We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
spokane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We received a warm welcome when we arrived with a tour of the hotel. Our room was great with a beautiful sea view. The breakfasts were supurb. The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. The location requires about a 15 minute walk up to the town, but it isn't a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbw643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    151
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
333
957
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hopewell, new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this lovely small boutique hotel overlooking the ocean. wonderful staff, excellent breakfast and very comfortable room. Location is a 5 minute walk from the center of this unique town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brubarbtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were lucky to get an apartment which was situated about 100 meters from the main hotel.it was very large with a lounge, 50 inch plasma TV etc, a very modern kitchen with all the equipment, dish washer. Microwave ,cooktops and a Nespresso coffee machine,full size frig and freezer.Large bathroom with shower bath and toilets. Very good for self catering as breakfast is not provided.servicing the apartment was done daily.internet wireless was available free and good reception. Parking was 15 euros a day.The reception and wait staff were very good and English spoken well.I would haveloved to stay longer and would definitely be back for two weeks. The proximity to the town and it's many shops and restaurants was a big plus.

The stairs up to the apartments should probably have some handholds for those with less than perfect knees, hips or backs. H H Mature couple. September2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Villa Carlotta and everyting about the hotel is perfect! The stff is helpful and friendly, the rooms have a beautiful view, breakfast buffet is outrageous and the location is perfect. I would highly recommend staying at Villa Carlotta.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clover1646745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have not long returned from a week at this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. Not only is the hotel beautiful - as is the view - but the staff are really wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and they gave great advice about trips, restaurants and places to go. I must mention Simona by name as she really helped to make our holiday go smoothly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are lovely, spacious and always clean, although ours could have benefited from a kettle and some tea and coffee (although I'm sure staff would have provided it if we'd asked). That's probably a very English requirement however.
Breakfasts were fantastic and the view from the terrace is a tonic for the soul.
We chose this hotel for a special occasion and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in what they offer so be sure to choose carefully - if you want a great view pick the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arriving at the hotel at 9.30pm after a complicated,tiring tour of the roads around Catania Airport we were given the warmest of welcomes by the reception staff.Within a few minutes we were sitting on the roof terrace at Villa carlootta overlooking the sea with a glass of cold Mount Etna wine.A few minutes later a table is laid and we are eating a delicious seafood spaghetti.This is a hotel who really understand travel and travellers.The delightful staff cannot do enough for you-booking lovely little restaurants or sorting out your day's itinerary.
The location is great,tucked away from pretty Taormina's hustle and bustle and 15 minutes walk down steps to the sea.The rooms are well appointed and relaxing,although we were lucky enough to be upgraded and the gardens are lovely.
Even breakfast ,a soulless buffet in so many places,relected the huge care and effort this hotel makes.Plates brimming full of stuffed peppers and aubergines;dishes of omelettes or fruit and platters of very fattening but dleicous looking sweet pastries.The range of options in this bufffet was huge-and all served with a smile.
We had one evening dinner in the Grand Hotel Timeo.The food was perfectly good,although not quite as tasty as a couple of the smaller restaurants,but the welcome from some of the staff paid to greet you would have frozen a polar ice cap.We were so pleased that we had opted for the warmth and helpfulness of Villa Carlotta,and significantly cheaper too.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Jandjj47 from London,
it was simply fabolous to read your lovely review regarding your recent stay at Villa Carlotta.
We feel proud when we score a goal: to make our guests feel at home in our luxury and charming ambience where, as you said, all the staff is focused on guests' happiness, this is the Villa Carlotta concept.
We truly hope you will visit us again next year and in the meantime wish you and your family the best of life.
Mr. Andrea Quartucci, the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel Villa Carlotta has a wonderful location - close enough to the centre to walk to (5 minutes) but far enough out to feel quiet and private. It also has a great individual, unique feel to it. The breakfasts were amazing - a huge selection of freshly cooked Sicilian dishes as well as a wide continental selection served on a terrace overlooking the sea and Mount Etna. Our room was not particularly big but the terrace and views more than made up for this. What made it stand out to our family however (2 children under 10) was the excellent service. All the staff (and in particular Mary) were extremely friendly and welcoming, especially to the children, and helpful throughout our stay.. My son's only complaint (and this isn't the fault of the hotel) is that we could only stay 2 nights as it was full the following night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
1,693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Property: Hotel Villa Carlotta
Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing