We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Carlotta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a lovely hotel! The staff could not have been more helpful or kind, from those at the front desk to the staff in the dining room. Breakfast was just wonderful and to eat it overlooking the ocean only added to the experience. Dinners we ate at the hotel were very good too, thanks to the creative young chef. You are close enough to everything in Taormina so that you can walk around and almost forget about your car. Our first room was lovely but a little noisy because of the location, but getting moved was not a problem. When we wanted to lounge about and read before dinner, we used the library on the top floor with it's spectacular view. (To be fair, the view from the room was pretty spectacular itself!) We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Carlotta.

Room Tip: Our lovely room nearest the front desk was a little bit noisy, but once we moved one floor up, we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    150
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
327
946
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The first time i came to this hotel i was totally smitten by its charm, beauty and delicate touches. Truly a jewel of the hotel industry. Now i have returned and all i can say is that i totally reconfirm my views from the first time i stayed in this hotel.
The stuff are simply top notch, very welcoming, always attentive to your needs, and carry a smile all the time.... truly dedicated to their jobs and roles.....
This is surely a hotel to return to and to recommend....
A true representation of the best Italy can offer.....
Well done, keep it up.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpbarthet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Dong Nai, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had an amazing 10 days, in this wonderfully romantic hotel, for our honeymoon. The room was spacious as was the bathroom and they even provided us with a massive basket of sweet breads and fruit. The view from the terrace is truly stunning and the catacombs (if I'm right in saying that's what they are) in which the hotel seems have built around help lull you into a sense of history and peacefulness. The pool although small and heavily laden with chlorine is still a lovely place to relax away from the constant drone of scooters and the crowded streets of Taormina. The staff give us great advice as to how to and where to travel, the bus trip up Mt Etna was a particular highlight. The breakfast was huge, internet was fast and whats more the staff were wonderful. Admittedly I wouldn't stay here with young children, only because it is such a relaxing place. Thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Don't open your eyes when swimming under the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyMcCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear MartyMCCaff,
we would like to thank you and your wife fore staying at Villa Carlotta last summer and for remembering so well your enjoyable stay.
Yes thank you for pointing out the beauty of our roman catacombs where we made a charming lounge which really makeds the difference !
We hope to have the chance to have you back at Villa Carlotta soon and send you our warmest regards.
Mr Riccardo, booking Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. We stayed in a great apartment, with a very good living room, a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed ... The view from the balcony of the apartment is wonderful... You see the Mediterranean sea and Mount Etna. The hotel staff is very kind, responsive and professional. We had three wonderful days. We were very well received by Simona and Riccardo. They kept continous contact with us since the moment we made the reservation online... We recommend the hotel Villa Carlotta!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pedro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I Stayed here quite sometime ago but completely forgot to add my review! The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble! A real gem in an amazing place. I stayed on my own whilst on business in the area. The breakfast area had a relaxed atmosphere but was every so tasty! The Breakfast staff, esp Maria was the most genuine kind women i have ever met! I can see why they win so many awards!

Amazing views of Mount Etna!

Keep it up - i will be returning! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear CTKev,
thank you so much for your wonderful review which we highly appreciated.
As you noticed we all at Villa Carlotta strive to provide our guests with the utmost high service together with a charming ambiance and beautiful panoramic rooms surrounded by a very elegant and informal envinronment.
Thank you for your appreciation for breakfast, we have become very popular for this special event !!!
We hope that you will soom come back to visit us!
Kind regards from all Villa Carlotta staff and Mary in particular,
warm regards,
Fam. Quartucci, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just returned from our sojourn in Sicily - with our time at Villa Carlotta as the highpoint of our trip. As the Hotel is closed in January - we stayed in one of the nearby Villa Carlotta Apartments - and it was thoroughly delightful in every respect. Beautifully decorated and executed, spacious and comfortable - we felt deliciously at home. Just a few steps from the Giardino Communale - the location was as exquisite as it was convenient. Ricardo, Simona and Patricia were exemplary and my husband and I will surely return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We had the apartment on the first floor - but I am sure all 3 apartments are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Robin B. from New York.
it was really lovely to read your positive feedback just after your stay in our apartments in January .
On behalf of my collegues Simona and Patrizia and the owner Mr Quartucci I would like to thank you for staying with us. As you mention our luxury apartments are very nice and well appointed and even if the hotel is closed there is a full team at guests' full disposal during their stay.
It was lovely every morning to have suuch long talks with your husband about the world and tourism, we all truly are looking forward to your next visit in the summer 2013.
Warmest regards from Hotel Villa Carlotta staff
Mr. Riccardo C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Villa Carlotta, our sixth & final stop on a month long tour of Italy was everything we expected. A beautiful boutique hotel, luxurious, gracious & totally welcoming. We had a Junior Suite overlooking the pool and gardens with ocean views beyond that. The room was beautifully furnished though smaller than expected and the balconies not large enough to sit out. That said it was so hot that it would have been too uncomfortable to do so anyway. We could not fault anything really, the bed was superb, (so comfy), it was very quiet with added blackout drapes,well serviced and quite spotless.

Our two favourite venues, the rooftop terrace restaurant and beautiful pool & garden area. Upon arrival we were taken to the rooftop for a welcome drink (beer, prosecco, juice) and time to enjoy the fabulous views out over the sea & to Etna in the distance. It was so beautiful we decided to dine there that night and we actually ate in on three occasions during our stay when we wanted a a quieter evening. I have to say breakfasts were awesome, such a spread with everything imagineable - you couldn't fail but gain at least a couple of extra pounds by just looking. Wonderful mediterranean roasted vegetables, meats, cheeses and the cakes & pastries tasted like they had come straight from Nonna's kitchen. I want to go back just for those, they were so good ... and the coffee was also fantastic - a great way to begin each day. The pool area was small and at times it seemed to be overrun by a couple of family groups with small children but still nice to enjoy when you wanted to relax for a couple of hours. The hotel runs a free shuttle service to a couple of beaches where you can also spend the day. Also loved the short walk into Taormina via the beautiful gardens along the way - great location to stay in.

Of course none of this works unless you have a dedicated team striving to make your stay a pleasurable one. Villa Carlotta can be very proud of their wonderful staff who obviously enjoy being a part of this hotel family. I cannot remember everyone's names but I can still see their smiling faces, especially Simona, Riccardo, Ajith and the lovely waiter in the restaurant each night. Nothing was too much trouble and whatever we requested was provided in a most caring manner. Honest, unbiased recommendations for the best places to eat, great tables reserved for us, maps, directions and suggestions for our day trips, they took care of our parking, absolutely everything. And when we left, they were there at the front of the hotel waving us goodbye - it was like parting from family or close friends. Lovely hotel, lovely week and Sicily the highlight of our travels - we hope to come back one day !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KennardFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing