We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sicilian Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Schuler
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A group of twenty stayed at the hotel this November,and were enamored with the service,beautiful gardens,and views from the terrace. All our rooms had a small balcony with table and chairs to relax and enjoy the views.
The staff were very pleaser,efficient,and willing to assist us with recommendations for restaurants for dinner.Staff members are available 24 hours a day.
Free wi-fi in every room for I Pad users.
There is a glass enclosed sunroof on the fourth floor which allows guests to get breathtaking views of Mt.Etna and surrounding area.
Villa has wonderful history of endurance after being confiscated by the German government twice
since it's inception. I highly recommend staying here due to it's location,convenience,and outstanding service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PLW1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Hosting small groups as your one is always a pleasure and March and November are the best months to host small groups in our hotel both as far as availability and rates is concerned.

Personalized services and tailor made programs as transfers, excursions with English speaking local drivers, organizing delicious dinners in our partner restaurants, all in order to deliver unique genuine Sicilian experiences in a joyful atmosphere : this is our passion.

Christine and Gerhard Schuler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our group of 4 stayed at Villa Schuler in October, 2012, for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts outdoors on the terrace overlooking the sea. Breakfasts, included with your stay, are chosen from the menu (you can get crepes and omelettes) and excellently served at your table. The office staff was very helpful and obviously well trained in assisting with directions, recommendations, and questions and made our stay extremely pleasant. We had a garden view from our rooms but were able to enjoy the sea views and our own wine in the evening on the terrace or from the gazebo. The hotel also has bar service. The location is quiet but is close to the city center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is lovely - just a few steps away from the main street - and the views from the hotel are fabulous. The highlight is having breakfast on the terrace with views of the sea and Mt Etna. There is also a lovely roof terrace - although only four sun-beds - and a small conservatory.
Despite repeated requests we failed to get a room with a sea-view (though this was October and the hotel was by no means full. Instead we were allocated a garden view room. These are quite dark although would be cooler at the height of summer.
The standard rooms are quite basic as well with not even an armchair to sit in. Ours had a single bed as well as a double in it - which I hate given we were on a couples holiday.
And the bed was really uncomfortable - extremely hard and on the first night I got very little sleep.
The service was good - although you have to ask about afternoon tea and cakes on the terrace as it's not something they advertise.
There is no lounge - which on rainy days might be a problem - and no pool again which might be a problem at the height of summer.
But for a short break, especially if you don't have a car, it's location is perfect.
It's not cheap - about 160 euros for a standard garden view room - but I think in future I would plan ahead more - our first choice hotels were booked up - and pay a little extra to stay elsewhere or bag a sea-view room before everyone else.

Room Tip: A sea view or a corner room with views over the sea and etna. The garden rooms are gloomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vikki0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear guest,

what kind of luxury touches might be needed is obviously something absolutely, really very personal.

There are so many fotos and videos about our hotel, it’s rooms and common areas published on TripAdvisor as well as on our Official Website that I think the Villa Schuler ambience is widely and abundantly represented in transparent details.

But we accept that sometimes somebody tells to be somehow surprised about wrong expetations not fulfilled.

Some statements you made are a matter of personal subective opinion, taste and habits but some others were not quite correct.

BEDS: our orthopedic beds and matresses are by the world leader Simmons.

LOUNGE: we do indeed HAVE a lounge on our Top Floor with an addional terrace offering the most panoramic 360 round-view of Taormina.

ALLOCATED ROOM TYPE: we do have 9 room types all transparenty described in words, pictures and vidoes on our Official Website and I confirm that ALL clients always get exactly their reserved room type, always. Also those booking through online travel agencies get the choosen room-type. So I firmly reject your statements trying to suggest something different.

Gerhard Schuler, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

very comfortable rooms, bathrooms: great location. No pool or resto which is why its official rating is ***. Internet almost impossible to join with Apple products, and when you do get on, you are disconnected every five minutes ( or so it seems) a nd you have to struggle to reconnect. Otherwise ideal. Very elegant, very nice people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Manager at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

This is to reassure all Apple users that our hotel‘s wifi network is 100% apple compliant.

It is indeed true that in September/October there WAS a nationwide problem in Italy: the iOS 6 (with new internet connection) was released on September 19 and our IT supplier made an update to the system around October 20. Today our wifi network is 100% apple compliant.

Gerhard Schuler, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had two nights in the Hotel Villa Schuler and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The attention given by the owner, Mr. Schuler (!) is evident everywhere - from the professional staff to the breakfast to the design and upkeep of the rooms. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent, we had a great view of the beach from our room and the room was beautiful. We were great advice on everything we asked about. Great place from which to enjoy Taormina, Etna, etc.

Room Tip: Room 16 has two balconies - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerhardSchuler, Owner at Hotel Villa Schuler, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa Schuler.

Attention to details and personalized services, that’s our approach managing the oldest owner-run hotel in Taormina. Three generations, since 1905.

Thank you and "arrivederci" !

Christine and Gerhard Schuler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Old world charm abounds. Friendly attentive staff always willing to answer questions, provide directions and offer advice. View from our bedroom terrace breath taking. Five minute walk from the main shopping, dining area in town. Don't waste any more time researching, just make and a reservation before they run out of rooms. You will be happy you did.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the sea and or south to Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a bit expensive, but for our last 2 days in Sicily it was worth it. Easy to find -definitely use the garage option. Service is formal but warm and helpful and they do more for you than most places we visited. Nice bar and pretty garden where you can have a drink when you return from all that shopping. As previously stated by others, breakfast is the best we had - you can order any thing. We had an early departure (7am) but they gave us a full breakfast prior to our leaving. Bed was great, spotless, lots of storage room, nice terrace with a clothesline. The hotel is gracious, decorated in an elegant traditional style and the breakfast terrace has such a view! Really professionally run with your comfort in mind. I'd return in a blink. Eat at Naumachie.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Schuler

Address: Piazzetta Bastione / Via Roma, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: $152 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Schuler 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a Sicilian mansion into a hotel in 1905, historic Villa Schuler is most probably the oldest owner run hotel in Sicily. Extensively refurbished in recent years emphasizing its original elegance, charm and atmosphere, the 4 Star Hotel is superbly situated high above the Ionian Sea, its unique position offers stupendous views of Mt. Etna and the Bay of Naxos. Centrally located just 2 minutes walk to traffic free "Corso Umberto" and 10 min. To the Greek-Roman theatre. Surrounded by its own extensive, subtropical, shady terraced botanic gardens. Other amenities include the elegant Orangery, the scenic Palm Terrace, a panoramic lift, the Rooftop Lounge&Terrace, free Wi-Fi, 24h bar and room service, valet parking and garages. Breakfast embracing Slow Food criteria is served "a la carte" in the breakfast room, in the Orangery, on the Palm Terrace overlooking the whole coastline or in your room. Courtesy mountain bikes. Shuttle-service to partner beaches. Tennis courts nearby. Eco-certified ISO 14001. Official cathegory: 4 STAR HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Schuler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuler Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing