We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“oustanding service and exellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Magdeburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“oustanding service and exellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have spend a week at the App with our Kids.
We had a warm welcome by Riccardo & Nathalie which bring us up to the lounge with a magnificent view to Mr. Etna and the blue sea. Meanwhile the car was parked from the staff and the luaggage was already in the Appartment when Nathalie was bringing us there a few moments later. Our App. (no 2) had around 120sqm 2 Bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a livingroom with a small kitchen. Everything was in good condition. A small balcony brings you close to the italian city feeling and each time our Kids had to check if the Mr. Etna and the blue sea is still there.
The service was just great - The App was cleaned every day and the ladies were very nice and helpfull.
If you need to make your breakfast by yourself - you just walk a few meters behind the public garden - there is a small shop which gives you all you need ... bread, wine, pasta, cheese, some fruits and even a candy for the kids every day.
The Hotel is just a few meters away. We could use the pool and had the chance to use the Breakfast every morning without caling.
Thank you Riccardo, Simona, Nathalie and all the people from Villa Carlotta to make this place a very special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christophsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Christophsky,
on behalf of Villa Carlotta staff I would like to thank you for your generous and appreciative review.
Our apartments are becoming very popular among our guests and are much requested now.We are very happy that you had such great time there and in general in our hotel.
We sincerly hope to have you back again at Villa Carlotta next year.
Kind regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    150
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
327
946
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed 8 days at the Villa Carlotta in mid-March. The weather was perfect spring, the town
of Taormina lovely allowing us to walk everywhere! The staff at the Villa Carlotta, beginning with our arrival until our departure was one of the best hotel experiences we have had. Mara greeted us each morning at breakfast with such warmth and treated us like family! Alberto, Natalie, Riccardo, Simona, Marco, Chef David, the Pastry Chef and any/all staff we came in contact with
were professional and ever so accommodating - we lacked for nothing. The room and amenities
were great and the view amazing. Every restaurant recommendation was excellent. There was plenty to do if desired and we arranged several tours through J & J services. The Mt. Etna trip is worth the ride. We look forward to returning to Villa Carlotta in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent our easter holiday at Carlotta and from the arrival till we left the staff was professional, frindly and helpful. The surroundings were beautiful and our room was large, clean and very comfortable with a famtastic view. The food was well prepared and very tasty. A place we definitely would like to come back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dulhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a really really amazing time at Villa Carlotta. Its a family run hotel with high attention to service. The staff are really attentive and friendly without being overbearing. They seem to thrive on ensuring you have a wonderful holiday. The rooms are lovely, with fantastic views. Nothing it too much trouble. The breakfast is beyond anything you could imagine. Drinks looking at Mount Etna smouldering was wonderful. We all enjoyed our stay from my 14 year old son to my mid-70s parents. This has to be the best hotel in Sicily.

We went in early April, it was really quite in the town which was great for getting bookings in restaurants, having lovely weather.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. we had a superior double and it had a sweet balcony with amazing views. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckymgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed at and is worthy of the fabulous reviews received. The staff are very attentive, we would like to thank in particular Nathalie, Marco, Simona and chef David Costa who prepared us a wonderful lasagne. The rooms are spacious, we had a junior suite which had stunning views of the sea, very quiet and the bed was so comfortable. Villa Carlotta is famous for its breakfast, we had a choice of everything you could imagine including cheese, ham, fruit, cereal, egg, pastries, cakes, juice, great coffee and champagne. The location is superb, just a few minutes walk to Corso Umberto with shops and restaurants. Make sure you visit the Greek amphitheatre and Castelmola with wonderful views of the bay and Mount Etna. Thank you so much for making our holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102, it was on the same floor as reception. A junior suite, very quiet with two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dddeeefff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This definitely rates as my favourite European hotel to date. The whole experience was an absolute pleasure and I would recommend to anyone wanting a touch of luxury, backed up with fantastic staff.. Nathalie, Simona, Marco, Alberto and David (chef) are all naturally friendly and showed how a hotel should be run. The breakfast was amazing and even included fresh, homemade pastries and champagne. On our first morning we spent around an hour and a half trying to experience as much as we could combined with spectacular views from the rooftop dining area.

We ate in the hotel on 2 occasions and on our final night, David made for us his own unique Lasagne, which was so light and delicious. Marco always provided efficient and knowledgeable service, nothing was too much trouble.

The location of the hotel is perfect for walking into the main town and visting the communal gardens. Its takes around 30 minutes to walk down to the beach and 2 minutes coming back up in the cable car.

We drove to Mount Etna which takes around an hour. If you want to go up to the first station by cable car it costs around 30 Euros each. It was snowing and quite cloudy when we arrived so decided not to go any higher, which would have cost another 27 Euros. Still a great experience and well worth the trip.

Parking (and driving) in Taormina is difficult and the hotel looked after our vehicle for 20 Euros a night...not cheap, but judging by the bumps and scrapes on the majority of parked cars, we felt it was a good option.

Would love to return to this hotel..possibly for our 25th wedding anniversary next year.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room...possibly requesting a third floor room would give a better view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stig777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ct.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved the Villa Carlotta. The rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished with water views and the hotel is well located for walking to the main shopping street as well as the park and the Greek amphitheater. Breakfasts are amazing, with a variety of baked treats as well as fruit, cheese, hams, cereal, even champagne. The views of Etna from the breakfast area are wonderful and the staff were very helpful. There is also a library which has terrific views.We ate dinner one evening and service was very slow, possibly because it was low season and the kitchen was understaffed. If we ever return to Taormina, Villa Carlotta is where I would want to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and avoid a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannWestport_Ct_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing