We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Best Lodging In Sicily!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Best Lodging In Sicily!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel was recommended by an Italian friend in Vermont, and we booked for two nights . . . but ended up staying for three, simply because the hotel and the city were so lovely. Our room had a stunning view of the coast, with a small balcony. The breakfasts in the dining room were incredible, and even our elderly legs were adequate for our walks around town.
We really can't say enough! We would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. We loved everything we saw in Sicily, but this was, easily, our favorite lodging.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenKitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    323
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
317
1,001
45
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Belvedere in mid-May 2013.
We arrived around noon and were told that it would be an hour or so before our room would be ready.
During this time we were given a very detailed and helpful introduction to Taormina by Antonella from Reception. We were a little puzzled to be told that we would be staying in a beautiful apartment, as we had booked a room in the hotel.
When our room was ready, we were a little disconcerted when we were led out of the hotel and walked along the road.
Antonella advised us that the Manager had given us a complimentary upgrade to a new apartment owned by the hotel.
We were taken in the lift to the top-floor apartment, which was huge and beautifully furnished with stunning views from the full-sized terrace.
Despite the slight inconvenience of having to walk the hundred yards or so to the hotel for breakfasts etc. ( I have some mobility problems), we have to say this is without doubt the best accommodation we have stayed in since we started travelling abroad over 35 years ago.
Breakfasts at the hotel were excellent, with a wide range of hot and cold buffet items, all of very high quality.
We also had lunch several times at the hotel, which is served by the pool in the attractively landscaped gardens. We were very pleased by the service and quality of food, and it was a tranquil spot to eat away from the bustle of town when the cruise ships hit town!
The quality of an organization's management is sometimes defined by how it responds to problems, and we did have a minor issue when we returned to the apartment on our second day to find work being undertaken on the bathroom that we hadn't been forewarned about. ( It happened to be my wife's 60th. birthday).
When we took the matter up with the Hotel Manager, he could not have been more apologetic, offering us a complimentary lunch with wine to make up for our inconvenience.
The matter was handled professionally and sympathetically, and we would like to offer our special thanks to Antonella on Reception for going out of her way to turning a potentially awkward situation into one where we were made to feel special.

Room Tip: Our top-floor apartment located separately from the hotel was extremely spacious and well-furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RochdaleJohnandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Arrived at Villa Belvedere following an excellent week in Cefalu.Hotel exceeded our expectations on many counts.Staff were all very friendly from reception to our lovely cleaner.Our room was very clean and more modern that expected with a great balcony overlooking the gardens and pool.Location was just right -quiet enough to get a good sleep but close enough to the town for all the shops and restaurants.Enjoyed a hearty breakfast buffet each morning and it was no problem for the staff when we needed a breakfast at an earlier time.Thoroughly enjoyed the sights and general happy buzz of Taormina.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool on lower floor-perhaps higher floors would give better views of Etna?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have spent one night here following the fantastic reviews we read on TripAdvisor.

We called the hotel on the day of arrival to make a booking (King bed, non smoking) and were promised a lovely room with a one big bed and town view at a rate of Euro133 for the night, including breakfast and all taxes. Additional 15 euros per dat are charged for parking.

Upon arrival, we discovered our room was on the ground level with a view of a patio wall. Our one big bed was comprised of two single mattresses attached. The hotel staff could not assist as it was the last room available. As for an inclusive rate, we learned that an additional city tax of 3 euros (1.5 per person) was, apparently, not included in the rate quoted.

As a matter of a fact, although we stayed here only for one night (arrived late and left rather early), we felt the hotel did not provide us with all the relevant details when we made the booking. We did not appreciate that.

On a more positive note, for a three stars hotel this property does provide good value:
While our room was not big - it was simple and clean with working air-condition;
Breakfast was fantastic;
Location is great - only few minutes walk from Corso Umberto;
and the staff at the front desk were always pleasant and attentive. Antonella deserves a special thank you for her kindness and patience.

The hotel clearly has a variety of rooms so choose your room carefully at the time of booking (availability allowing).

Room Tip: When having breakfast, we noticed that some rooms facing the sea have long wide windows and even sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNBCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with character, beautifully maintained and well managed. Great views if you have a room overlooking the sea, decent balcony (room 8) very quiet and meticulously clean everywhere.
Staff charming and helpful on reception, room staff very efficient, room always cleaned whilst I was at breakfast. Very pleasant breakfast room, again overlooking the sea with good quality breakfast.
Very pleased indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

found this last minute when booking on internet, came for short break and to attend meeting, easily reachable from bus terminal by short walk, surrounded by lovely restaurants away from main street so really hidden gems, easy walk to park, great location, lovely hotel, great and helpful staff

Room Tip: can ask with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Can only assume they lose rating stars because they don't have lots of lifts and don't serve dinner. Charming hotel. Excellent location, lovely room, nice gardens and pool. Staff are absolutely first class. Could not fault it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Property: Hotel Villa Belvedere
Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing