spacious, clean and very luxurious.

We can't wait to come back and will recommend to everyone 5*.
Dan and Lauren

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    151
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
329
950
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our stay here was perfect! The staff is warm loving and helpful. You feel you are visiting a friend's home! It is gorgeous with a beautiful pool and gardens. The view was breath taking. It is near to upper Taormina city and amphitheater We were only disappointed that we had to leave after 3 nights and head home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Villa Carlotta for our honeymoon and what a wonderful time we had.
The rooms and the views are unique and I challenge anyone to find a better view to have your breakfast to! Great food and plenty of it.
The staff were terrific and nothing was too much of a problem. From Riccardo, the manager, to Marco our waiter for dinner, they are a credit to the hotel.
Set out of the hustle of Taormina, but close enough to walk in 5 minutes, Villa Carlotta is the perfect place to relax and unwind, but also see the sights of Taormina.
I would recommend Carlotta to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This award winning boutique hotel just minutes from the bustling tourist center is your place for comfort, delicious cuisine and total serenity. The breakfast buffet was most impressive, only surpassed by the magnificent views. Supported by a highly personable and professional staff, they are always at your beckoned call. Our junior suite was elegantly appointed and spacious. During my 11 days in Rome/Sicily, I found Villa Carlotta to be my favorite hotel by far. Do not miss the experience.

Room Tip: Junior suite worth the add'l $ - much more spacious than standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear David from New York,
just a short note to let you know how much we appreciated your review.
Thank you ,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have recently returned from an 8 day stay at Villa Carlotta. we were charmed by the staff and their friendliness and care. This is a charming small hotel that has nooks and crannies to delight. The catacombs in the library and by the pool add a wonderful sense of history to the decor. The food (especially breakfast) is fantastic and we had the best cannoli of our trip there.I would highly recommend this establishment to any one who wanted to explore the delights of Taormina. It is not in the centre of the madness that is the Corso , but close enough to everything that the walks help burn off the additional calories. Great staff, great views a thoroughly enjoyable stay

Room Tip: If you get the bus from Catania get the driver to stop outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear friends from Melbourne,
we would like to thank you for taking the time such beautiful review after your recent stay at Villa Carlotta.
Thank you for appreciating our cuisine, we are making a strong effort to provide an excellent quality of food from morning to evening and slowly we are succeding in this purpose.
Kind regards from all Villa Carlotta staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This stylish hotel is oozing with contemporary Sicilian charm. We did not have the good fortune to sleep here but visited the property and enjoyed both a dinner and lunch on their roof terrace. The views are breathtaking and often distract you from the equally impressive cuisine and service. But what is impeccable about this place is the stylish elegance which the owners have managed to attribute to this jewel of a property. In true Sicilian fashion, they have been able to create a feast for the eyes, palate and scent, as well as, for the heart and soul. Just even relaxing in their sitting room in the tower, prior to dinner, I could sense the warmth and beauty that is so peculiar to Sicily. This address should be highlighted on your “MUST NOT MISS” list when visiting Sicily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a great Honeymoon at Villa Carlotta. Location of the hotel is perfect, the views are magnificent and our bedroom/suite was beatifully decorated and very clean. The breakfast buffet is one of the best we ever had. And the most positive of his lovely hotel is the friendliness of the hotel staff, they are very service minded and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing