We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing - should have more than three stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing - should have more than three stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was fantastic - we just couldn't believe that it only has three stars. The room we had was amazing, and on a par with five star hotels we've stayed in and the pool area was great. The staff were very helpful and the hotel is in a fantastic location. All excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    304
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
301
923
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Villa Belvedere is a tranquil oasis in the bustle of Taormina. Ideally situated close to the town centre, only a short walk from many excellent restaurants. Lunch by the pool at the hotel is fabulous and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. We have stayed three times now and love it.

Room Tip: The sea views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriacques, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Mrs. Kate,
How nice of you to write such very kind comments about your stays. We feel so glad and rewarded when our guests decide to return, year after year.
A heartfelt thank you and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.
Warmest regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I am fighting against myself to write this review as the Belvedere is the sort of place that's too good to share!

The Belvedere staff are all, without exception, a delight - from the car parker who seems to stack guests' cars in an impossible manner, to the smiling chambermaids and pool-boy, the lovely ladies who serve breakfast, the helpful receptionists and even the back-room accountant! This shows the difference of a family-run hotel where the owners are constantly on the spot and take a personal interest.

As of last June the rooms were not all redecorated but they ooze character and charm. I hope that when they finish the redecoration, this hotel does not lose its old-world charm in favour of a modern makeover, as at the moment it's just the most relaxing elegant place one could wish for, full of Sicilian charm. The terraces and views are to die for, as are the hotels pools and lush gardens.

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baroque5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriacques, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Belvedere, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Madame,
On behalf of all of our staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed a pleasant stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is one of the most wonderful hotel experiences, I have had. The staff at the hotel was amazing: Very helpful and always with a little smile on their face. Even the cleaning staff took their time to stop and smile when passing them. And yet the atmosphere was very relaxed and unpretentious.

The hotel itself was only ranked 3 starred, which might be because it has not been renovated for some time. However, this was not a problem as the hotel itself was nice, clean, and comfortable. And the pool as well as the view to the bay from here was also magnificent!

Really appreciated that it was a bit off from the main street(st) with all the noisy restaurants etc.

Overall, this is a nice hotel with the most amazing staff. Recommending it with no hesitations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakobChortsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at night and the guy who brought us to our room was very helpful(don't know his name only thing I know is he is not from Sicily) when we got into our room we find out that we had our own terrace/balcony with an amazing view which we did expect and we decide to order two bottles of wine as we all ready arrived late we enjoyed the view with our wines, the next morning we woke up with a amazing sunrise and went down for a breakfast which was very good, we stayed 2nights in total we wanted to extend one more night but they dind't had availability, I'm a boutique hotel owner and I must say that this hotel is definitely with a five star, Taormina is a great village and I will definitely come back one day and I will stay in villa belvedere, thanks to all stuff who made our stay memorable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sAmthemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Belvedere could be so much worse...and still get by based on its great location and lovely views. As a matter of fact though, the Belvedere would be a pretty good hotel wherever it was located. The staff are friendly and rooms are spacious and clean. It's also home to the world's most talented car park attendant. The car park is tiny and cars are squeezed in with no apparent regard to the need ever to get them out again. We hadn't moved our car for three days and, on checkout, it was seemingly stuck four or five cars deep. No problem for the attendant - a dozen or more manoeuvres of the other cars and we were free, no more than five minutes later.

The hotel is a few metres from the lovely municipal park and a short walk into town (for us, followed by a very long search for a decent restaurant that is open in November). Driving to the hotel isn't much fun in the crowded and narrow streets of Taormina but that's part and parcel of taking a car to this historic town.

Back to the views then. Fantastic. A long sweeping coastline, above which looms Etna. We had a balcony room and I spent plenty of time just taking it all in. Immediately below lie the lovely gardens and pool of the hotel. Unfortunately the pool wasn't heated, but then we were staying for the last few days of the season.

Breakfast was good but not exceptional. Plenty of variety was on offer but I felt it lacked a little verve. However, it would be wrong to end on a duff note for such a good hotel. This is a quality place (and, dare I say it, reasonable value for Taormina) and is friendly and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 7 nights ,had top floor room with fabulous views of Etna & Naxos The hotel was spotlessly clean inside & out .towels changed every day sheets every 2 days .breakfast was excellent with a good selection &good service . All the staff were very friendly & helpfull .Plenty of sun beds to go round no need to rush down to the pool also you are not alloud to leave your towels on sun beds to reserve them ( great ) .Plenty on the menu at the pool bar ,nice to sit by the pool & have lunch .Turn right out of the hotel 10min takes you to the cable car where you can have a little boat trip to Isola Bella .Left out of hotel is a short stroll into town with lovely gardens on left 50 mtrs .Also let's not forget the beautiful town of Taormina .Great hotel would not bother looking for anywhere else to stay in this area .

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony room no 60 .comes with 2chairs table & parasol
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Property: Hotel Villa Belvedere
Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing