We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect base for exploring Taormina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel Schuler is a perfect base for exploring Taormina town and the region. The hotel has a wonderful personality, with friendly informative staff and is very efficiently operated - every need seems to have been considered,

We'd certainly love to visit again.

The hotel does seem to be largely used by German speaking guests, but all the staff speak excellent English.

Notes:

- Look out for the "Garden Villa" - ideal for a family with 1-2 children. Includes a small kitchen and a small private patio with two sunloungers and an outdoor shower, with the villa being located in the hotel's garden.

- The garden is wonderful, and well maintained with many tropical plants and features - and you can walk through it when going to/from town.

- Breakfast's were wonderful, with the opportunity to sit in the sun overlooking the Med, or pick a shadier spot. The only slight change would be to serve coffee or tea on seating !

- The hotel doesn't provide other meals - but does provide excellent recommendations and will arrange bookings.

- The location is perfect for Taorimina town - located just off the main high street. However. with the buffer provided by the garden its also quiet too (although there was a party at the hotel on the Saturday night that was a little loud)

- Don't be deterred by the lack of a hotel pool. There are a number of areas to enjoy the sun (including a small roof top terrace with sun loungers). Its worth taking the opportunity of a day trip to one of the local beach clubs (arranged at reception) which will have a pool and beach access and are a short minibus ride away. The hotel will even loan towels. (Tip: try and book the timing for the return trip when making arrangements at the hotel reception.

- On the last day, we liked that although checkout was 11am, the hotel provides a shower room for guests to use. We were able to have a full day in the town, before showering and changing at the hotel and having a cold drink on the terrace before our driver arrived to take us to the airport.

- Free wifi (for as many devices as you like) is provided - pick up the access codes at reception. (Its not good enough to Skype, but certainly fine for web browsing and e-mail)

We were lucky to arrive on the last night of the annual Film Festival (in June). Amazing experience to walk through the balmy streets of Taormina back to the hotel at midnight after watching an awards ceremony at a Roman Theatre followed by a showing of the Lone Ranger (all for €5).

Room Tip: As a family, look at the Garden Villa option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyemailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    217
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
165
711
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
185 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

So many pluses!

Our rooms had stunning views of the coast and sea

Just walk through their garden and you are minutes away the hub of Taormina, but when you’re in your room or hotel grounds it’s quiet and secluded

Breakfast on their outdoor terrace was the stuff of picture postcards. They served by far the best breakfast we had in Sicily, with granitas, fruit, breads and choices of hot cooked dishes. Not a buffet – but actually prepared to order and served.

Rooftop terrace was fantastic at night to sit with a drink, talk and take in the views

Parking is a breeze – simply reserve a parking space in their garage

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

During our honeymoon in Sicily, we have decided to visit Taormina for 2days. Aswe found some nice reviews on TA, we have chosen to stay in Hotel Villa Schuler. It was a perfect place- all that old-style beautiful details and decorations made this hotel really unique, with top location, friendly staff and the terrace with unbelivable view. Very tasty breakfasts served a la carte were also a nice surprise. We recommend this place as the best to stay in Taormina:)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Three friends and I stayed at Hotel Villa Schuler for two nights after being let down by another hotel in Taormina. The staff were very accommodating and found us a couple of excellent rooms after we turned up hot and bothered off the street. The breakfast was excellent, with fresh and local produce. The roof area is a must and provides a wonderful vista of Taormina and the coast; an excellent spot for an evening G&T. Staff were always friendly and helpful, especially when one of our party suffered a serious asthma attack in the early hours and required a doctor. Great place for a relaxing stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ste_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Villa Schuler after stumbling across it while looking for somewhere to stay in Taormina. The location is fantastic, the staff incredibly helpful with various questions and restaurant recommendations and it was excellent value for money given the location and views (the roof terrace is beautiful). I will be coming back here in the future for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Villa Schuler to start our trip in Sicily. It is quite expensive but I guess this is the standard in Taormina. The room was beautiful with 2 small balconies with sea view. The breakfast, served on the seafront terrasse, is "à la carte" and was very good. The location is convenient as it is walking distance to the center and cable car to go to the beach. Last but not least, there is a parking, which is an incontestable advantage in Taormina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurita1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights in beautiful Taormina at the outstanding Villa Schuler. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. This gem is perfectly situated on the hill overlooking the bay and a short walk to the major attractions. The staff is friendly, attentive and extremely helpful. We stayed in a beautiful Junior Suite overlooking the gardens and even had a private balcony where we enjoyed a nightly glass of wine. There is a terrace where breakfast is served each morning. That's right......served. No lining up at the buffet like you find in most European hotels. My wife and I would certainly love to return to Taormina some day. If we do, we are definitely staying at this hotel once again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkmpizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Property: Hotel Villa Schuler
Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Taormina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere. Superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing