We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every bit as good as the reviews say it is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Carlotta to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Carlotta
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Pirandello, 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Northumberland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as the reviews say it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We chose this hotel, knowing it was a little further on from the centre than we had been previously used to. We had no regrets. The hotel is very comfortable and the rooms spacious and luxurious. The views from the hotel over the gardens and onto the sea are fantastic.

The staff in the hotel are all so helpful, and are constantly attentive ensuring that your stay in comfortable. A big thanks to them.

We had a meal at the restaurant twice. Whilst it was not our best meal it is a good choice and if you fancy a night relaxing and enjoying the view this is the place.

Breakfast..... what can I say. It is stupendous and plentiful. The choice is superb.

We had a little trouble getting onto the WiFi in the room, but overall this was a minor issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splodge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Before we even checked in to Hotel Villa Carlotta, we'd already had several positive encounters with the staff. First, when we somehow lost our way while driving to the hotel, I called and talked to Simona, who was so friendly and helpful and provided clear, simple directions to the hotel. Then, about 30 minutes later, I had to call back and, despite my extreme embarrassment, ask for more assistance. When we'd pulled over to call for directions and then tried to turn the car around, we quickly discovered that we couldn't get our rental car into reverse (we've driven in many European countries but never encountered a car that required that you pull up on an obscure little ring at the top of the stick shift in order to move the stick into reverse). Within 15 minutes, our lifesaver appeared in the form of a very cordial hotel employee, who, despite a language barrier, was immediately able to diagnose the problem and lead us to the hotel.

It was 9 p.m. by the time we finally got to the hotel, and we'd spent the whole day in transit from the Amalfi Coast (driving to Naples, returning our rental car, flying to Catania, getting another rental car, and then driving to--and getting lost in--Taormina). Simona accurately predicted that we'd be a little frazzled, so when we checked in, she urged us to quickly settle in to our room and then go up to the restaurant on the top floor to get something to eat and, more importantly, drink. First, we were amazed by our gorgeous room, which was spacious, beautifully decorated, and so comfortable. Then, when we went up to the restaurant, we were amazed by the incredible service and food. Not only did we have a wonderful meal, but the hotel comped us two glasses of Prosecco just to help us unwind after our minor ordeal. It was all a great introduction to an incredible stay at this lovely hotel.

Aside from the great service (special shout-outs to Simona and Nathalie at the front desk, and the restaurant's talented and hilarious chef, David), Villa Carlotta boasts a perfect location with amazing views, stunning grounds with a pool and outdoor lounging area, a beautifully restored building that's decorated so tastefully from top to bottom, and one of the most spectacular breakfast buffets I've ever encountered. Plus, after staying at several other hotels in Italy where we'd encountered various shower quirks (slow drains, erratic water temperature and pressure, lack of a bathtub), we thoroughly appreciated the perfectly functioning shower/bathtub in our room. My only very minor complaint was that the bed could have used a blanket or some kind of extra cover. My partner likes to jack up the air conditioning at night, and the sole sheet on the bed wasn't enough to keep me warm. Granted, I'm sure if I'd bothered calling the front desk and asking for a blanket or duvet, they would have immediately brought something up to me.

If you're spending a few days in Taormina, which I highly recommend if you're going to Sicily because it's a very charming little town, do yourself a favor and stay at Hotel Villa Carlotta.

Room Tip: Even though we'd originally booked a Double Superior room, I believe they ended up putting us in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We are still on holiday here but can't say enough how wonderful the Hotel and staff are especially
Olga and Ricardo !!!
From time of arrival they have gone out of their way to ensure we are having a wonderful time.
The breakfast selection fabulous you won't want lunch together with a stunning view!

Staff in the restaurant are great cant do enough even down to the lady that cleans our room.(Junior suit garden view) very nice.
Of an evening short ten minute walk in to Taormina lots of restaurants and bars and shopping !!!
We still have a few days to go but couldn't wait to let other people know how wonderful it is here.
We will definitely return have just also looked at the apartments which seem great if coming with children .
This is a true gem perfect.

Room Tip: ALl the rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Carlotta for 6 days and can not believe the special treatment that we received during the entire stay there. We were traveling with our 23 year old son and 20 year old daughter. They loved every aspect of the hotel too. The greeting we got when we arrived was unbelieveable - they gave us drinks and snacks in the beautiful lounge area. The room was a suite and was large enough for the four of us. It was kept immaculate. Our room was on the first floor, but if you want a room with a larger terrace ask for an upper floor. The pool area is so peaceful and relaxing. There were plenty of lounge chairs and if you didn't want the pool you could take the shuttle to the beach. The breakfast was a wonderful combination of Italian delicacies (salami, prosciutto, cheeses), hot foods, breads, fruits, and amazing cakes and sweets. The personnel at the hotel went above and beyond in everything they did - in the restaurant for breakfast - Alberto, Mara, and Patrizia are the best. At dinner Marco and the chef, David, are fantastic. It is well worth it to eat dinner in the restaurant - the risotto with mushrooms is delicious! The chef even made a special pizza for us because we were getting back to the hotel very late. They left it in our room and it was even still hot when we came in! Olga, Riccardo and Natalie were always available to help with questions about restaurants and things to do in Sicily! Olga gave us great suggestions for shopping too! The owners - the Quartuccis are so very lucky to have people who work for them who are so exceptional! We have also stayed at the Villa Ducale and love that hotel too, but if you want to be closer to the center of the town and the beach you will fall in love with the Villa Carlotta. We can not wait to return again and spend time at this very special hotel! Thank you to all of you for making our vacation one we will never forget!

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor is great. If you want to be closer to the pool then ask for a room on a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PBRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear friends from NJ, USA,
I would like to highly thank you for your fantastic review which made us all feel so proud of !!
It is certainly true that Villa Carlotta is a very beautiful and special hotel but certainly it is true that you can find a very very patient and extremely available staff who go beyond to ensure our guests well being.
The guys you mentioned feel very proud and they want to thank you too.
WE are all looking forward to your third visit in 2014 !!!
Arrivederci a presto,
ANDREA AND ROSARIA QUARTUCCI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

During our June stay at this gem of a hotel we became members of the family and found a home in Taormina. That is the philosophy of the Quartuccis, owners of Villa Carlotta and Villa Ducale: their properties are your home, and all guests are special. The staff’s warmth and helpfulness exceeded our expectations, from everyone at the desk (special thanks to Nathalie for her patience with my wifi ignorance) to the rooftop restaurant, where cappuccino by Alberto and prosecco by Marco began and ended our days. Speaking of the restaurant, the breakfast buffet is first class. Our beautifully appointed junior suite offered an outstanding view of the sparkling Ionian Sea, and the sweeping vistas from the rooftop never failed to thrill us. Villa Carlotta is situated so that the charming town, excellent restaurants and the funicular to the beach are all within easy walking distance. (You can also buy a pass for a private beach with shuttle service – the desk staff will arrange that for you.) We went up to the Villa Ducale for drinks and dinner one night, which was well worth it. The hotel is situated up higher on the mountain and boasts its own incredible views. Thank you to everyone for making our Taormina trip so comfortable and memorable! We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Bobbing2,
it was simply wonderful to read your beautiful comments after your recent stay at Villa Carlotta.
Thank you for your personal compliments you extended to my wife about the Villa Ducale, we are very proud of our stunning properties and our fantastic staff.
Just to be precise, the shuttle servicfe to the beach is complimentary, you only have to pay the sun umbrellas and anything else you may consume such as drinks, food, etc.
We are looking forward to your next visit,
ARRIVEDERCI !!!!!
Fam. Quartucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just stayed for the second time at this top class hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it. The rooms are lovely overlooking the sea and you can't beat the sea views from the rooftop terrace where you have breakfast. The breakfast selection is fantastic, we also ate dinner here which was delicious. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the main area where the bars and restaurants are located but what makes a stay here truly special is the staff, they are incredibly attentive and welcoming. Villa Carlotta is the perfect place for a relaxing break and we will definitely be coming back again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nadineharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is our second time staying at this Hotel. We didn't even consider staying at supposedly grander or palatial-sounding place because after you experience this staff's warm hospitality and the top notch accommodations--all you want to encounter is the same. In the past, my husband and I stayed at the Hotel and we had a lovely room overlooking the sea--but, alas it was a cold December and while the view was still impressive, it was not the same as when we returned in June. In June of this year, there was no room at the hotel, but we were able to stay at a lovely apartment, very close to the hotel which had everything one could need for your Sicilian holiday as a family (stove, refrigerator, dishes, pots, washer/dryer, even a toaster)! It turned out ideal as we were traveling with my parents, they had their own room with en suite toilet (as did my husband and I). The apartment was decorated in a lively nautical theme and had a lovely view of the ocean and Mt. Etna. We had access to all of the amenities of the Hotel (pool, bar) and we dined at the roof top terrace restaurant where we enjoyed our complimentary cocktail. The Chef came out to greet us and told us a bit about himself and the inspiration for the dishes he prepared. In addition to a wonderfully delicious meal (and reasonably priced for Italy) the view, again was superb!! Ricardo and his staff (special hello to Olga) helped us with arranging for a shuttle service to the beach, and even after we missed our "pick up" because of a misunderstanding (on our part), they were very solicitous--making sure to arrange for the driver to pick us up so that we could enjoy our "beach time" at the wonderful Lido La Caravella (great lunch there too). The hotel provides these top of the line, soft beach towels in the cutest little raffia-like bags--too cute! This is the place to stay if you want a first rate experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilcb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 68 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Pirandello, 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing