We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enchanting”
other travelers have booked this property
View from apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
View from apartment
Night time view from Villa Virginia
view from apartment number 4 July 2014
Kitchen
Isola Bella - Great spot for eating fresh fish and soaking up the sun
Views to Mount Etna and Bay of Naxos
View of Etna and Taormina Greek Theatre
Hi all,I'm Virginia and i'm the manager of the Villa
view from apartment number 4 July 2014
certificate of Excellence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Susan R
1 review
“Enchanting”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We really enjoyed our time at Villa Virginia, the views were fabulous and it was so peaceful. It is perched high above Taormina, well away from the bustle but the bus service makes it easy to access the town. The apartment was spotless and well appointed, the garage is an advantage if you hire a car, as we did, as parking is very difficult in town. Every one was very helpful and certainly made us feel very welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Apartment 2 which is on the first floor and has lovely views over the coastline and Mount Etna plus its own private garden which is a real bonus. The apartment is situated on a hill on the outskirts of Taormina and you can reach the town via a nearby pedestrian short cut with steps (in about 10/15 minutes) rather than taking the road. The accommodation is spotless, modern and very comfortable and is situated in a quiet spot whilst being accessible to Taormina and away from the crowds of this popular and picturesque resort. Virginia dealt with the whole booking process extremely efficiently and everything went very smoothly on arrival. We would certainly recommend Villa Virginia!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan W
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Virginia”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at Villa Virginia, an apartment we chose based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Our apartment (#2) had an incredible view of Mt. Etna from which we viewed a small eruption while we were there. The apartment was new and immaculately clean. All the appliances, the air conditioning, the TV and Internet worked without a problem and there was plenty of hot water.

For those considering booking and for the information of the property owner and manager, I will mention just a few things that might have improved our experience. First, the apartment was difficult to find. To reach it you must drive through Taormina and wind your way through narrow streets up toward the small town of Castel Mola. We did not have mobile phone service and do not speak Italian and could not call the manager or ask others for directions. A map and step by step directions would have been most helpful. I requested these but they were not provided. To be honest, it would still have been a bit difficult to find and I would offer a few tips—keep going up and almost always to the right and follow signs toward Castel Mola. Also, there is a mobile phone tower just behind the apartment that can be seen from very far away and helps when navigating.

Second, the parking garage under the house has spaces for four cars, but if other cars are parked in some of these spaces, there is little room to maneuver. One of the spaces is actually in the doorway and getting around the car parked there made things very difficult for us in spite of the fact that we had a small car. I’m not sure how this could be fixed.

Third, we love to relax in a comfortable chair and read. Except for the chairs at the dining table, there was only the sofa and there were no lamps next to the sofa. The ceiling lights illuminated the room, but did not help for reading. The lamps beside the bed were too short and small to provide enough light for reading.

I would like to reiterate that our experience was very positive. Virginia’s mother waited for us at the apartment while we were lost and gave us a tour. Although she spoke no English and we no Italian, she was able to communicate everything that was necessary. She was very gracious. We enjoyed eating several nights at a restaurant near the apartment, al Saracceno. It was only a short walk and we did not have to get the car out of the garage or take a bus or taxi.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickyvizs...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Taormina is beautiful with lovely restaurants, bars, cafes, shops and easily accessible beaches (via the cable car - €3 each way).
Villa Virginia was in excellent condition, well furnished and equipped.
Its location gives you beautiful views of the coastline and Mount Etna (we would definitely recommend apartment 4) but don't under estimate the walk back up from town which we did a couple of times but we also took a taxi a couple of times (€10)!
There is a restaurant within very easy walking distance (Al Saraceno) which serves great food and if you fancy a hike (a good 20 minutes up a very steep hill!) you can also walk up to Castelmola for more amazing views and choice of a few restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views
Liked least: The walk back up from town!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne P
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at Villa Virginia!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at Villa Virginia, Taormina. We stayed in apartment 3 which had great views of the sea, Saracen castle and Madonna del a Rocca. The locations was nice and quite only 15 min walk on the path from Madonna del a Rocca down to Corso Umberto offering great views all the way.

The apartment was modern, light, airy and spotlessly clean. It had a well equipped kitchen with hob, microwave, kettle, fridge and all kitchen utensils needed. The added bonus of the washing machine, clothes maiden, iron, ironing board and hairdryer was also great to have. The apartment also had aircon units in both the bedroom and kitchen.

The balcony, which wraps around the apartment, was nice and sunny in the morning. Great for breakfast with a view!

The apartment is managed by Virginia who is very helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble! We will definitely be staying at Villa Virginia again on our next holiday to Taormina and will recommend the apartment to everybody.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annecolma...
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little piece of heaven”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled from Ireland on our first visit to Sicily.This was our first time booking 'Owner Direct', so we were a little apprehensive. Well, Villa Virginia, Taormina was everything we expected, and more. Virginia communicated with us before our arrival,booked a taxi to meet us at the bus station, and her Mum Pina, welcomed us warmly when we arrived tired and weary. All I needed was tea.... Well, milk etc appeared in a jiffy and so began 8 wonderful days at Villa Virginia. When we mentioned that we'd forgotten the ipad charger, Virginia arranged for her Mum Pina to buy a charger for us. it was such special treat.
The villa suited us perfectly. It was a spacious, beautifully furnished apartment.
And the view....What can we say ...from the large balcony we'd a panoramic view of the Bay, Mount Etna, Castel Madonna Del Rocca and the town of Taormina. it was quiet and peaceful with lovely scenic walks and a restaurant nearby with delicious food especially fish dishes. The restaurant also had amazing views.
There was an hourly bus to the town of Taormina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the new spacious apartment with all amenities.
Liked least: The weather didn't oblige on the last 2days.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa Virginia, Taormina, Sicily”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Virginia was an amazing apartment. Probably the best I have ever stayed in. It was very clean, well equiped, and everything was in good order. The view from te balcony was spectacular, with panoramic views of Mount Etna, the sea and Taormina. There was a friendly welcome and all the relevent information was given. There was also a folder with local information including maps and bus timetables. The service from the property manager Virginia and her co worker Pina was ideal. Non intrusive, but quick to react to any quieries. The apartment is a10 minute walk to town, and a 15 - 20 walk back up from town to the apartment. There is a regular bus service to Taormina or Castlemola, if you don't feel like walking, and it stops close to the apartment. There are several local companies where you can book trips to places of interest including Mount Etna. We dused SAT who proved to be reliable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony view
Liked least: Walk up hillfrom Taormina
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing