We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It's all in the views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Belvedere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's all in the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from spending 5 days at this hotel. The service offered by the hotel was faultless: the staff were really friendly, the room was spotlessly maintained, the breakfast area was bright and airy and you could sit by the open windows and bring the outdoors in. The pool area, although fairly small, was clean with a fabulous view over the bay. We ate by the pool on a couple of occasions and the service and food were very good. My own personal complaint was that we were put in a brand new annex about 100 metres from the main hotel and, although it was a fabulous room with a large seating area and a balcony we could sit out on and from where there were amazing views over the bay and Mount Etna, I felt we could have been in any hotel room anywhere in the world. There was none of the Italian style which I imagine defined the rooms in the main part of the hotel. When I commented on this when we were leaving, the receptionist said they would have moved us if we'd asked. My husband, however, hadn't wanted to move as the view from our balcony more than compensated. All in all though I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Decide on whether you want traditional and the convenience of being in the main hotel or modern with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaB288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    290
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
286
893
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've recently returned from Sicily, having spent eight nights at the Villa Belvedere that easily met our expectations. Last year we enjoyed our main holiday break in Malta in a five star hotel that was always going to be tough to beat, but even at three stars, the Belvedere does itself immense justice.

We booked a sea view room for a family of four; not only was it a great choice for the fabulous views of the sea and boats / cruisers / yachts / etc, but it also directly overlooked the pool and provided much needed aircon during the hottest times of the days and nights. It wasn’t the largest of rooms for a family of four, but I’m sure the hotel has larger if you request one or two adjoining rooms.

We were half board and breakfast was a vast lovely array of highly enjoyable choices. Anyone hoping for a ‘full cooked’ will be disappointed, but actually we never tired of what was on offer and there were always daily surprises to be had.

Lunch was served next to the pool and there was a choice of standard from the fixed menu and specials. If you're able to eat three meals a day, then it's great, but munching a hearty breakfast, then lunch (gratefully served up to 4.30pm), THEN dinner in the lovely town of Taormina may stretch your waistline further than you'd like.

The only unfortunate thing about the lunch – during our visit - was the sheer number of wasps hoping for their nibble of your Parma ham or pasta, or possibly your arm or leg. Imagine umpteen tennis players without their racquets swishing madly for an hour or so and you'll get the picture. So although the food was nice and service friendly and enjoyable, the wasp swatting made lunch all a bit tiresome and too energetic. From what I can tell, this was an unusual occurrence, so please don’t be put off if this is an extraordinary situation.

The hotel is very tasteful and staff were excellent, particularly Joshua and our room maid. The pool and indeed the entire hotel were immaculately clean – to the thankful point of obsession - and our room was serviced meticulously and efficiently every day. There was a small fridge in our room, although no coffee / tea-making facilities, which I've now noted in the reviews that another guest had - we should have asked! We also forgot to ask for our complimentary bottle of Sicilian wine - maybe next time!?

Trying to avoid exorbitant wine prices, we managed to find a great small supermarket ten minutes from the hotel, that sold agreeable red for just under four Euros (bargain!) and rose at seven Euros. They also sold other provisions – water, fruit juice, fruit, etc – at very good prices – but I can’t recall the street name – I will look it up and re-post.

Depending how fast you walk and dodge the mopeds, the hotel is less than ten minutes walk from the town which itself has a vast number of shops, restaurants, ice cream parlors - in fact everything you would expect from a large town in an Italian resort. Souvenirs are aplenty and there are also some shops that could easily empty your bank balance if you're not careful. I personally managed to part with 30 Euros for a magnifying glass that now perches proudly on our fire mantlepiece.

Our package included a trip to the amphitheatre as well as a four-person trip to one of the beaches (which we didn't take advantage of, partly because we enjoyed the pool facilities and partly because the beaches are extremely busy in August).

We ventured out to several restaurants – mostly great – with the exception, on our last night, of the Grotta Azzura, which we have now nicknamed the Grotty Azzura. See separate review to follow about that rip-off night, which is not representative of our experience in Taormina.

Overall, Taormina is a great place to visit and I’m sure we will visit again one day. The hotel Villa Belvedere is an excellent choice (wasps the exception, get a Waspinator) and I congratulate the staff on making our stay a very welcome and enjoyable one.

Thank you, Grazia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would strongly recommend Villa Belvedere as a "must visit" hotel in Taormina, Sicily. Over the last 10 years we have visited 3 times and been very impressed with the consistent quality of service, we see the same staff year on year; and the facilities in the hotel continue to improve. Don't be fooled by the three star rating, the views from the rooms are glorious, the pool area is family friendly and the pool bar produces lunchtime meals to rival any of the local restaurants - delicious. The selection of wines is not bad either. Taormina is a lovely pedestrianised "alta citta", with many restaurants, bars and fantastic views across the bay. An opportunity not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I am not sure that I want to tell you about this hotel!!!! We have just returned from 9 days bliss staying in this hotel - AGAIN!!!! We have lost track of the number of times we have visited Taormina. If you are looking for a small family run hotel offering excellent breakfasts in a light and airy breakfast room and really tasty cooked lunches under the shade of the olive trees by the swimming pool (which is always spotless) in a town that is stuffed with a huge variety of restaurants and pizzerias then this is the hotel for you. There are lots of flowers and trees all around this hotel and the chef just needs to come out of the kitchen to pick any herbs or citrus fruits that she needs. From the private balcony on our top floor room there was a view of Etna to die for and the bay below with cruise ships, small private yatchs, cruisers and schooners provides an ever changing scene. The staff have always been really helpful and they speak English perfectly.

As with many Italian towns Taormina is built on the side of a hill so the walk up to town has lots of steps and is quite steep. (We have come home fitter and slimmer). However the town centre is a pedestrian zone so it is a fantastic place to enjoy 'people watching', enjoy an aperitif in the main Piazza, listen to the musicians or watch the artists as they work into the evenings.

Any downsides? Yes, you might get bitten by an insect that you never see or hear and this year there were many wasps which was unusual. But that's all! I hope you enjoy it as much as we have done.

Room Tip: Top floor every time! It is pricey but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskyneighbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 days in mid August, and I must say we were just blown away. The staff was extremely friendly and they did everything they could if we needed help with recommendations or to plan excursions. We stayed in a beautiful newly renovated room with the most amazing view over the sea and mount Etna. The hotel is surrounded by gorgeous gardens with flowers in the most beautiful colors. They also have a pool bar where you can have something to eat and drink. You can choose between a buffet with amazing home-made Sicilian food or you can order from the menu. It's some of the best food I ever had. To get to the center of Taormina it's just a 10 minutes walk from the hotel and you can walk through the beautiful public garden. I would recommend this hotel and I defiantly want to go back.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is our second stay at the Villa Belvedere and we hope to be coming back again and again. The hotel is classy but not overdone. The location is spectacular with wonderful views and lovely gardens and fantastic pool with a palm tree on an island in the middle. Lunch served at the pool is a treat - great home-made food, a good wine and the wonderful view.
Normally we're a very active family but in the Villa Belvedere we are just happy to while away our days by the pool.
The rooms are just wonderful, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the whole ambience just great.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verowas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 10 nights and would recommend it.It has simply stunning views, a sea view room is a must. We had a lovely room with our own private balcony area complete with sunbeds and table and chairs, also coffee and tea making facilities and a small fridge. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. the reception staff were particularly helpful, especially Joshua who pointed us in the right direction for somewhere to eat. The restaurant he recommended was top class and he was also very helpful as regards sightseeing. Thank you Joshua! The pool area was very clean and the poolside bar nice for a spot of lunch or just a cold drink, the hotel supply towels, and although the pool was fairly busy we still found it very relaxing and of course we could enjoy the lovely views! Breakfast was adequate there was enough to choose from and sitting in one of the smaller rooms next to the main dining area was best as there were less wasps! I guess as there are so many trees surrounding the hotel and the windows are open to appreciate the lovely views from the breakfast room there were a few wasps in August, did not spoil anything though. We had a great time and loved Sicily, and ,Hotel Villa Belvedere.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
San Domenico Palace Hotel
#11 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belvedere

Property: Hotel Villa Belvedere
Address: Via Bagnoli Croci, 79, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Belvedere is a delightful and romantic boutique hotel situated at 5 minutes walking from the center of Taormina. It is an ideal hotel for couples who are looking for a charm and relaxing oasis surrounded by a lovely garden always in bloom. With an amazing view of "Baia di Naxos" and the mount Etna Villa Belvedere its a perfect location for your Sicilian holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere Hotel Taormina
Hotel Belvedere Taormina
Hotel Villa Belvedere Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing