We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
View from apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
View from apartment
Night time view from Villa Virginia
view from apartment number 4 July 2014
Kitchen
Isola Bella - Great spot for eating fresh fish and soaking up the sun
Views to Mount Etna and Bay of Naxos
View of Etna and Taormina Greek Theatre
Hi all,I'm Virginia and i'm the manager of the Villa
view from apartment number 4 July 2014
certificate of Excellence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Maja M
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the apartment nr.4, beautiful view, spacious, well equipped, spotlessly clean, we loved it. Virginia was always available on the phone or by email, and her mother greeted us when we arrived, showed everything in the apartment. We don`t speak Italian, but we understood everything. We sincerely recommend this place for a holiday, hopefully we`ll come again.
Maja M.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic M
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Taormina Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived to a warm welcome by Virginia and her sister Pina. The accommodations were perfectly clean (and my wife has very high standards). The view from our private garden and patio of Mt. Etna, Taormini, and the Straits of Messina/Ionian Sea was incredible. We used Taormina as a base and traveled to other towns and villages very easily in our rented car. Having our own parking spot in the garage was very convenient. Although Virginia did not speak English and our Italian was limited, we were able to communicate sufficiently. We could also call Virginia's daughter who spoke English very well. To summarize, Villa Virginia exceeded our expectations and we highly recommend it.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela E
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks staying in apartment 4. Having negotiated the long steep winding road we were greeted at the apartment by Pina, (Virginia's Mum) who was very friendly and showed us round the apartment and how everything worked. The apartment was immaculately clean, very spacious and has amazing views of the surrounding area below as well as Mount Etna. The apartment is well equipped and has a secure garage, and also has air conditioning. There is a balcony which gets the sun from around 1pm - 8pm, and large outdoor terrace with a table and chairs.
Taormina is a beautiful charming town with plenty of restaurants/pizzerias/. Corso Umberto is the main street through the town, where you can spend hours just wandering through taking in the atmosphere and sights.
Al Saranceno restaurant is just up from the apartment, which we would highly recommend, together with Mamma Rosso, which is down in the main town. If you like cocktails, don't leave without trying Dacquiri, a quaint little bar whose outside seating is based on steps up the narrow street, looks a bit odd, but very enjoyable.
The beaches in Taormina are a bit difficult to get to on foot, but there are plenty of buses to take you there, or alternatively you can drive down. We also visited the beach at Gardiani Naxos which is was very good.
There is a supermarket in Taormina, but bearing in mind the hilly climb back to the apartment (which involved approximately 450 steps) is tricky to say the least if you're trying to carry shopping. We did a main shop at Lidl at Fiumfreddo about 20 minutes away, and then used the local supermarket and bakers. If you're looking for the bakers (who make delicious croissants, take the steps on the right hand side just after Hotel Du Calle and keep going down until you come to the fourth road. You will see some railings in front of you, turn right, go round the corner, and the bakers is just at the top of that road. Best go early so as not to be disappointed.
Also worth a visit is the town of Noto and Modica.
Virginia and John were always available to speak to if needed, and on the occasion that we needed their assistance, they had it sorted in no time at all.
We would definitely recommend Villa Virginia and Taormina and will definitely be back in the future.

Location
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan1953...
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Best views in Sicily!”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Contacted Virginia through Owners Direct, she responded quickly and was really polite, couldn't have been more helpful.
Arrived at our apartment (number 4) which was open plan, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Virginias mum Pina was lovely showing us around the apartment, explaining in Italian how to use the air conditioning, keys, WIFI and even the washing machine (remember to take your own powder). Even though we don't speak much Italian and she doesn't speak much English we understood! We then went onto the large balcony which wraps itself around the apartment and saw the breathtaking views of the bay with its cruise liners, magnificent Mount Etna, Castel Madonna Della Rocca and the town of Taormina-AMAZING!
We had a small hire car which we parked in the garage downstairs.
There was a booklet on the table with lots of valuable information in about the apartment and places to visit. Also includes information about a very good deal re: transport to the beach as it is very difficult to park around the beach areas.
Whilst we were there some building work was in progress next to our apartment block but this wasn't a problem for us.
You can go to Taormina either by some steep steps near the bus stop just down the road from the apartments or there is another set of steps(not quite as steep) just near the church at Maddona della Rocca. Please note there are a lot of steps-lovely walk into town but we did chicken out coming back most times and got a taxi for 15 euros (if you mention Villa Ducale which is nearby to Villa Virginia most drivers will know where you want to go). There is an Interbus and also an ATM bus service to/ from Taormina which stops near the villa and then goes onto Castelmola. However, the last bus from Taormina to Castelmola is approx. 8.45pm. (Timetables are in the booklet at the apartment and online).
Favourite shopping was at a Lidl supermarket in Fiumefreddo, lovely drive and also the supermarket had everything we needed (can recommend the freshly baked olive bread).
The kitchen at the apartment has two hotplates and a microwave but this was fine and we made some great meals including ravioli, paella containing a nice mixture of shell fish and squid, some really lean beefburgers all purchased from Lidl. There is a dining table and chairs on the balcony and seeing all the places along the coast lit up against the black sky in the evening whilst dining was truly amazing.
Taormina also has lots of beautiful restaurants but our favourite place to eat out was Al Saraceno which was only 5/10 minutes walk from the apartments-also had 10% discount for Villa Virginia residents!
We styed in the apartment for 3 weeks and although high up it was a perfect base for visiting Taormina, Castelmola, Etna and lots of other places. We were lucky enough to see Etna erupt one night and send some bright flames up into the black sky surrounding it.
Apartment 4 had sunshine on the balcony about 2 o'clock until 7 o'clock whilst we were there. However if you like to sunbathe apartment 2 may be even better as it has sunbeds and sun for most of the day.
Lovely holiday with views to remember!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Magnificent views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterO101...
Mainz, Germany
1 review
“Great view to Etna and coast”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We lived in apartment 4. Great rooms with windows all around. Great terrace too. Beautiful view to Etna and coast of naxos. Way down to Taormina easy, upwards not, cause of full stomach. Taxi 10 -15 €. Very good restaurant nearby. Virginia and her mother very kindly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and kindly Virginia.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F
Leipzig, Germany
2 reviews
“Excellent Appartement”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just spending some days here at appt 4. Great flat, equipment, view (both to Mount Etna and the sea), location, neighbourhood.
Booking with Virginia and local handling with Pina works very well. 100% recommendation!!

Visit was for: Privat
Traveling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReviewerT...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment with amazing views”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well appointed. Virginia and her mother could not have been more helpful throughout. Virginia even rang my mobile shortly after we had landed to warn us of a motorway closure and suggest alternative routes, that's brilliant customer service.

Sitting on the balcony watching cruise ships arrive in the harbour with Etna smoking away, you can't beat it, wonderful.

You have to bear in mind that you are quite a way above Taormina and while it's a beautiful walk down to the town somehow it's not such fun going back up. There are 2 sets of steps into town, the picturesque set from Madonna de la Rocca and a slightly shortly route that starts at the bus-stop

We had hired a car, I am a confident and regular driver in Europe, but the circuitous route made entirely of hairbends up to the flat took quite a bit of getting used to, especially given that the local drivers like the challenge of squeezing through the tightest gaps!

There is a good-sized supermaket in town, just outside the Catania gate and up the hill. Otherwise the shopping is limited. As we had a car we often shopped in Lidl at Fuimefreddo it was very good.

We highly recommend this apartment, you are unlikely to ever get views as grand as this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Driving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing