We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We loved this beautiful well run hotel. The staff, our room, the breakfast and the position of the hotel in Taormina were perfect. We stayed on the top floor in a suite with a terrace that overlooked the Mediterranean. We were blown away by how quiet it was and yet so close to all the restaurants and shops of Taormina. Breakfast was served to you from an a la carte menue on the terrace looking out to the sea with views to a smoldering Mt Etna. Absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 30 was great
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Schuler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent!!

So far the best! I mean in Italy.
Brekki is excellent! They bring u to where u sit down enjoy ur sunshine n the view! Tasty!
Fresh fruit n fresh juice n all.

Room is good size with sea view.
I am very much satisfied.

Beautiful garden with beautiful view.

Staff is helpful. Nth to complain.

Finding a hotel wasn't that easy without navi. We ordered one with a rental car but they weren't prepared so we basically used our tiny guide book map which isn't detailed.. Anyhow wasn't easy but managed it.

Location of the hotel is good as well. Up the steps u get to the busy buzzling street with lots of shop down the via roma there are plenty of restaurants.

Overall it was beyond our expectation. We are very pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monalisayoyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

An excellent hotel in all respects. Room was bright, roomy and clean with a small terrace overlooking town and ocean - lovely. Great included made to order breakfast on outdoor terrace with ocean views. Very friendly, helpful and efficient service, and glad to provide coffee prior to official breakfast hours. Excellent value in my opinion, especially with early season discount available.

Room Tip: Great views of bay with small terraces on ocean side.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wood K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Simple. Comfortable. Perfect. Our room was on the smaller side, but just what we needed. The staff was wonderful, knowledgeable, and incredibly helpful. The gardens were beautiful. The overall layout of the hotel was a perfect fit for the region. The included breakfast was absolutely delicious--made to order and served on the veranda overlooking the ocean. This hotel is located a short walk from the main street. Would LOVE to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Charming hotel with a great location, great service, excellent breakfast with a view. Our room was quaint and clean, just what we were looking for. Very well managed property. The best location possible. I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view, it's work it!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhifferVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The welcome we received was the friendliest we have ever had. Since we were travelling as a family, we were given The Garden Villa which is very spacious and has direct access to the beautiful hotel gardens where our children adored playing hide and seek. The staff were incredibly helpful and were able to arrange trips for us to visit Savoca, Noto and Siracusa. Delicious breakfasts were served on the terrace with stunning views of snow capped Mount Etna. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel incredibly welcome. We would love to return to this beautiful island and would definitely stay in Hotel Villa Schuler.

Room Tip: The Garden Villa is great for families.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear friends from Edimburgh,
we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your family stay at our “Garden Villa Suite”.

This is our largest Suite and therefore “great for families”. It has no seaview but is cosy and private: 518 sq ft In a secluded corner of our own garden area with private access, one bedroom (130 sq ft), one living room with kitchenette, refrigerator and dish-washer (tot.238 sq ft), 2 bathrooms (one with Jacuzzi whirlpool bath-tub and one with Jacuzzi shower), hair dryer, individually controlled air-conditioning, telephone, free Wi-Fi, 2 satellite TVs with radio, safe.

It has an outdoor patio-solarium (345 sq ft) with sitting area and sun beds. Total area 862 sq ft. Breakfast can be served also directly in the courtyard or in the living room. Kids can play safely in the private courtyard. And they love that outdoor hot shower!

Gerhard Schuler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

excellent location, very clean , one of the best during our two week trip to sicily . staff was great !!! hotel has on site indoor parking available at extra cost .breakfast is cooked to order and very good. a really nice hotel . .

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above for better views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siracu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#25 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $146 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing