We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Schuler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Schuler to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Schuler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

excellent location, very clean , one of the best during our two week trip to sicily . staff was great !!! hotel has on site indoor parking available at extra cost .breakfast is cooked to order and very good. a really nice hotel . .

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siracu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great room, great breakfast and stunning views. Staff were fabulous, when they heard it was my birthday they made us complimentary Cocktails on the terrace. Location is fantasic, just down some steps from the main street

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenadelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed in august 2012 for 2 nights . beautiful hotel with marvellous views form the veranda overlooking the bay. breakfast served outdoors each morning with an incredible choice of foods including fresh breads frsh fruit , eggs pancakes etc. Very courteous staff. We stayed in a graden level room with access to a courtyard. Hotel has a choice of shuttle services to the beach at very good prices , far cheaper than buying a cable car ticket and paying at th e beach. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
392 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location, and amazing breakfast. We had to leave verY early in the morning and they got our order for breakfast and served us an amazing food before the usual hour, was very nice. The rooms are spacious , clean and beautiful. But don't tAke the junior suit it is not good at all. The double deluxe are big, great sea view and very charming

Room Tip: The deluxe room , see view are great , don't take the junior suit , very disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Direttore at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest,
we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Organizing our traditional full breakfast even before the usual hour is part of our services. It is difficult instead to reply to your suggestion not to book a Junior Suite because you did not add any further expalanations to this statement.

Accurately detailled descriptions and photos of all our room types are on our website, so no surprises.

Gerhard Schuler, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Three nights in Taormina at the Hotel Villa Schuler will not be easily forgotten. The site is located just below the main street, overlooks the sea. Our room was not spacious but had nice open views to the sea and was well appointed. Breakfast was served with a full menu, included, in the room. The weather being perfect, it was served outside on a delightful patio overlooking the sea and with vistas of Mt. Etna.

To walk up to town you pass thru the hotel garden on the back of the property, thru a gate and then up the center of activity. I fould myself relaxing in the garden waiting for travel companions to join me and begin our day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at every turn.

I cannot recommend the Hotel Villa Schuler more strongly.

Room Tip: Facing the sea, above ground level. South corner room has a nice little outside patio with view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I just completed a three night stay at Villa Schuler, 16-19 March. The rental car drive from Catania to Taormina, in the dark, was a bit of a challenge so we felt good about a professional and at the same time warm, professional reception at 21:30, and the eye for detail ("no worries about your car, we'll park it in the garage you booked"). The junior suite on the top floor with its magnificent view is well worth the minimal extra cost. Breakfast at Villa Schuler is delightful, staff purposely renders old-fashioned service rather than having you queue for a messy buffet - and there is an extensive choice (the mozzarella is not to be missed!). The best part is the location: a walkup through the hotel's botanical garden and you are in the middle of Taormina's main street. While Sicily is suffering the same unseasonal cold this March 2013 as the rest of Europe (relatively speaking) it didnotaffect our stay: Villa Schuler has central heating and the view of the snowcapped Etna from the hotel's rooftop terrace was a great compensation. Thanks to the invariably friendlly and service oriented staff.

Room Tip: Front-side, topfloor Junior suites are worth the extra money. When travelling by car renting a garag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have visited this hotel 3 times and would go back again and again! It is lovely with lovely gardens, beautiful view, wonderful staff and great accessibility to the town of Taormina. The breakfast are delicious and offer a great variety of food. Eating on the terrace is truly a treat and we have been able to eat out there every day for all 3 visits. Just can't say enough about this hotel! Heaven!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Anne B,
your positive feedback proves that personalized services make the difference. The constantly growing number of our regular guests motivates our entire team. Looking forward to your fourth visit
Christine and Gerhard Schuler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#6 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#5 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, I-98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Taormina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere. Superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing