We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel deserves recognition as one of the best boutique hotels in Europe. The service is over the top from check in, to bar and restaurant, to car service. The rooms are well appointed with spectacular views. In addition, the owner is ever present with a kind word and smiling face. We travel extensively and this is one of our best experiences.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniM129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    153
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
335
961
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Villa Carlotta is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in. I travel alot and also work in the hospitality industry.
The genuinely warm welcome, professional approach and easy check-in was delightful. The welcome drink on the balcony of the roof-top restaurant was really awesome. The view is breath-taking, surrounded by the Ionian sea and flanked by Mount Etna.
The room was very nice, the bathroom was large and it was tastefully furnished. The hotel garden and the pool are lovely. It is a secluded space with a small bar.
The staff were extremely helpful, polite and attentive. It was a really positive experience.
The breakfast is excellent, served in the rooftop restaurant. Everything is fresh and there is so much choice. I can honestly say it is one of the best hotel breakfasts I have eaten.
The location is perfect. It is a 5 minute walk into the main town. There is a sidewalk and a serene little park to walk through on-route. In the other directon, the bus station is an easy 10 minute walk, for airport transfers or travelling to other towns.
Taormina is a wonderful place. The restaurants are very good. There is also alot of good wine. It is reasonably priced and so very pretty. In my opinion, one of the nicest towns in Italy.
I would definately recommend Villa Carlotta to anyone thinking about staying in Taormina.
I thought that it was excellent value for money and more than deserved to be considered one of the best small luxury boutique hotels in the world.
I would like to thank Andrea Quartucci and his excellent team for making my time in Taormina unforgettable and an amazing, wondeful experience. Molto Grazie. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinylittledevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Tinylittle devil from London,
I have been literally overwhelmed by the compliments and the praises you reserved to us. I want to thank you so much for having been able to summarize in few sentences what Villa Carlotta looks like and what we can offer to our guests as a small luxury boutique hotel and what it is our concept of hospitality.
We have just closed for the winter and this was icing on the cake of a fabolous touristic season where we all had the chance to meet so many wonderful guests.
We live in a small paradise and are happy to share it with you all !!!!
Finally a special thank to YOU and your partner for complimenting me directly and my team, Villa Carlotta would not be what it is without each of these hard full of passion workers!
Looking forward to your next visit in 2013, my very best regards,
Mr. Andrea Quartucci and the whole Villa Carlotta staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our stay in Taormina was wonderful,the Hotel Villa Carlotta was fabulous!
The staff were wonderful, couldn't do enough to make you happy and comfortable.
The rooms were excellent , beautiful views,the food fabulous.
We didn't want to leave!!!!
Thank you to everyone at Carlotta, we will definitely be back one day.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea, it was gorgeous. The room was quiet which made for a good nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel has the Best Breakfast we have ever seen. The hotel is small and run by a family that is on the site most of the time. The staff and helpful with smiles on their faces always. We were to stay for 3 nights and added two more. Their is so much to do and see in that area and the hotel is a great place to come back to at the end of the day. We had a Jr. Suite with a great water view. We will return to this gem one day!

Room Tip: You walk to different restaurants for dinner each day..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
267 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived to find our standard room was too small to be comfortable. No place to use a computer. No place for more than one to sit down. We upgraded to a suite, the one in the pictures which is on 2 floors. The suite and hotel are on the busiest curve climbing to the central town but fortunately it was quiet in the key sleeping hours and the windows are very thick. The traffic is noisy passing the hotel. The suite was very comfortable

The breakfast is excellent and you eat in the rooftop dining room with splendid views of the sea. The walk into the center is not long but there are no sidewalks and it is no fun with traffic zipping by.The communal garden is close to the hotel and worth a visit. Parking is valet at 15 Euros a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the street facing the ocean or pony up for the comfortable suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear canuck22 from San Francisco,
first of all thank you for staying at Villa Carlotta and to post a review about your stay.
Frankly after reading your comment it looks like you stayed in a different hotel.
You said you found our standard small (cheap last minute rate less than 100 euros a night incl. taxes and breakfst) but you were upgraded for a very little extra to a luxury Suite so why complaining ?
Our hotel is located in a wonderful position, overlooking the ocean (180 degrees) and surrounded by magnificient mediterranean gardens and roman ruins, it is absolutely quiet and the so called "busy road" is just in your imagination.... you said you didn't hear any noise so where is the problem ? Noisy traffic in November when the town is completely empty ... ? If you read the previous 100 reviews none, literally none reported noisy traffic problems not even in August, why did you do ?
I tell you with much respect that you were a little confused. When you talk about going to the pedestrian area of Taormina (6/7 min. walk) there are no sidewalks this is not true, there are definetely long comfortable sidewalks along the street, we can make a bet if you want ! Your confusion is also expressed in another Taormina review you posted about our magnificient Greek Theatre which you define "expensive for a ten minutes visit". You claim they charged you 16 euros per person but the real cost is 16 euros for two persons; the visit of one of the most beautiful monuments of Italy can last up to an hour or more not ten minutes ....and that is the price to help the maintanance of a place that is 2500 years old.
So again I respect your opinion but definetly disagree totally with it, and I believe your review is misleading for Villa Carlotta and our wonderful town of Taormina.
Kind regards,
Mr Andrea Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We received a warm welcome when we arrived with a tour of the hotel. Our room was great with a beautiful sea view. The breakfasts were supurb. The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. The location requires about a 15 minute walk up to the town, but it isn't a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbw643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopewell, new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this lovely small boutique hotel overlooking the ocean. wonderful staff, excellent breakfast and very comfortable room. Location is a 5 minute walk from the center of this unique town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brubarbtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing