We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our holiday. We chose a room with a huge balcony and two sunbeds in order to relax and enjoy the sun and the stunning view on the sea and the Etna. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Upon arrival, we were offered a much appreciated glass of fresh orange juice while they checked us in. The breakfast is delicious and the view from the terrace is unique. The servers at breakfast were especially friendly. The location is excellent : your just have to walk through the garden and then you're right on the main street. The private parking was also very convenient. The only negative comment I have to make is about the reception staff wich were a bit cold and condescending at times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a holiday touring Sicily. Absolutely lovely views. Beautiful room, very clean, well decorated with good facilities. Excellent location, very near main street but set apart in lovely grounds. But Reception staff very efficient in a brusque, going through the motions way. We had enjoyed the Italian relaxed, slightly dotty approach to hotel management and weren't comfortable to find ourselves in Germany! Breakfast was awful. Menu, waitress served. Very slow indeed. Nothing at all special about the food. Allegedly made to order but the scrambled eggs certainly weren't. Rubbish hotel wifi, constantly requiring fresh log in and without the capacity to download The Guardian, our daily wifi test which this hotel failed.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Mrs. T,

We appreciated your positive comments about the position of our hotel, about it’s panoramic grounds, about the style and cleanliness of your room. We always try to learn from constructive criticism and legitimate complaints based on facts, ready to improve our services. One of your comment was indeed useful to make an improvement, but some statements really need to be revised.

BREAKFAST:
Our breakfast à la carte, included in the room rate, offers a big choice ofproducts, most of the items are from Sicily, some are organic, everything is made to order. Our hotel is not a fast food place. We have chosen not to offer a buffet, but a service à la carte. Every single egg, scrambled egg, pancake, crêpe is made to order. That means, that you will have to calculate the time for preparation. Stating that service was “slow” is subjective.

We firmly reject your statement that the scrambled eggs you were served were “certainly” not made to order.
Our scambled eggs are NEVER EVER prepared in advance, this is our answer.
Other clients are invited to add comments.

Trying to identify the criteria you used to state the opposite, we came up with the explanation that it might have been the temperature of the dish. So we decided to add a dish warmer to our breakfast kitchen. Your statement helped us to improve. Thank you.

WI-FI:
our hotel has FREE WI-FI with high-speed wireless connection available in all client’s rooms and all common areas including the terraces, the gardens and the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace.
We have the qickest connection available in the city of Taormina : 7MB in download and 640KB in upload.
This speed is certainly „rubbish“ compared to more advanced fiber networks and at the moment the whole town of Taormina is waiting to switch to a fiber optic cable network forcasted to start working end of the year. We can just provide what our providers deliver.

The critisized problem of requiring fresh log in had nothing to do with our hotel’s WI-FI but with the setting of your own personal device. Some divices and some brands relog automatically, some do not, unless you enter the auto-setting modus configuring your device to automatically join a wireless network.
If you would have contacted our reception for that problem, our inhouse maintenance and IT technitian would have helped you to configure your device to automatically join our wireless network with a profile, an operation that would have required 2-3 minutes.

Informing your hotel reception on the spot about any problems is always more useful than waisting time and getting nervous. Each client‘s personal login at the Villa Schuler, incidentally, is anyway not a complicated alphanumeric one: just one simple word plus one number, so two seconds to retype 13 digits. Your critic was quite exaggerated.
After reading your comments we made a personal test, went into your ex-room, logged in and your favourite newspaper opened in two seconds.


RECEPTION STAFF:

„brusque, going through the motions way” might be your very personal opinion and if you felt unconfortable because everything was “too german”, this is something we prefer not to get into.
Our reception staff of 5 consists of three italians, one austrian and one belgian. They are all very experienced, reliable and dedicated to their job and we think that the quality of services is more important then a “dotty approach”.

We wish you all the best and in future a hopefully more relaxing holiday.

Christine and Gerardo Schuler & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have been to the Hotel Schuler 3 different times and it always exceeds our expectations. We have loved it from the first trip. The hotel is lovely, the setting lovely and the views of the bay and Mt. Etna perfect. Breakfast on the terrace is yummy and relaxed. The staff is cordial and helpful. They could not do enough for us. The town of Taormina is right up the hill from the hotel, a quick and easy walk. Lots of good restaurants and great shops. There are beautiful churches and the Roman Theater is with in walking distance..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Anne B,

thank you on behalf of all the Villa Schuler Team for the great feedback and appreciation for all you have experienced in your 3rd stay here Taormina.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back again here for the 4th and the 5th times and ... for many more relaxing holidays in the future.

Gerhard Schuler
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Villa Schuler for three nights whilst on a visit to the gardens of eastern Sicily. The garden of the hotel itself was well worth a visit and the location with views across the sea and towards Mount Etna are stunning. The room was nicely appointed and the terraces were very nice too. Breakfast was often rather slow - alla carte service not a buffet - because we were a Group who tended to arrive all at once. There is no restaurant at this hotel but there are several only a short distance away in Taormina.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRose1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel was perfect: friendly, helpful, smiling staff, breathtaking location and views, delightful roof garden...in fact I can't praise it enough. Impossible not to be thrilled by the views of Etna and the bay. I'll be back!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view and balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouidaweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were astonished from the quality of the hotel. The romantic building , the good sized homey rooms with far reaching views over the bay of Naxos. The bathrooms are tastily decorated and work perfectly, the staff is friendly and welcoming, the breakfast is generous and the fresh 'sanguini" orange juice not to be forgotten. The garden has many interesting plants all labeled and has interest all year out.
The satellite TV works and the Wifi is free. The hotel is minutes away from the shops and restaurants and there is hardly any noise - we went in April, no much tourism-
We are so much looking forward to our next visit to Taormina and the Schuler!

Room Tip: corner rooms facing the sea and Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katerina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the ideal hotel for long or short stays. Fantastic position - one side has rooms looking at the Mediterranean, Etna and the bay of Naxos, whereas the other side overlooks the wonderful Schuler botanical garden (all the plants are clearly labelled) - a difficult choice! The hotel is just a little away from the main pedestrian street but the short walk (up- or downhill) is a delight.
The rooms are very spacious: I had booked a single occupancy room but found to my surprise that it contained one huge double bed and even a spare. The bathrooms are totally modern and extremely functional - unusual in a beautiful old palazzo. No wobbly taps, chipped tiles or dripping showers. Very good quality linen and great water pressure.
The hotel staff could not be more helpful or friendly - nothing is too much trouble. There is no restaurant, but there are plenty in Taormina. No breakfast buffet during our stay (a shame and my only criticism) but anything can be ordered and is produced with a smile.
Satellite TV works perfectly and is properly tuned; Wifi is free and available throughout the building. It is good to remember however that the internet connection is extremely slow. No problem with the air-conditioning for once. The radiators, when required, are piping hot.
I believe there is a wonderful roof terrace with stunning views and a solarium, but I was too busy enjoying everything else to get up there. I hope to see it next time: I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: My experience is that all rooms are marvellous: just pick which view you prefer: palms and village o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gladfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $151 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing