We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel and its staff greatly exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

three couples love to travel together once a year to different places outside the u.s.a. this year we picked a week in umbria and a week in sicily. the so called experts in our group picked the hotel villa carlotta in taormina, sicily, italy. a grand slam home run; this lovely hotel has it all. beautiful small hotel, great location (easy walking to city center and nice view of the sea), nicely decorated and comfortable rooms, great food in their restaurant and the nicest staff that we have experienced in a long time. from andrea, the owner to the front desk and concierge staff (olga, simona, ajith, ricardo) to the restaurant staff (marco, alberto, synetha, mary, patirizia, etc.) to our housekeeper (enza); everyone truly made us feel at home. after a couple of days, we were like family and when we left there were hugs and a couple of wet eyes. on behalf of our group i cannot say enough great things about this experience except to say 5 stars is not enough.

Room Tip: it appeared that all the rooms faced the Mediterranean sea or the garden and the pool. my room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondpointtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Diamond Point New York,
as front office manager and on behalf of all my collegues and the Villa Carlotta entire staff we want to thank you very much for your lovely words and compliments expressed about your last week stay at Villa Carlotta. It was very nice for some of staff that work in the "darkness" you remembered their names, very unusual, and feel so proud and happy !!!!
It is nice that you felt we were like family for a week, you can definetely believe we are (we will not forget you crying when left, we were very touched). Now all you must do is planning another stay here, maybe longer, just send me a short email and I will set everything with you in 5 minutes !!!!
Warmest regards to you and to the other two lovely couples travelling from Villa Carlotta staff and the Quartucci family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary night here and found this hotel to be the perfect setting for us. The location is superb as it is situated mid way up the hill that Taormina is on and hence walking both up to the centre of the town and down to the beach was very convenient. The rooms are comfortable and luxurious. The food for both breakfast and dinner was very good. The views from the rooftop are superb. The staff really are great here. Marco, Simona and the two ther staff at Reception (who I have completely forgotten the names of! Sorry guys! - Greek looking lady and Zorro looking guy).

A special mention must go to the owners, Mr. and Mrs. Quartucci who were very polite, warm and welcoming people. My wife and I wished to stay an extra night and unfortunately, the hotel had no availability. The owners heard of this when we popped in to say hello the following day and as a gesture of goodwill or maybe being their usual nice selves insisted that we have dinner at their hotel on them which we did and despite offering to pay, we were told strictly no chance as Mr. and Mrs. Quartucci had personnally advised the staff that we were not to pay for our meal.

This is absolutely the hotel to be staying at in Taormina.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zahid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from Sicily where we stayed 3 nights in the Villa Carlotta. The staff (Mary, Simona, Marco... and others- sorry for not remembering all your names) were so helpful and friendly. It was my daughter's 13th birthday on the day we arrived and we found a cake and balloons in our room! Andrea, the owner, introduced himself to us at breakfast which was very nice. The location just below Taormina is perfect; the views from the terrace and from our room were stupendous.; the pool area was very lovely (even if the water was rather too cold for swimming!). We were very pleased indeed with everything at Villa Carlotta and can recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AideenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great place to stay. Excellent location and views and lovely friendly staff. Great rooms and gorgeous breakfast. We had a junior suitr garden room with our little girl which was great as we had a separate lounge and patio doors going out onto our own patio area with table and chairs and sunloungers. We couls walk from this straight out onto the main garden.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife, 17yo daughter and I spent six nights here in October 2012. This is a clean, smart, well run luxury hotel in a convenient location in Taormina. Both rooms were well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The breakfast on the top floor terrace, with fabulous views, was fresh and appetising with wonderful staff to pamper and please. All the staff were friendly and most helpful with excellent restaurant recommendations. The centre of Taormina is only a short walk from the hotel. There is a roof-top snug where you can enjoy a late evening drink and relax after a busy day...on holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast was absolutely amazing and beyond words. The setting on the terrace for breakfast (and dinner and cocktails) each day offered an incredible view of the sea and was stunningly beautiful. The women who assist each day with breakfast, Mary and Mara, are extremely personable and professional. The hotel is in a convenient location to shops and the beautiful Corso Umberto and Greek Theater.

We stayed in one of the largest rooms and although it was quite beautiful it was beginning to show its age. The bathrooms drains were both very slow and sometimes backing up. The fabric headboard was slightly stained and had a small rip along the bottom. Even the remote control had tape holding in the batteries!? Overall the room was excellent and very large.

Room Tip: Try to stay on an upper floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacarlotta, Owner at Hotel Villa Carlotta, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Forefood from New York,
I would like to thank you for your praises and I am happy to hear you had a very good stay at Villa Carlotta. Thank you also for complimenting the hotel and the ladies at breakfast as well as your room.
However I am very sorry to hear that you had the perception that your "beautiful and large" room was showing its age. Villa Carlotta was completely refurbished and remodeled in 2007 and every single year during the winter closure time it undergoes a total room and systems renovation; you have to agree with me that Villa Carlotta is an antique villa wich stands into an archeological area and you have to understand that things do not work like in a New York modern brand new hotel: the pipeline system is old, the drainage and sewage system is probably dated 500 hundreds years ago, etc. but that's part of the deal of staying in an Italian charming villa ! By reading all the recent TA reviews none reported anything like having a dated room, because they are fresh and clean. I am so sorry if your stay was affected by a slow drainage but I want to hope you have other memories of your Taormina experience rather than this!!!!
Kind regards,
Mr Andrea Quartucci, The owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is very well run providing an outstanding service level . The garden suite we had was comfortable / well fitted. The restaurant located on the roof which is stylishly fitted out has a view to die for of Etna and the coast thus breakfast / dinner is a sightseeing event ! Both breakfast and dinner were of high quality The hotels location is quiet but central to key sights / beach

Whilst not a big issue compared with the positives of Carlotta , our suite lacked privacy as access to a neighbouring site was only available across our patio and in front of our windows . With a little rearrangement of the paths in the garden , I think this could have been avoided

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venturer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlotta

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 81, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $286 - $1,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlotta 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlotta is an aristocratic 1860 Sicilian villa converted into a luxury boutique hotel in the centre of Taormina at 5/7 minutes walk to the historical pedestrian area of town. Our hotel, member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group, is located in a panoramic and tranquil part of Taormina, overlooking the Ionian sea, lush mediterranean gardens, Italy’s mainland coast and on one side Mount Etna, Europe’s highest and most interesting active volcano.You can feel an informal and elegant atmosphere all around the hotel which has been decorated individually by celebrated Italian interior designers making it an idyllic place, ideal for honeymooners or for those looking for romance, relax and good Sicilian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlotta Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Carlotta Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing