We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have been to the Hotel Schuler 3 different times and it always exceeds our expectations. We have loved it from the first trip. The hotel is lovely, the setting lovely and the views of the bay and Mt. Etna perfect. Breakfast on the terrace is yummy and relaxed. The staff is cordial and helpful. They could not do enough for us. The town of Taormina is right up the hill from the hotel, a quick and easy walk. Lots of good restaurants and great shops. There are beautiful churches and the Roman Theater is with in walking distance..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Anne B,

thank you on behalf of all the Villa Schuler Team for the great feedback and appreciation for all you have experienced in your 3rd stay here Taormina.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back again here for the 4th and the 5th times and ... for many more relaxing holidays in the future.

Gerhard Schuler
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    233
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
175
752
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Villa Schuler for three nights whilst on a visit to the gardens of eastern Sicily. The garden of the hotel itself was well worth a visit and the location with views across the sea and towards Mount Etna are stunning. The room was nicely appointed and the terraces were very nice too. Breakfast was often rather slow - alla carte service not a buffet - because we were a Group who tended to arrive all at once. There is no restaurant at this hotel but there are several only a short distance away in Taormina.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRose1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel was perfect: friendly, helpful, smiling staff, breathtaking location and views, delightful roof garden...in fact I can't praise it enough. Impossible not to be thrilled by the views of Etna and the bay. I'll be back!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view and balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ouidaweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were astonished from the quality of the hotel. The romantic building , the good sized homey rooms with far reaching views over the bay of Naxos. The bathrooms are tastily decorated and work perfectly, the staff is friendly and welcoming, the breakfast is generous and the fresh 'sanguini" orange juice not to be forgotten. The garden has many interesting plants all labeled and has interest all year out.
The satellite TV works and the Wifi is free. The hotel is minutes away from the shops and restaurants and there is hardly any noise - we went in April, no much tourism-
We are so much looking forward to our next visit to Taormina and the Schuler!

Room Tip: corner rooms facing the sea and Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the ideal hotel for long or short stays. Fantastic position - one side has rooms looking at the Mediterranean, Etna and the bay of Naxos, whereas the other side overlooks the wonderful Schuler botanical garden (all the plants are clearly labelled) - a difficult choice! The hotel is just a little away from the main pedestrian street but the short walk (up- or downhill) is a delight.
The rooms are very spacious: I had booked a single occupancy room but found to my surprise that it contained one huge double bed and even a spare. The bathrooms are totally modern and extremely functional - unusual in a beautiful old palazzo. No wobbly taps, chipped tiles or dripping showers. Very good quality linen and great water pressure.
The hotel staff could not be more helpful or friendly - nothing is too much trouble. There is no restaurant, but there are plenty in Taormina. No breakfast buffet during our stay (a shame and my only criticism) but anything can be ordered and is produced with a smile.
Satellite TV works perfectly and is properly tuned; Wifi is free and available throughout the building. It is good to remember however that the internet connection is extremely slow. No problem with the air-conditioning for once. The radiators, when required, are piping hot.
I believe there is a wonderful roof terrace with stunning views and a solarium, but I was too busy enjoying everything else to get up there. I hope to see it next time: I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: My experience is that all rooms are marvellous: just pick which view you prefer: palms and village o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gladfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The only thing we disliked about Villa Schuler was that we couldn't stay there longer. The location is terrific, with easy access through their lovely garden to the center of Taormina. It was easy to walk from there to things we wanted to see. Our room was clean, comfortable, quiet, and beautiful. It had lots of power outlets for our electronics and good WiFi. I loved the shower with lots of shower heads, including ones for guests who needed to sit on the built-in bench. Breakfast was excellent, with lots of good choices and quick service. We especially enjoyed the roof top terrace, where we watched lava flowing down Mt. Etna after sunset. Parking isn't free, but being able to leave the car at the front of the hotel when we arrived and not think about it until we left was worth the cost.

Room Tip: Junior suites are worth the extra money for the space, the terrace, and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Top quality rooms, very nice service, all in top quality, the nicest thing is the terrace and the great view from there, and when you are lucky you can even see an owl in the evening. The breakfast is very good, you can anything and plenty, and if you have a question you will always get an answer and help, the staff and the owners are really looking after you, you can't wish for more. I Can only recommend it and give best marks and I ceratinly will come back

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Taormina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere. Superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing